Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Lost a bootable partition/copy of XP.... kind of

This is a discussion on Lost a bootable partition/copy of XP.... kind of within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi ppl, Didn't know where to put this as its software and hardware problem lol. so put it in two


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2008, 03:18 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
OS:


Mistake

Hi ppl,

Didn't know where to put this as its software and hardware problem lol. so put it in two sections... Mods feel free to move/delete if in wrong section.

Right, I have two hard drives currently in my comp, both with XP Home installed. Both ATA. One is 250 gig (primary drive) and one is 40 gig (secondary).

I decided to reformat the 40 gig and install a fresh copy of XP. The install went fine however I have now lost access to boot onto the 250 gig. I can still access it from My Computer on 40 gig, the BIOS still picks it up on startup and its set as Primary Master, although it was set as Primary Slave before the reformat. Before BIOS used to give me the option to choose which drive I wanted to boot, which has now disapeared...

However if I look through msconfig BOOT.INI on the 40 gig thats working, it doesn't seem to pick up the other copy of Windows installed on the 250. Usually would be able to see all copies of Windows but can only see the 40 gig.

Things I have tried so far:
Set 250 and 40 to Primary Master/Slave and vica versa. didn't work
Reset BIOS. didn't work
Unplugged 40 gig but system tells me 'DISK BOOT FAILURE, ENTER SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER'

I am stuck and have no idea what to do... Any ideas?

TIA
limz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-21-2008, 03:23 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19,585
OS: none



are both xp installs from the same disk using the same key? If so, then you will have to get rid of one since according to microsofts eula, you can only have one install of xp using the same key at a time.

If you are legal with two different xp installs then you will have to fix the boot.ini. See the following from microsoft

https://support.microsoft.com/kb/289022
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline  
Old 08-21-2008, 03:27 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
OS:



Yes both using the same disk although it didn't ask me for a key when installing (it is a real XP disc)

Thanks for the prompt reply I have been pulling my hair out for the last hour!
limz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-21-2008, 03:48 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
OS:



Ok went to the link you put up (thanks again) however when I am in the cmd window i get an error messege when I type bootcfg /? it says: 'bootcfg is not recognized as an internal or external command,operable program or bach file'

Suggestions?
limz is offline  
Old 08-22-2008, 04:51 AM   #5
Troubled
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,394
OS: Windows 7 Enterprise 64 bit

My System


Download EasyBCD and enter a new boot entry. That will allow you to boot in either.
FreoHeaveho is offline  
Old 08-22-2008, 09:02 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
kev1952's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Townsville, Australia
Posts: 1,036
OS: Win Vista Home Premium



Quote:
Originally Posted by limz View Post
Ok went to the link you put up (thanks again) however when I am in the cmd window i get an error messege when I type bootcfg /? it says: 'bootcfg is not recognized as an internal or external command,operable program or bach file'

Suggestions?
Yep! The "bootcfg.exe" file is only shipped with XP Pro (not Home as you have). All you have to be able to do is access the "boot.ini" file which resides in the root directory of your boot partition. It's a simple text file that can be edited in Notepad (or even the DOS equivalent (EDIT)).

In your case I would suggest following Bigfella's suggestion and use EasyBCD from here.
kev1952 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts