Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Noobie RAID Questions

This is a discussion on Noobie RAID Questions within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm looking to set up a raid for my desktop. I only have some general questions. Hoping somebody may be


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-18-2020, 06:28 AM   #1
TSF - Enthusiast
 
wkw427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Internet™
Posts: 2,437
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


I'm looking to set up a raid for my desktop. I only have some general questions. Hoping somebody may be of assistance

I have about 3.5tb used among two 3tb disks. I currently have flat backups on another machine, so in one way or another, I will be able to move everything off both of these disks to set up a raid. I also have another 3tb disks that I would be wanting to add into the raid.

Ideally I think I might want to go with two sets of raid1, but this would need me to buy another disk
- Is it a good idea to mix brands and models of disks in a raid, as long as they are of the same size?

I don't have a raid card, so this is going to be managed by my motherboard.
- If my board does end up failing, is there any way to recover a raid5 setup if it was managed by the board?
- Generally speaking, how does the hardware differentiate between disks? Based off of the sata port they are plugged in to, or the serial number of the disk?
- Would there be an issue if, for example, I moved which sata ports the disks were plugged in to?
- Should I buy a dedicated raid card?

If I do opt to buy another disk, I will most certainly go for two raid1 volumes. However that serves the question,
- Is it possible to mount multiple volumes on a single raid5/10 array?

Thanks for your answers. I'll try to check back later today or tomorrow
__________________
Ego Sum Deus Quo Malum Caligo et Barathrum
Asking if the PC you bought/want to buy can run XYZ game on ABC settings "good" is like asking if a new car can go "fast". You can't measure "good" or "fast"
wkw427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-18-2020, 10:17 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,191
OS: win 10 Home



This might be of some help https://www.booleanworld.com/raid-levels-explained/
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 07:11 AM   #3
TSF - Enthusiast
 
wkw427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Internet™
Posts: 2,437
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


That does a good job at explaining what the differences are, but doesn't really answer any of the What Ifs I have.
__________________
Ego Sum Deus Quo Malum Caligo et Barathrum
Asking if the PC you bought/want to buy can run XYZ game on ABC settings "good" is like asking if a new car can go "fast". You can't measure "good" or "fast"
wkw427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-19-2020, 10:42 AM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,191
OS: win 10 Home



This might address those https://getprostorage.com/blog/hardw...software-raid/
https://helpdeskgeek.com/how-to/how-...-1-on-your-pc/
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 12:10 PM   #5
TSF - Enthusiast
 
wkw427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Internet™
Posts: 2,437
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


That second one was helpful. I am going to mark this one as solved. Thanks
__________________
Ego Sum Deus Quo Malum Caligo et Barathrum
Asking if the PC you bought/want to buy can run XYZ game on ABC settings "good" is like asking if a new car can go "fast". You can't measure "good" or "fast"
wkw427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 05:00 PM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,191
OS: win 10 Home



Glad you found it useful.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts