Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

My PC is not performing as it should. May my SDD be the problem?

This is a discussion on My PC is not performing as it should. May my SDD be the problem? within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi guys: First, here is my pc benchmark at userbenchmark.com. Dxdiag is also attached. UserBenchmarks: Game 65%, Desk 65%, Work


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-27-2018, 09:06 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 18
OS:



Hi guys:

First, here is my pc benchmark at userbenchmark.com. Dxdiag is also attached.
UserBenchmarks: Game 65%, Desk 65%, Work 47%
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 1500X - 80.5%
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060-6GB - 69.9%
SSD: OCZ Agility 3 240GB - 36.9%
HDD: Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB - 99.6%
RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 C16 1x8GB - 41.4%
MBD: MSI B350M MORTAR (MS-7A37)


I have asked friends with similar or even below buildings, and their pc perform much better than mine. For example, a friend with a 1050ti runs gta v at 60 constant fps (with graphics at high, at 100% render scale), while my 1060 drops constantly to 30-40 fps (at medium settings). Other friend with a 1060 also runs gta v at stable 60 fps.
In other games like overwatch, in low settings, im getting around 120-130 fps, while my friends get 200-300. The problem here is that I use a 180hz monitor, so its very annoying.

Today I have decided to run userbenchmark tool to find the problem, at it looks like my SSD is very old and slow, and all other components are ok. But, can all those problems be due to my SSD, even if my games are in the HDD? If so, im looking forward to buying the Samsung 970 evo (250gb version), but im not sure that will fix my low fps issue.

So, what do you guys think? If you need anything more to help me fix this, I will surely do it. Thanks a lot!

UserBenchmarks: Game 65%, Desk 65%, Work 47%
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 1500X - 80.5%
GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060-6GB - 69.9%
SSD: OCZ Agility 3 240GB - 36.9%
HDD: Toshiba DT01ACA200 2TB - 99.6%
RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 C16 1x8GB - 41.4%
MBD: MSI B350M MORTAR (MS-7A37)
Attached Files
File Type: txt DxDiag.txt (84.6 KB, 6 views)
pablorod14 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-27-2018, 09:16 AM   #2
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



I don't think the SSD is an issue, although I can't see the benchmark website since it's blocked at my end..

I see the resolution is set for 60Hz.. What cable are you using to connect ?

You might have to use a DVI or the Display port if you want to correctly utilize the monitor refresh... If you're using HDMI, I'd try to change that first to a display/mini Display/Dual DVI...
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 09:18 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 18
OS:



In nvidia control panel is set at 144hz, using a DP 1.4 cable.
pablorod14 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-27-2018, 09:23 AM   #4
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Well, if it's a display port cable, then you're good..

Can you check the Display settings -- Display Adapter properties -- List all Modes and check which one is selected ?

Also under Monitor, what is the Hz value displayed in the dropdown ?
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 09:27 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 18
OS:



1920X1080 true color 144hz.

144hz, 120hz, 100hz, 85hz, 60hz. My monitor can OC to 180hz, but I have it now set in 144hz, and I perfectly distinguish them.
pablorod14 is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 09:30 AM   #6
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Resolution seems to be good too...Are you able to start a server locally for any of these games and can you clock the FPS when you host the game ?
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 09:36 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 18
OS:



Im not sure I know what a local server is. I have googled it, and it looks like it can used for "streaming" my PC and use it form other, but is it necessary to find the solution to my low fps problem? If so, I will try to do it, but looks like its a bit complicated for me
pablorod14 is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 09:41 AM   #8
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



I thought that didn't come out the way it was supposed to, I was talking about hosting the game on your pc.. If these are Multi player games, like COD for example where you can start your own server/Host your own game so your friends can join.. Do any of the games have that option ?...

Is there a Single player mode, if so, what are the FPS you clock for those games ?
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 09:44 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 18
OS:



Ah, okay.
Well, for example in GTA V im getting around 40-60 fps (mostly 50), which are very unstable. In overwatch im getting around 100-120 fps. Friends with lower-end pcs get 60 stable fps in gta v and around 200-300 fps in overwatch.
pablorod14 is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 09:49 AM   #10
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Ok, got it.. Can you reduce AA settings ? start from No, keep increasing it and see if there is a difference..
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 09:52 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 18
OS:



Already done that, on nvidia control panel and in the game settings. Barely no differences at all. Indeed, i get same fps with gta v at 150% render scale than at 100% render scale. Dont understand that much, but i can swear it happens.
pablorod14 is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 09:58 AM   #12
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



You've tested Anti Aliasing and can you also try anisotropic filtering ?

Start with none/0 and remove the App controlled setting.. Still no changes ?
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 10:08 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 18
OS:



In overwatch: changing from texture filtering from 1x to 16x and from fxaa to high smaa gives me no fps variation (around 230 fps, but in combat practice, a mode with no other players). But graphics variation is huge, with no fps difference.
pablorod14 is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 10:17 AM   #14
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



I guess next stop would be to remove and reinstall the driver.. I wanted to be absolutely sure before we go down that path, because it can make/break the settings..

Here's another stab though, if the game is on the HDD however the OS is on the SSD, that could still cause the issues.. Any chance you can install any game directly on the SSD and test the FPS difference ?
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 10:20 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 18
OS:



OS is in the SSD, games are in the HDD. I once installed gta v on the SSD, but i saw no difference but in the loading speed so i uninstalled it from the ssd and installed in on the hdd.
pablorod14 is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 10:21 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 18
OS:



Drivers are practically new, because i made a clean installation a month ago, reinstalling all drivers thinking that may solve the fps issue, but nothing changed.
pablorod14 is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 10:24 AM   #17
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



I'd go with installing another game on the SSD and test.. Try installing any one game and see if there is a difference.. Game on SSD vs HDD makes a huge difference.. If not FPS you should at least see a difference in loading times.. Can you please test this and let us know ?

Also run Crystaldiskmark on both drives and post back the results.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Gremlins or hardware problem?
Several symptoms, I can't tell if this is a hardwre or software problem 1. machine has become very slow, 2. Firefox freezes, when it starts it may open five or six tabs. 3. wireless mouse stops working, touch pad fails at the same time. 4. Sometimes freezes on the welcome screen, and...
Gene145 Resolved HJT Threads 20 08-07-2015 07:49 AM
New hard drive, huge problem.
Alright, so here's the deal. A while back my hard drive over heated and broke, so I bought one off a friend that used to work at a computer repair shop. So he came over and put the hard drive in for me. We started up my laptop (HP Mini 110-1000), it comes up with a blue screen for a split...
JazzyCupcakes Hard Drive Support 2 12-17-2012 06:56 PM
Toshiba Blue Screens and Freezes
Hello, I've been getting BSODs and constant freezes for a while now. They started happening right after my laptop was forcibly turned off by a dead battery. OS - Windows 7 64-bit Windows 7 OEM version (came pre-installed on system) Age of system (hardware) 2 years (2010) Age of...
Orbacedo BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 4 11-14-2012 06:06 PM
Halo 2 Won't install i hate it...
Hey, I just bought halo 2 at the store and i tought hmm fun game but then when i wanted to install the game it says Microsoft directx has stopped working and then i can't install the game... because i need to close the installation. I already have DX. 11 And got HD Readen 4770, AMD...
Takehofstra Game Installation Support 1 02-26-2011 07:39 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts