Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Need to format a 2Tb Hitachi to FAT32 in W7

This is a discussion on Need to format a 2Tb Hitachi to FAT32 in W7 within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi I'm getting a little confused just searching answers to this, so thought I would ask. I need to format


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-03-2012, 09:20 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 114
OS: Windows 7 HP, Ubuntu 10.10


Send a message via MSN to BillDoor

Hi

I'm getting a little confused just searching answers to this, so thought I would ask.
I need to format a new 2Tb external drive to FAT32 to use with my PS3. The options in Windows 7 (64bit) are exFAT or NTFS.

What is the easiest and safest way to do this? Do I need a program to do this?

thanks as always...
BillDoor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-03-2012, 11:04 AM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England, UK
Posts: 4,527
OS: Windows 7 x86 SP1



Go here: How to Format External Hard Drive to FAT32 in Windows
pip22 is offline  
Old 10-05-2012, 08:20 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 114
OS: Windows 7 HP, Ubuntu 10.10


Send a message via MSN to BillDoor

Hi

tried this, it took 2 full days and then I got a message saying it was too big for FAT32, so I've had to put it back to NTFS.
There must be another way to do this in Windows 7 surely...?
BillDoor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-05-2012, 08:42 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 197
OS: 8



.....
pctoxicated is offline  
Old 10-05-2012, 09:00 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 197
OS: 8



Do you plan on using the drive internally or externally?
pctoxicated is offline  
Old 10-07-2012, 01:29 AM   #6
Moderator
- Design Team
- Networking Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 2,483
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7 SP1, Debian, CentOS

My System


You may want to try EaseUS Partition Master. While I've never done the above myself, from what I gather it's more reliable getting big drives to work than most other methods.

FAT32 was never intended to function with drives that large, even though it theoretically works up to 8TB. 2TB is the largest drive using FAT32 that doesn't start running into problems in certain applications.
Fjandr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2tb FAT32 support
Hi I'm after getting a 2TB external drive to replace my 1TB, but I've heard something about not being able to have them as FAT32, is that right? I use it mainly for storing things for my PS3, so it needs to be FAT32. can anyone shed any light on this please?
BillDoor Hard Drive Support 2 11-13-2011 07:23 AM
external HDD in raw format , can not format it in FAT32
hello, i have a 500gb i omega drive.It was in working condition even few days ago.now it shows only a icon and not openable.in disk manager shows raw format.tried to format it in many ways but wont work.I have no intention to recover any data from it, just need it in working condition....
minglancer Removable Media Drives 1 09-24-2011 12:20 PM
WD20EARS 2tb hd not recognised after cancelling 1st format
Hi all, my XP SP3 system no longer recognises my WD hard drive after i cancelled the very first format because it was taking so long. I basically needed to do some other things and hoped i could return to carry out the format of this secondary disk later. On return the disk was no longer...
exaudiouk Hard Drive Support 1 07-28-2011 12:30 AM
Hitachi XL2000 Format Error (Mac)
On a Macbook, Mac OS 10.5.8. Just purchased a 2TB Hitachi XL2000 external hard drive. Followed the instructions to format it to HFS+. So I went to disk utility, on the left selected "1.8 TB Hitachi HDS722020ALA330", there's an indented selection right below that, which is the volume i...
JR50 Hard Drive Support 1 05-02-2011 04:15 PM
how to format 1.5tb desktop seagate to fat32
hi i have a seagate desktop 1.5 tb drive and would like to format it to fat32 so i can use it on my set top box. please help me that would be awesome. thanks.
strapper Hard Drive Support 3 04-08-2011 07:02 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts