Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Making old HDD external storage

This is a discussion on Making old HDD external storage within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I have an old hdd out of a friends old pc. I installed it in an external hdd enclosure.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-08-2007, 07:19 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 206
OS: XP Pro-SP2



Hi,

I have an old hdd out of a friends old pc.

I installed it in an external hdd enclosure.

It is a 60GB drive.

I tried to reformat it to clear everything off it and it only formatted 9.71 GB

It says (right clicking "properties") that there is 53 MB used.

How can I format the whole drive to NTFS?

When I right click the drive in m"My Computer" and select "format" the only choice is for 9.76GB.

Could this have something to do with LINUX? I think he was dual booting with windows???



Thanks for any help.

Cheers
cliffhucker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-08-2007, 07:35 PM   #2
Manager, TSF Articles
 
JohnthePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cheltenham, near Wales.
Posts: 38,280
OS: Windows 10 Professional, Windows 10 build 14361, Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1

My System


Is the drive partitioned? If so you will need to go into Disk Management and remove the partitions.
__________________




Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

JohnthePilot is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 07:53 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 206
OS: XP Pro-SP2



Yep there were partitions and I deleted them.

But now the drive does not show up in "my computer"//

Any ideas?

Thanks
cliffhucker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-08-2007, 08:26 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 206
OS: XP Pro-SP2



Yep there were partitions and I deleted them.

Ok, now there is just one partition but it is only 38.27GB according to diskmgmt.msc.

However under properties in "my computer" it says:
Free space 38.2 GB
Used space 65.6

And the used space is just a sliver in the pie chart.

Is this linux hiding it or something???


Is there a command prompt that would get it?

Thanks
cliffhucker is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 08:38 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
src2206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kolkata, India
Posts: 2,096
OS: WinXP Pro SP3

My System

Send a message via Yahoo to src2206
Post

Hello there

Instead of using windows disk management, use Gparted Live CD.

Here is one guide of using Gparted for you: https://sroyc.blogspot.com/2006/12/gp...credit-of.html
src2206 is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 08:40 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 206
OS: XP Pro-SP2



thanks

i will look into it now
cliffhucker is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 08:42 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 206
OS: XP Pro-SP2



isnt that for if you want linux?
Gparted


I want nothing to do with linux
cliffhucker is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 09:02 PM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS:



Hi,
src2206 has posted a good link (but, I think the guide is written for Linux envionment). You could try Partition Logic. It's a free program that will let you get rid of any Linux partitions - but the program is not capable of NTSF formatting, you have to do that in Disk management. Perhaps the easiest solution is the one suggested by JohnthePilot - enter Disk Management in Windows. You do that by right-clicking My computer > manage > Disk management. In disk management you choose the partitions to delete (all?). Then you right-click the drive (in Disk management) and choose "New partition" and follow the wizard.

Nicholas
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 09:06 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 206
OS: XP Pro-SP2



Quote:
src2206 has posted a good link (but, I think the guide is written for Linux envionment)
Yeah I think he is just Linux crazy and that is the only word he saw in my posts.

thanks for the partition logic leed.

I will use that then reformat to NTFS.

I hope.

thanks again.

chyeers
cliffhucker is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 09:40 PM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS:



I think you should try Windows "Disk management" first.
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 09:54 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 206
OS: XP Pro-SP2



Quote:
I think you should try Windows "Disk management" first.
You didnt read the entire post either!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Been there
cliffhucker is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 10:18 PM   #12
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffhucker View Post
You didnt read the entire post either!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Been there
I missed that part - Sorry.
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 10:23 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 206
OS: XP Pro-SP2



no worries,

I appreciate your replies and suggestions.

I am not desperate enough to use boot discs .

I tried partition logic but got stuck at the post prompt.And the "manual" at the site was very lacking.

I would really like to find that hidden partition and delete from windows.

I also tried the Ultimate boot disk and it only recognized the drive as 40 GB?

Anyways thanks again and sorry for being harsh.

Cheers
cliffhucker is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 11:54 PM   #14
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23,001
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffhucker View Post
no worries,

I appreciate your replies and suggestions.

I am not desperate enough to use boot discs .

I tried partition logic but got stuck at the post prompt.And the "manual" at the site was very lacking.

I would really like to find that hidden partition and delete from windows.

I also tried the Ultimate boot disk and it only recognized the drive as 40 GB?

Anyways thanks again and sorry for being harsh.

Cheers
I've done some more "research" and can't find a good solution that will work in Windows. Try Super Fdisk to erase the partitions and the MBR (MBR on the external HD, of course).
Deleted090308 is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 05:52 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 206
OS: XP Pro-SP2



eneles,

Yeah I searched around and found nothing that could remove linux from windows.

I will give Super Fdisk a try later.

Thanks again for the help!

Cheers
cliffhucker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System crash with SmartDisk Firelite 80gb external HDD
Hi, I have just reformatted my hard drive, I had backed up my files on the external hard drive, 80gb SmartDisk Firelite HDD with USB connection. I have reformatted and backed up files for this laptop before in the same way, but this time, when I plug in the external hard drive, the system...
Bulletproof Removable Media Drives 5 07-25-2006 03:48 PM
External HDD - Causes a long login time & can't view files.
Up until now, my external hard drive has been working fine with no problems. It is used to hold all my music/videos/other media. I leave my external HDD plugged into my computer almost all the time, and so when I boot my computer, there are no problems. Yesterday, I booted my computer and the...
Teisani Removable Media Drives 9 07-14-2006 03:36 PM
external HDD will not enter stand by
I hooked up a nexstar-3 2.5 external enclosure to my Toshiba Satellite 2435 and everything works as advertized. I can move files to and from the external drive with no problems. The Hitachi 40 gig hdd that came with laptop is now the external. I replaced it with a seagate 40gig hdd. I have...
kona-man Windows XP Support 2 07-02-2006 07:23 PM
external hdd letter assignment
Hi there, Having an annoying problem with my external hard drive. When i first set it up it was assigned as E drive. I have music and programs on the drive which are given the file path E:/filename. The problem is if i plug another storage device into a usb port if the external hdd is not already...
rufustg Hard Drive Support 8 11-27-2005 09:58 PM
Asus K8N-E: System failed due to CPU overclocking
First post to these boards... please be gentle. I have a most unusual problem. First the system specs: Asus K8N-E Deluxe AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 1024MB Geil Golden Dragon RAM Maxtor 80GB SATA ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 256 Soundblaster Live Gamer (old...)
Tiresias Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 8 11-19-2004 07:45 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts