Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Old SATA HDD not recognised in new rig

This is a discussion on Old SATA HDD not recognised in new rig within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys, Recently got myself a new rig: Mb: MSI 990FXA RAM: Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb CPU: AMD Phenom 2 x6


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-30-2011, 12:06 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fife, Scotland
Posts: 9
OS: windows xp sp2

My System


Hey guys,

Recently got myself a new rig:

Mb: MSI 990FXA
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb
CPU: AMD Phenom 2 x6
PSU: HX650w Corsair
and a brand new 1tb sata drive to go with all my lovely new goodies.

Problem is, I have an old 1tb sata in my old rig that I have attempted to connect to my new rig after installing windows 7 on my new sata drive. Unfortunately neither bios or windows are picking up my old sata. My new mb came with some new fancy sata cables that didnt work on my old drive, so after plugging in my old sata cable my old drive worked. Being somewhat chuffed after what seemed forever trying to get it to work I decided to reconnect my SLI. After switching my new beast back on, again the bios or windows didnt recognize my old sata and I was back to square 1. I retraced my steps, carefully calculating every detail and effort made into making my old sata worked but to no avail.

funny thing is my old sata works just fine on my old rig, but even after disconnecting my new sata and putting my old one in its place on my new rig, it still does not pick it up. I dont believe the drive is buggered, but I really want this to work. I have a lot of old memories, music, games etc that I dont want to lose.

Can anyone suggest anything? thanks,
xDaystar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-30-2011, 01:29 PM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England, UK
Posts: 4,527
OS: Windows 7 x86 SP1



Buy a USB external enclosure for the old drive.
pip22 is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 01:32 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fife, Scotland
Posts: 9
OS: windows xp sp2

My System

I really don't want to, I want it sitting in my tower. Is there anything else anyone can suggest?

No one else can advise what to do?
xDaystar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-31-2011, 03:15 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what video cards

it sounds like it may be underpowered once you go into sli



dai is offline  
Old 12-31-2011, 03:37 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fife, Scotland
Posts: 9
OS: windows xp sp2

My System


Well thats what i thought at first. I am using only 1 at the moment, GTX 260. Thing is, my mate who has a very similar system to mine has a lot more hardware (additional hdds, much bigger gfx card, audio card etc) running off the same psu than my own rig. I cant hear the hdd spin up when I switch the pc on, but it does it no problem in my old rig. I just dont understand what's going on :(
xDaystar is offline  
Old 12-31-2011, 06:45 PM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



without knowing what is in your mates rig i cannot comment

do you mean a bigger card or a more powerful card what model is it

for 260 in sli i would be running a 850w



dai is offline  
Old 01-01-2012, 04:41 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fife, Scotland
Posts: 9
OS: windows xp sp2

My System


The only things that are different between my own and my mates pcs are he has a 560TI gfx card and 2 more sata hdds. I'm not running SLI anymore as my 260GTX is doing its job with the games that I play, so the second card isnt even in my tower.

I have considered it is a possible power issue but surely that cannot be the case if I am running 1 gfx card and 1 sata hdd. Even tried disconnecting my cd drive and powering it up but still no cigar :( Feel stumped, and really irritated by this.

Happy New Years, btw!
xDaystar is offline  
Old 01-01-2012, 07:24 AM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



checking feedback reports i see sata controller problems and cable problems with this board

email msi support

[email protected]



dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pls advise - Reliable 2.5 inch SATA external HDD enclosure
Pls advise - I would like to purchase Reliable 2.5 inch SATA external HDD enclosure which is sturdy and reliable and can last long and have no issues. Which brand / company's hard disk enclosure u recommend? Pls guide me. Thanks in advance. Really looking forward for ur advice. Pls respond.
sunandoghosh Hard Drive Support 1 11-06-2011 07:39 PM
My 2.5" / 3.5" Drive SATA to ATA IDE Converter Adapter HDD arrived!!
Greetings from me in St'go de Chile, Finally my eBay ("China flavored") 2.5" / 3.5" Drive SATA to ATA IDE Converter Adapter HDD arrived! Now my problems start: In USB mode 263Gb free HDD space is shown, yet when I connect with the SATA to ATA IDE adapter BIOS shows 137.4 Gb. Using "Paragon...
jjj333 Windows XP Support 5 10-20-2011 07:58 AM
[SOLVED] HDD not recognised
Forgive me if these questions are answered elsewhere, perhaps I'm not doing the search properly. I have 5 physical drives in my computer, none of which are partitioned. Yesterday, I updated the drivers for my motherboard to get rid of that pesky co-processor always showing up in Device Manager....
boldy Hard Drive Support 24 10-01-2011 05:12 PM
Seagate SATA 160GB HDD Power Circuit Replacement
I have this problem with my seagate SATA 160GB HDD. one eve I found a sudden smoke from my HDD when I stopped the PC. Then after I realised that the power circuit was burned. I hav 100 Gb data tht is importnt 4 me.....:rolleyes: Can I solve this problem by replacing Power Circuit of HDD ????...
amitgadekar005 Hard Drive Support 6 10-01-2011 07:32 AM
Missing SATA HDD
Help! I've just had to replace a terminally sick secondary HDD, and I've bought a 1tb SATA drive. As I have no SATA ports on the motherboard, I've also bought a PCI card with three SATA ports. The PCI card has been detected, and all the correct drivers have been installed, and I've connected...
npanne Hard Drive Support 1 01-11-2011 04:32 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts