Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

M.2. NVMe on MSI B250M Mortar Arctic

This is a discussion on M.2. NVMe on MSI B250M Mortar Arctic within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Good day TSF! I got this ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro M.2. NVMe installed on my MSI B250M Mortar Arctic. The


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-06-2019, 04:57 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
xtechnouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Philippines
Posts: 206
OS: Windows 10 Home - Single Language

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to xtechnouser

Good day TSF!

I got this ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro M.2. NVMe installed on my MSI B250M Mortar Arctic. The current BIOS setting is on ACHI Mode. I only got 1.6 GB/s speed other than the 3.5 GB/s advertised speed. Why is that?
xtechnouser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-06-2019, 06:15 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,191
OS: win 10 Home



Hi, did you install the drivers from here for the motherboard https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/supp...IC#down-driver you might also check the Bios section incase there is a update for it to help with improved compatibilty etc with the new drive.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 11-06-2019, 06:24 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
xtechnouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Philippines
Posts: 206
OS: Windows 10 Home - Single Language

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to xtechnouser

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
Hi, did you install the drivers from here for the motherboard https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/supp...IC#down-driver you might also check the Bios section incase there is a update for it to help with improved compatibilty etc with the new drive.
Yes sir. I installed all necessary drivers for my motherboard. I did not installed Optane Memory Driver for I dont have an Intel Optane Drive.

As to the BIOS, I am using the latest available version. I set the BIOS to ACHI, not RAID.
xtechnouser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2019, 08:18 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
xtechnouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Philippines
Posts: 206
OS: Windows 10 Home - Single Language

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to xtechnouser

Sir, my M.2. NVMe SSD is running around 35-45C on average. Is this okay? I installed an aftermarket NVMe cooler with fan.
xtechnouser is offline  
Old 11-09-2019, 08:53 AM   #5
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,149
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by xtechnouser View Post
As to the BIOS, I am using the latest available version. I set the BIOS to ACHI, not RAID.
AHCI is an operating mode for SATA and it has no effect on your PCIE SSD because it uses NVMe, so it doesn't matter that you've set AHCI in BIOS. Those temps are OK for a PCIE SSD.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 11-10-2019, 07:15 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
xtechnouser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Philippines
Posts: 206
OS: Windows 10 Home - Single Language

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to xtechnouser

On my BIOS setting:

SATA Mode : ACHI (Choices: ACHI / Optane)
M.2/Optane Genie: Off (Choices: On / Off)

Should I turn on the M.2/Optane Genie when only using NVMe? Not Intel Optane Drive?
xtechnouser is offline  
Old 11-10-2019, 10:41 PM   #7
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,149
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by xtechnouser View Post
On my BIOS setting:

SATA Mode : ACHI (Choices: ACHI / Optane)
M.2/Optane Genie: Off (Choices: On / Off)

Should I turn on the M.2/Optane Genie when only using NVMe? Not Intel Optane Drive?
Leave it off because you don't have an Intel Optane memory module installed in the M.2 slot. If you had a non-Intel Optane SATA SSD and an Intel Optane M.2 module, then you would turn on Optane Genie. If you had an Intel Optane SATA SSD, then you would change SATA mode to Optane.
Stancestans is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts