Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Problem formatting SATA HD with a newly built pc

This is a discussion on Problem formatting SATA HD with a newly built pc within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hey all, this is my first post - here goes! i have a computer networking degree, and have worked in

Closed Thread

Old 02-17-2005, 07:44 PM   #1

Question

hey all, this is my first post - here goes!

i have a computer networking degree, and have worked in the field. ive been fiddling with pc's for the past 10 years and built tons of PCs from scratch, and ive done fresh OS installs and reformats more times than i can count -including all the drivers and such. i started building my first SATA pc tonite and ran into trouble. ive searched the forums here, and they all give me the same answer - install the drivers for the SATA by pressing F6 at the start of the windows setup - which doesnt seem to be working.
i just bought an entire new setup online, received it today, and assembled it. for what its worth, here is the hardware i just got.
-shuttle XPC SB95P V.2 small form factor case (comes with power supply and MB. then you add the rest)

here is what i added;
-WD raptor 36g SATA 10k rpm
-corsair DDR2 twin2x1024-4300C3Pro (2 sticks of 512 each, PC2-4300, 533mhz) for a total of 1 gig
-P4 processor (model 550) 3.4ghz, 800fsb, HT technology, LGA775
-samsung 3.5 floppy
-plextor Serial ATA, model PX-716SA DVDr/CDrw
-ATI radeon X700pro video card (256mb GDDR3, pci express 16)

(i also ordered a WD 250 gig 7200rpm SATA harddrive that im going to use for personal files. i have not added it yet, as im waiting to get windows installed first. i am using the WD raptor 36 gig for system/OS files)

i got all the pieces from newegg.com except the case. they all came new, wrapped, and packaged nicely. i didnt open any of them until i started building the pc this morning.