Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

No drives recognised by BIOS

This is a discussion on No drives recognised by BIOS within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi guys, I recieved a second GTX 970 today to setup in SLI mode, I plugged it all in with


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-22-2017, 09:30 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 9
OS:



Hi guys,

I recieved a second GTX 970 today to setup in SLI mode, I plugged it all in with power and when I turned on my PC I was confronted with a:
'Reboot and select proper boot device'

After this I went into my BIOS to make sure my SSD was in the boot options - which it is now not.

I first assumed it was my SSD which had failed but when I tried other drives which I knew worked they are also not recognised.

My system specs are:
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX 2.0
FX 8350
Zotac GTX 970 (x2 attempted)
Samsung 850 EVO SSD


If someone has any idea I am in desperate need of them
aNg3r is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-22-2017, 09:36 AM   #2
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,599
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



PSU (Power Supply Unit) not strong enough to handle it all?
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 12-22-2017, 09:42 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 9
OS:



I thought that may have been the issue but I tested with just one GPU and still no luck :(
aNg3r is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-22-2017, 10:05 AM   #4
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,599
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Sounds like something may have been knocked loose, damaged or maybe static damage?

Try resetting the BIOS to factory defaults, reboot then go back in and see if you see any drives.

If still no luck, re-assemble the computer outside the case ... as bare-bones as you can get it. PSU, motherboard, RAM, CPU, video, keyboard and mouse. Then try to get into the BIOS. When in set the date & time, save, exit, power down. Add a drive, boot up back into the BIOS and see if the drive shows up.

Let us know what you find out ...
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 12-22-2017, 11:42 AM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,538
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Have your tried disabling SLI mode?
Go to the ASUS drivers page for your board and update the Bios: https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards...Desk_Download/
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 12-22-2017, 12:30 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 9
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by SpywareDr View Post
Sounds like something may have been knocked loose, damaged or maybe static damage?

Try resetting the BIOS to factory defaults, reboot then go back in and see if you see any drives.

If still no luck, re-assemble the computer outside the case ... as bare-bones as you can get it. PSU, motherboard, RAM, CPU, video, keyboard and mouse. Then try to get into the BIOS. When in set the date & time, save, exit, power down. Add a drive, boot up back into the BIOS and see if the drive shows up.

Let us know what you find out ...
Reinstalled everything and now its not recognising my keyboard, oh and apparently there's a cpu fan error.. Delightful
aNg3r is offline  
Old 12-22-2017, 12:31 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 9
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Have your tried disabling SLI mode?
Go to the ASUS drivers page for your board and update the Bios: https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards...Desk_Download/
Tried both, nothing so far :(
aNg3r is offline  
Old 12-22-2017, 12:38 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 9
OS:



Okay ignore the bit about the keyboard, going to try and reset BIOS again
aNg3r is offline  
Old 12-22-2017, 12:47 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 9
OS:



Okay! SSD is being recognised again! However the 'BOOT_DRIVE_LED' is still red and I have a CPU fan error, any suggestions?
aNg3r is offline  
Old 12-22-2017, 01:01 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 9
OS:



Alright, ive got it to boot. Any suggestions on how to stop it doing this again when I try and SLI again?
aNg3r is offline  
Old 12-22-2017, 02:10 PM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,538
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Did you update the Bios to the latest version?
If SLI mode doesn't work then you can always reset the Bios to defaults.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 12-22-2017, 02:19 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 9
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Did you update the Bios to the latest version?
If SLI mode doesn't work then you can always reset the Bios to defaults.
Yes I updated the BIOS and it all boots fine. When I go into the nVidia control panel I am told that I have no SLI bridge. I have tried 2 different SLI bridges in every configuration I can think of but still get the same error
aNg3r is offline  
Old 12-22-2017, 02:23 PM   #13
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,538
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Do you have an SLI bridge adapter connected to both of your Video cards? And it's plugged in correctly?
https://www.geforce.com/hardware/technology/sli/faq#g2
If you have a bridge adapter connected to both cards, and none of the FAQ troubleshooting steps work for you, contact nVidia support or post in their community forum for better results.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sli_01.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	29.8 KB
ID:	317522  
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 12-22-2017, 02:51 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 9
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Do you have an SLI bridge adapter connected to both of your Video cards? And it's plugged in correctly?
https://www.geforce.com/hardware/technology/sli/faq#g2
If you have a bridge adapter connected to both cards, and none of the FAQ troubleshooting steps work for you, contact nVidia support or post in their community forum for better results.
Yes I've got an SLI bridge connected to both and on correctly. I've tried 2 different bridges and flipped them around and even used both at the same time to make sure. Unfortunately nothing working currently. Thanks for your help though, really appreciate it :)
aNg3r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] BSOD almost every night
I built this box in December and installed W8 on it. IT's fast and never gave me a problem until about 4 weeks ago. Suddenly, almost every night, it crashes and I wake up and see the system is off. I've tired WhoCrashed and got mostly "This was probably caused by the following module: cmudaxp.sys...
pcostanza BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 38 05-20-2013 07:27 PM
BSOD
Hi, My computer started crashing a couple of months ago, the computer then would turn on but nothing would show on the screen. I did a few basic tests and after removing a graphics card i had bought about 3 months prior it all seemed to work again. I would get an occasional BSOD but not...
eunson BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 19 04-17-2013 07:22 AM
I need some help with BSOD
My PC is continually crashing, please help. WINDOWS 8 x64 WINDOWS 7 (First OS) NO OEM, IS WINDOWS 8 UPGRADE DIFERENT AGES SINCE I UPPGRADED SOME PARTS OS INSTALLATION IS RECENT AND I DID REINSTALL ONCE CPU: AMD PHENOM X3 8750 BLACK EDITION
chiquito3 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 9 03-13-2013 07:46 AM
BSOD Memory Management and several others
I'm not sure of the format of asking a question in this forum, so If I do anything wrong please take into account that I just registered. Anyway I've been having tons of BSODs since I got this computer, and I've tried reformatting the hard drive, reinstalling Windows 7 etc. I've also tried...
kingtidus390 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 02-16-2013 07:33 AM
BSOD after few minutes of gaming
Hello, and thanks in advance for taking the time to help. First off, I couldn't find a thread with specific instructions on who to acquire all the specific log files for Windows XP - it seems the stickies only pertain to Windows 7 / Vista. If someone could point me in the right direction, I'll...
Deamon615 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 37 11-04-2012 02:18 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts