Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

New WD40EFRX clicking sound every 2 seconds

This is a discussion on New WD40EFRX clicking sound every 2 seconds within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello to the community. I would like your help and support for the following issue. I recently bought (3 weeks


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-09-2016, 12:27 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3
OS: win7



Hello to the community. I would like your help and support for the following issue. I recently bought (3 weeks ago) a Western Digital Red 4TB, 3.5 Inches, SATA 3, 64MB, Intellipower (WD40EFRX) hard disk. I formatted the drive and accessed it through windows but when I am trying to copy and then paste a file to the drive the hard disk starts making a clicking sound every 2 seconds and windows freeze and stop responding. Can this issue be fixed or was I unlucky and got a faulty drive? How should I proceed? I have recorded the sound if you need listening to it and I could make a video of the whole process to show you how the issue begins at the first place. My experience suggests that clicking noises are a bad thing for hard disks. But how possible is that the hard disk was faulty when it left the western digital factory? I considered western digital as the best hard disk manufacturer and a very reliable company. Please advise.

Regards,
Apostolis
apostolis21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-09-2016, 01:24 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,641
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
the hard disk starts making a clicking sound every 2 seconds
A clicking HDD is a HDD that has failed, return it to WD for a free Refurbished one in return: Warranty Status | WD Support
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 05-10-2016, 01:10 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3
OS: win7



I took the drive to the technician and told me that the drive is fine and that he checked it with a diagnostic tool. How is this even possible? Is it possible that different diagnostic tools show other results? Or could it be that the technician did a sector analysis but not a read/write test? I am confused. I will go there today and be present at the diagnostic tool that the technician used and we will do it again together and tell him about what I did but this is odd.

Any suggestions?

Yesterday, I ran the Data Lifeguard Diagnostic for Windows quick test and got this message

apostolis21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-10-2016, 01:45 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,641
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


WD Red Drives are designed for NAS systems in a RAID, not for standard desktops.
It also could be your setup. Change the SATA cable with a known good one. Choose a different power plug from the PSU. Use a different SATA port on the motherboard. Try the drive in a different computer.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 05-10-2016, 02:17 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3
OS: win7



I initially installed it at a RAID enclosure as a RAID10 setup with 4 identical 4TB red drives, formatted it and as soon as I tried to copy files to the RAID, the system froze and the drive at bay 1 (the one that seems to have the problem) started making this sound, it's like trying to access some part of the disk but fails and tries again and again. After a while the green led above bay 1 turned red which means the drive has failed inside the raid, I restarted the raid and the rebuild led was flashing but couldn't rebuild maybe because the drive is faulty. That was my initial approach. Then I thought, ok it could be the enclosure or the controller so I changed the bay for this drive to bay 2, reformatted and again the same behavior at bay 2 this time, bay 1 was fine. Then I removed 2 drives and created a RAID1 with two other red drives and worked flawlessly, I copied, I pasted, transfer speed was at usb3 level as it should be, no weird sounds and noises. That was crucial because I realised the enclosure is ok (it is a new one and of very good quality one from OWC if you know them).

So after all this, I gave it to the technician and at first he told me that I brought him a complete functional drive but unformatted. I wondered was it so obvious? I started having second thoughts. And I took it home to test it with a direct connection to the motherboard's sata (the cables work fine, I checked them with another drive). So I had the same behavior as an internal drive without a raid setup.

Here, I have uploaded the sound it makes after I tried to copy and paste a file to the drive (sorry I had to zip it as I am not allowed to upload sound files).

I hope that with my visit to the technician the issue will be settled and I will get a replacement drive.
Attached Files
File Type: zip hdd sound.zip (485.2 KB, 26 views)
apostolis21 is offline  
Old 05-10-2016, 02:46 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,641
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


You don't have to bring it to a technician. Just RMA it back to WD using the link in post #2. They may request your DataLifeGuard results.
Be advised, that they do not send you a new drive back in return but a Refurbished one, that will probably fail sooner then a new drive.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 05-12-2016, 01:55 AM   #7
WesternDigital
Representative
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 158
OS: Windows 7



Hi @apostolis21!

I'm sorry to hear about what happened with the drive, I know how unpleasent it can be.

Since the test results are not comleted and there's an 07 error code showing up, then IMO it will be best to RMA the unit back to us. You can the links provided by @spunk.funk to contact our support line.

Best of luck!
Mighty_Miro_WD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need help with my sound!!
So since forever I've had this problem and I'm not sure why. If i plug in my headset and my speakers into my computer, neither work. If I plug them individually they work. I want them both to work at the same time or atleast so I am able to click one on and one off without having to plug and unplug...
Greenybwa Sound Cards 8 01-19-2014 03:31 AM
Sharing printer through a router that is connected to a router with the printer.
Hi, I have a Belkin N750 DB connected to the internet with a USB printer connected to it. Printer can be shared among computers connected to Belkin either with wire or wirelessly with no problem via Belkin USB and Storage Center software. I then connected a 2Wire 2700HG-E Gateway to the...
anewbieuser Protocols and Routing 23 12-07-2012 12:23 PM
Hard drive has clicking sound
Hi, a while back my hard drive started having a clicking sound and my Dell laptop intermittently boots up. I suppose the remedy is to replace the hard drive?
harkdh Hard Drive Support 3 12-24-2011 06:36 AM
Sound spontaneously switches between stereo and mono every few seconds
Hey, I have a Lenovo Thinkpad T410s running Windows 7 64-bit. The soundcard is the standard Conexant 20585 SmartAudio HD, and I have the latest drivers from Lenovo. My problem is that the sound flickers between stereo and mono every few seconds -- this happens in every program I've used --...
crowth Sound Cards 3 01-03-2011 10:19 AM
[AUDIO] Sound problems? Try these things first.
Basic Troubleshooting of Sound Problems. When a sound problem occurs, quite often it is an issue with the speaker connections or the sound being muted in Windows. Sometimes you may come across a driver issue, corrupt Windows or (uncommon) faulty hardware. The following are a few things that...
Deleted090308 Troubleshooting Tips and Tricks 0 02-17-2008 01:05 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts