Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

PC stalls at Verifying DMI Data Pool ..

This is a discussion on PC stalls at Verifying DMI Data Pool .. within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Oh-Knowledgeable-Ones, i am running an IDE HDD on the single IDE controller on a Mobo which carries two SATA


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-19-2008, 10:07 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Trinidad
Posts: 12
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium sp 2


Cry

Hi Oh-Knowledgeable-Ones,

i am running an IDE HDD on the single IDE controller on a Mobo which carries two SATA controllers. The thing is, whenever I connect any second IDE as a slave to the existing IDE Master, the system stalls at 'Verifying DMI Data Pool'....System works fine with just the master alone. Jumpers are set correctly, and drive is detected in the Setup. XP SP 2 installed.

Any wise words for a humble soul?
garvinfj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-19-2008, 11:21 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
tecknomage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 928
OS: WinXP Pro SP3



Are you sure the jumper on your Primary IDE Master is actually set to Master?

This sounds like what happens when the CS (Cable Select) jumper setting is used, which is why I always advise NEVER use CS setting, even if you have only one HD.
tecknomage is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 05:14 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Trinidad
Posts: 12
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium sp 2



Yes, Tecknomage. Jumpers are set correctly. Actually I've tried both approaches; Master/Slave setting and CS. Neither has worked. Any other ideas?
garvinfj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-21-2008, 09:36 AM   #4
Registered User
 
AnthonyStargate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: I'm in Minneapolis, Minnesota.
Posts: 51
OS: Windows XP service pack 2



Garvinfj, have you tried clearing the cmos? That is the most likely solution. There are 2 ways to do that. The first is turn off your computer, unplug the computer, take off the side cover, then unplug the cmos battery and wait at least a minute. Then put it back together.

The 2nd method: some motherboards have a set of 3 pins to clear the cmos. Finding them is up to you. You'll see 3 pins with a jumper on 2 of them. If the jumper is on the middle and right pin, pull it and put it on the middle and left pin, and wait a minute. Put the jumper back in its original position. And again, the computer is off and unplugged when you do this.

You could have a bad hard drive cable. You could also try connecting the new hard drive to a different computer and see what happens. If clearing the cmos doesn’t work, I would definitely connect the hard drive to a different computer. That helps you sort out whether the problem is with the hard drive or the computer.

DMI means desktop management interface, though I don't know exactly what that means.

Let me know what happens. Bonne chance
AnthonyStargate is offline  
Old 02-22-2008, 08:27 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Trinidad
Posts: 12
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium sp 2



Thank you, AnthonyStargate....Your advice did the trick. I cleared the CMOS using the jumpers and Voila! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed message.
garvinfj is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 02:01 AM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthonyStargate View Post
Garvinfj, have you tried clearing the cmos? That is the most likely solution. There are 2 ways to do that. The first is turn off your computer, unplug the computer, take off the side cover, then unplug the cmos battery and wait at least a minute. Then put it back together.

The 2nd method: some motherboards have a set of 3 pins to clear the cmos. Finding them is up to you. You'll see 3 pins with a jumper on 2 of them. If the jumper is on the middle and right pin, pull it and put it on the middle and left pin, and wait a minute. Put the jumper back in its original position. And again, the computer is off and unplugged when you do this.

You could have a bad hard drive cable. You could also try connecting the new hard drive to a different computer and see what happens. If clearing the cmos doesn’t work, I would definitely connect the hard drive to a different computer. That helps you sort out whether the problem is with the hard drive or the computer.

DMI means desktop management interface, though I don't know exactly what that means.

Let me know what happens. Bonne chance
Thank you very much for the CMOS info. Removing the battery for a few minutes solved my problem. Thank you very much indeed.



I know this is old and I hate to bring it back up, but it really is a top tip.
nsix is offline  
Old 01-08-2010, 05:30 PM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
OS:



I registered just to say Thank You AnthonyStargate for that great tip. I used the changing the pin trick.
Happyistic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts