Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Problems Cloning SSD's

This is a discussion on Problems Cloning SSD's within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I recently changed out my 256 gb SSD with a 512 gb model. I used a program I saw on


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-09-2018, 05:27 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 28
OS: Windows 10



I recently changed out my 256 gb SSD with a 512 gb model. I used a program I saw on the internet called Macrium Effect to clone the 256 model to the 512 model. The only problem is that my C: drive only has 256 gb available. There is another partition of 237.8 gb that is un-allocated. I am great with building desktop computers, but am not familiar with partitions and things of this type. Can anyone give me some guidance on how to go about fixing this? I have installed EaseUS Partition Master Free Edition on my computer, but I have no idea how to use it. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
jimlabit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-10-2018, 04:32 AM   #2
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,137
OS: Windows 10



All you need to do is expand partition C: so that it occupies the unallocated space as well. To accomplish this, using EASEUS Partition Master, right-click partition C: and select resize. In the dialog or wizard that opens, drag the slider that marks the end of partition C: and the beginning of the unallocated space until ALL of the unallocated space is consumed, or as far as the slider will go. It is not unusual for a few MBs to be left unoccupied even after sliding the marker all the way. It's been a long time since I used EaseUs partition master, so I'm writing this from memory, so there may be changes to the dialog. However, I believe the dialog is self explanatory and simple to use. After expanding partition C, simply apply the changes and reboot if prompted. You can also consult the EaseUs Partition Master tutorials online. Simply do a web search for "resize partition easeus" and you'll find what you need.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 11-10-2018, 04:39 AM   #3
Windows Tech Team
Networking Team |Tech
 
alpenadiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NorthEast, Michigan
Posts: 2,253
OS: Windows 10 Pro, Linux, Windows 7 Pro. Work systems - W2K, XP, Win7, RHEL, Solaris.

My System


You should be able to extend the partition using disk manager in windows.
The free space needs to be adjacent to the C drive.



Press the "Windows Key and the R key, in the run box type diskmgmt.msc, in disk manager, click on your C drive, you should be able to click the Extend Volume, then follow the instructions.
__________________





CompTIA - A+, Security+
"There are two types of hard drives. A drive that has failed, and one that will.
alpenadiver is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-10-2018, 09:30 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 28
OS: Windows 10



Thank you so much for the quick responses. I am having trouble with the solutions you provided. Using EASEUS Partition Master, the program slider will go no further than where it is now at 243144 mb. I wish I knew how to paste the page on here where you could see it. On the SSD, I see seven different things listed.
The first is an * that is unallocated with 0 usewd, and 1 mb unused, status is none, with type of GPT.
The second is calling it an H: drive with FAT 32 file system. consuming 100 mb, with 31,46,used, status is Sysytem, type GPT (EFI System Partition). The third is an * with "Other" file system, consuming 128 mb, using 128 mb , status None type is GPT (Reserved Partition).
The fourth is C: with an NTFS file system with 237.45 gb capacity and 55.08 gb used. Status is "Boot" with a type of GPT (Data Partition)
The fifth is * with file system unallocated,, capacity of 232 kb, none used, status is none, and type is GPT.
The 6th is NTFS file system with capacity of 823 mg, and 382.39 used. with status of none, and type of GPT (Unused Partition)
The 7th is * , file system unallocated, capacity of 238.47 gb, with 0 used, status of None and type of GPT.
I am about ready to just reformat the disk and reload Windows 10 and all of my programs, but that is so time consuming. Do you see a way to clean up this mess? Thanks again for your time, attention, and courteousness.
jimlabit is offline  
Old 11-10-2018, 09:40 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 28
OS: Windows 10



Alpenadiver, Diskmgmt.msc would not let me expand the C: drive partition. Just curious. Are you from Alpena, Michigan? I served 30 years in the Air Force and spent 2 weeks at an Air Guard Base in Alpena during January, for an Operational Readiness Inspection. The Inspector General wanted to test our Florida based unit in sub-zero conditions. Don't know how we did it, but we passed. Thanks for your response.
jimlabit is offline  
Old 11-10-2018, 09:57 AM   #6
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,137
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by jimlabit View Post
Thank you so much for the quick responses. I am having trouble with the solutions you provided. Using EASEUS Partition Master, the program slider will go no further than where it is now at 243144 mb. I wish I knew how to paste the page on here where you could see it. On the SSD, I see seven different things listed.
The first is an * that is unallocated with 0 usewd, and 1 mb unused, status is none, with type of GPT.
The second is calling it an H: drive with FAT 32 file system. consuming 100 mb, with 31,46,used, status is Sysytem, type GPT (EFI System Partition). The third is an * with "Other" file system, consuming 128 mb, using 128 mb , status None type is GPT (Reserved Partition).
The fourth is C: with an NTFS file system with 237.45 gb capacity and 55.08 gb used. Status is "Boot" with a type of GPT (Data Partition)
The fifth is * with file system unallocated,, capacity of 232 kb, none used, status is none, and type is GPT.
The 6th is NTFS file system with capacity of 823 mg, and 382.39 used. with status of none, and type of GPT (Unused Partition)
The 7th is * , file system unallocated, capacity of 238.47 gb, with 0 used, status of None and type of GPT.
I am about ready to just reformat the disk and reload Windows 10 and all of my programs, but that is so time consuming. Do you see a way to clean up this mess? Thanks again for your time, attention, and courteousness.
The sixth one is sitting between C:and the larger unallocated space, hence the reason why you cannot expand C:. The larger unallocated space needs to be immediately adjacent to C:, so you're gonna have to move the sixth one to the farthest end of the drive so that the fifth (unallocated space) is joined to the larger one, with NO other partition sitting between C: and the unallocated space. To move the sixth one, select and right-click it then select the move option. I believe the resize/move options are one menu option. In the dialog that opens, you drag the whole partition to move it to the desired position, as opposed to dragging the boundary markers. Again, you can search "move partition easeus" for the online tutorials.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 11-10-2018, 12:31 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,548
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


This could have happened because the original Source SSD was Initialized as MBR, and the new Destination/Target SSD is Initialized GPT, for UEFI Bios. When you clone an MBR drive that is smaller to GPT Initialized drive that is larger, it will limit the Partition size.
You can start over and Initialize the new SSD GPT or you can follow Stancestans suggestions. In Easeus Partition Master, go to the Toolbar to Resize/Move and Highlight the partition directly to the right of the C: drive, and Move it to the end of the drive. Click Apply. Once you have Unallocated Space directly to the right of the C: drive, go back to the toolbar to Resize/Move, grab the slider and move it to the right taking up all of the Unallocated Space. Be sure to Click Apply after each action.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 11-10-2018, 01:49 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 28
OS: Windows 10



Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! Problem fixed. I cannot thank you enough. Everything working great now. It's nice to know where the pros are.
jimlabit is offline  
Old 11-10-2018, 03:09 PM   #9
Windows Tech Team
Networking Team |Tech
 
alpenadiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NorthEast, Michigan
Posts: 2,253
OS: Windows 10 Pro, Linux, Windows 7 Pro. Work systems - W2K, XP, Win7, RHEL, Solaris.

My System

Yes I’m from Alpena Michigan, and work at the airbase, as a contractor, with ACMI, Surface to Air Threats, and Data Link. Happy to hear you have this sorted out.
__________________





CompTIA - A+, Security+
"There are two types of hard drives. A drive that has failed, and one that will.
alpenadiver is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware Problems on Asus z87I-Pro motherboard
Hi guys:smile: I have a young customer that built his own computer about 6 months ago... When he came to me the computer wouldn't start. I removed the Graphics card and connected the internal one and it worked straight away I ran the standard tests (all about trying to keep down costs for...
bookie56 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 12 05-18-2014 01:04 PM
Problems cloning a hard drive
I used a program called "HDclone" to copy my drive. It said that i had 8 read errors. I didnt know what it meant to so i went on with the process. At the end of a 9 hour wait, an error message popped up " Due to the errors emerged the copy may not be consistent. It says i have to options. 1.Fix...
lillsill1 Hard Drive Support 6 01-22-2014 04:24 AM
Two Problems With Cloning Project
Hello, I have used Macrium Reflect to clone my 500GB OS HDD to a 2TB WD drive. I now have two problems. I am running Win 7 Pro on a HP Pavilion. It came with a 1TB HDD that started to fail 10 day after my 2 year warranty. I had a 500GB HDD on hand and cloned the original HDD to it as soon as I...
KAHSR Hard Drive Support 22 01-07-2014 10:07 AM
Random Shutdown, Pretty sure I have it isolated to 2 problems.
Hello, Wasn't really sure where to put this as problems go but since these problems have only started following a fairly recent upgrade and I'm using a computer I built myself I figured this would be the correct forum, Moderators please feel free to move it to a forum you see as more appropriate if...
mellow3 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 7 12-22-2011 04:43 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts