Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Mainboard bios 100 G hard drive problem during boot sequence

This is a discussion on Mainboard bios 100 G hard drive problem during boot sequence within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Please help, I currently have an Epox P-133a Mainborad with a WD 20 gig hard drive as master boot drive.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-15-2005, 03:46 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
OS:



Please help,
I currently have an Epox P-133a Mainborad with a WD 20 gig hard drive as master boot drive. I have added a 100 gig hard drive as a secondary primary master drive.
However after getting to the second screen in bios mainboard the system locks, it appears the Bios cannot display beyond 99 gig. It seems there is not another space availabe to display 100 gig.
The mainbord has Normal, LBA, and Large disk support. It also reads every drive on the first bios screen. I have the latest Bios on the mainboardf as well. THe jumpers on my drives are correct as far as I can tell as well.
THe new drive is a Magnetic Data Tech hard drive a Western Digital clone. PLeas any suggestions will be appreciated.
Thank you
eaglbear is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-15-2005, 05:35 AM   #2
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,747
OS:


The Epox P-133a is still quite a bit old. Even with an updated BIOS, it might not be new enough. You still may have problems getting a large drive to show correctly. You best bet would be to get an IDE PCI controller card. This way the BIOS on the controller card will handle any large disks.
crazijoe is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 06:43 AM   #3
mark3567
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
OS:


Hi,

Crazijoe is correct in his assessment. Another issue you might look at is how you have them jumpered and where on the cable. Just as a double check, why not list all drives you have on IDE #1 and IDE #2, and how jumpered and where on the cable. That way, either Crazi or I can take a look a see if everything is set up properly.
 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-15-2005, 06:58 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
OS:



I have got a pci controller card and am curently through disk manager putting the drive online and formatting it.
Thanks Again!!!! Evryone!! So far so good.
eaglbear is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts