Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Kingston SSD not booting

This is a discussion on Kingston SSD not booting within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello friends, I have been using my PC with a Kingston SSD 480GB as main drive on win7 with others


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-03-2018, 09:58 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 13
OS:



Hello friends, I have been using my PC with a Kingston SSD 480GB as main drive on win7 with others HDD as secondary in ahci mode. I unplugged one HDD to take apart and at my next reboot it appears black screen with the message "Reboot and Select Proper Boot Device"...

Reboot, arrage boot list at BIOS, reboot, same message.

Unplugged the pc, clear cmos memory, reboot, same message.

The ssd is present at BIOS boot list, same for others HDD and DVD drive.

Windows doesn't boot anymore from the SSD.

Any help?
Mother ASUS P8H77-V , Intel Core I7

Thanks!
omeride is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-03-2018, 11:39 PM   #2
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,137
OS: Windows 10



Hi. Welcome to TSF. Press F8 to load the boot (device selection) menu. Does it list the SSD? if it does, select it and press Enter to boot from it.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 08-04-2018, 11:26 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 13
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
Hi. Welcome to TSF. Press F8 to load the boot (device selection) menu. Does it list the SSD? if it does, select it and press Enter to boot from it.
thanks for your reply, yes, of course, it lists at Boot selection list, once selected the SSD drive it just shows the same "Reboot and Select Proper Boot Device" message!


This is why I'm asking for help, Thanks!
omeride is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-04-2018, 12:34 PM   #4
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,137
OS: Windows 10



Boot from a Windows 7 or higher installation media, select the language and correct keyboard layout if need be then click Next. At the bottom-left, click Repair, then attempt automatic startup repair first. Let us know what result it brings.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 08-04-2018, 01:43 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 13
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
Boot from a Windows 7 or higher installation media, select the language and correct keyboard layout if need be then click Next. At the bottom-left, click Repair, then attempt automatic startup repair first. Let us know what result it brings.
Great advice! but haven't any Win 7 installer media in hand
Is there any other maybe usb bootable option for that?
omeride is offline  
Old 08-04-2018, 07:36 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 13
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
Boot from a Windows 7 or higher installation media, select the language and correct keyboard layout if need be then click Next. At the bottom-left, click Repair, then attempt automatic startup repair first. Let us know what result it brings.
Found a win7 installation media, run command prompt and tryed with bootrec.exe/fixmbr and it worked but not the fixboot just "Element not found" message. Rebuild BCD identified 1 Windows installation (same with scanons) but when I tryed to add to boot list "Element not found" message showed up.

Run a chkdsk /f and/r and worked fine but at the end got "Failed to transfer logged messages to the event log with status 50" message in both process (no idea).

windows installation was recognized but it didn't seem to work.

tryed to change sata cables but not worked.

Bios SATA config is AHCI, should I change it?

any other option?
omeride is offline  
Old 08-04-2018, 07:56 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,547
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
Kingston SSD 480GB as main drive on win7 with others HDD as secondary in ahci mode
How did you install Windows 7 in the first place?
Boot into Setup (Bios) and confirm that the Hard Drive Mode is still set to AHCI.
Go to the Security Tab, If Secure Boot or Fast Boot is enabled, Disable it.
If UEFI Bios is enabled add Legacy or CSM.
If you have a Windows 7 product key, you can Download Windows 7 ISO here https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...nload/windows7
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 08-04-2018, 09:39 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 13
OS:


Laugh

Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
How did you install Windows 7 in the first place?
Boot into Setup (Bios) and confirm that the Hard Drive Mode is still set to AHCI.
Go to the Security Tab, If Secure Boot or Fast Boot is enabled, Disable it.
If UEFI Bios is enabled add Legacy or CSM.
If you have a Windows 7 product key, you can Download Windows 7 ISO here https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...nload/windows7
Thanks for your message. Disabled Fast Boot, Still as AHCI mode. CSM device control option selected _ UEFI and Legacy

It still doesn't work.

I didn't install this at first place but find a win7 media.

btw I plugged the SSD SATA via usb to another pc and it loads perfect and I have access to all files and folders.

Any other suggestion?

Thanks!
omeride is offline  
Old 08-04-2018, 10:21 PM   #9
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,137
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by omeride View Post
Thanks for your message. Disabled Fast Boot, Still as AHCI mode. CSM device control option selected _ UEFI and Legacy

It still doesn't work.

I didn't install this at first place but find a win7 media.

btw I plugged the SSD SATA via usb to another pc and it loads perfect and I have access to all files and folders.

Any other suggestion?

Thanks!
Reinstall the SSD back inside the pc, and disconnect ANY other disk (internal or external) so that the ssd is the only one, then boot off the Windows 7 media, open Command Prompt and run the following commands:


DISKPART


LIST DISK


SELECT DISK 0


LIST PARTITION


Post a screenshot of the listed partitions, and then run


LIST VOLUME


Post a screenshot of the listed volumes.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 08-05-2018, 02:53 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,547
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


To add to what is said, The Data cable that leaves the SSD, Which SATA port is being used on the motherboard for the data cable? Boot into Setup (Bios) go to SATA port configuration and make sure the SATA port is Enabled in the Bios. Under System Information, the SSD drive should be listed. Go to the Boot tab and Move the SSD drive to First Boot Device. Save and Exit.
If you still have problems follow Stancestans suggestions.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 08-05-2018, 07:47 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 13
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
Reinstall the SSD back inside the pc, and disconnect ANY other disk (internal or external) so that the ssd is the only one, then boot off the Windows 7 media, open Command Prompt and run the following commands:


DISKPART


LIST DISK


SELECT DISK 0


LIST PARTITION


Post a screenshot of the listed partitions, and then run


LIST VOLUME


Post a screenshot of the listed volumes.
Thanks for your message, done Diskpart, listed volumes and then selected partition 1 and make active.

After that restarted ("bootmgr is missing" message at startup) restarted again and got to command prompt to run a bootrec fixmbr/fixboot and all went fine, now doing chkdsk again just in case, let's see what happens.


Image can't load, sorry
omeride is offline  
Old 08-05-2018, 08:51 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 13
OS:



well the "bootmgr is missing press ctrl+alt+del to restart" message appears again.

Can't post any pictures, any image hosting to upload them?

Windows startup repair does recognize the windows 7 installation but can't repair it...
omeride is offline  
Old 08-06-2018, 12:32 AM   #13
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,137
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by omeride View Post
well the "bootmgr is missing press ctrl+alt+del to restart" message appears again.

Can't post any pictures, any image hosting to upload them?

Windows startup repair does recognize the windows 7 installation but can't repair it...
You can post the image on imgur.com and post its url/link here. Is partition 1 the one containing the Windows installation that doesn't boot, or is it a much smaller one?
Stancestans is offline  
Old 08-06-2018, 05:21 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 13
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
You can post the image on imgur.com and post its url/link here. Is partition 1 the one containing the Windows installation that doesn't boot, or is it a much smaller one?

Done Diskpart, note the Primary SSD 447GB as partition 1


After a restart with Partition 1 selected as Active, Windows Startup Repair recognized the win7 install.

[IMG][/IMG]

But then this message appears.

[IMG][/IMG]

Finally after restarting again:

[IMG][/IMG]

omeride is offline  
Old 08-06-2018, 05:46 AM   #15
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,137
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by omeride View Post
But then this message appears.

[IMG][/IMG]
As you can see, the Windows media you are using doesn't not contain the same version of Windows as the one installed on the SSD. You need 64-bit media for 64-bit installation and 32-bit media for 32-bit installation. It seems the media you are using is 32-bit while the installation is 64-bit. 32-bit system recovery utilities will not work on a 64-bit installation. You may be able to use installation media of a higher version of Windows to repair your Windows 7 installation. You can download 64-bit Windows 10 iso image from here, burn it to a dvd disc or 8GB flash disk using Rufus and boot from it.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 08-06-2018, 05:49 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 13
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
As you can see, the Windows media you are using doesn't not contain the same version of Windows as the one installed on the SSD. You need 64-bit media for 64-bit installation and 32-bit media for 32-bit installation. It seems the media you are using is 32-bit while the installation is 64-bit. 32-bit system recovery utilities will not work on a 64-bit installation. You may be able to use installation media of a higher version of Windows to repair your Windows 7 installation. You can download 64-bit Windows 10 iso image from here, burn it to a dvd disc or 8GB flash disk using Rufus and boot from it.
That sounds strange, but its the same media as the installed!
omeride is offline  
Old 08-06-2018, 06:13 AM   #17
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,137
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by omeride View Post
That sounds strange, but its the same media as the installed!
No it isn't. There is no mistaking that error message. They may be both Windows 7, but of different architecture (32-bit or 64-bit). Compatibility cannot be forced, it is what it is, and I'm guessing the startup repair is attempting to run the same utilities that I have in mind, so it's a dead end with that media. Anyways, the command I have in mind is BCDBOOT, and you execute it (at your own risk) as follows:


Code:
BCDBOOT C:\Windows /s C: /v /f BIOS

where C: is the volume letter of partition 1 and also the partition containing the non-booting installation of Windows 7. If the command completes successfully, run BCDEDIT and post the output here, then reboot and try booting from the SSD.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 08-06-2018, 06:19 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 13
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
No it isn't. There is no mistaking that error message. They may be both Windows 7, but of different architecture (32-bit or 64-bit). Compatibility cannot be forced, it is what it is, and I'm guessing the startup repair is attempting to run the same utilities that I have in mind, so it's a dead end with that media. Anyways, the command I have in mind is BCDBOOT, and you execute it (at your own risk) as follows:


Code:
BCDBOOT C:\Windows /s C: /v /f BIOS

where C: is the volume letter of partition 1 and also the partition containing the non-booting installation of Windows 7. If the command completes successfully, run BCDEDIT and post the output here, then reboot and try booting from the SSD.
It's the one and only media available so its the same media as installed. What kind of Compatibility am I trying to force to?

What do you mean with "same utilities that I have in mind"?

I'm not an expert here, just asking for help from you and Google, let me know which risk are involved in BCDBOOT, please.

Thanks!
omeride is offline  
Old 08-06-2018, 06:44 AM   #19
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,137
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by omeride View Post
It's the one and only media available so its the same media as installed. What kind of Compatibility am I trying to force to?

What do you mean with "same utilities that I have in mind"?

I'm not an expert here, just asking for help from you and Google, let me know which risk are involved in BCDBOOT, please.

Thanks!
The Windows media you are using, the one you "found" is not compatible with the version of Windows 7 that you're trying to repair. The utilities I'm referring to are the programs that are contained in the media you're using (the one you found), such as BCDBOOT, FIXBOOT, FIXMBR, DiskPart and so on. I have no idea where that media came from, but it's illogical to assume that it is the same version of Windows as the one on the SSD just because it's the only one you've found, especially since you do not know how Windows was installed in the first place.

By "same utilities i have in mind", I mean't the programs that automatic startup repair will try to use to repair your non-booting installation. Startup repair uses a bunch of utilities and processes to try and fix the booting problem.

By insisting that the media is (compatible) of the same Windows version as the installation on the SSD, and trying to use it even though the recovery environment itself says it isn't compatible, that would be trying to force compatibility, and things can go from bad to worse if you decide against wise judgement to run incompatible utilities. Does that sound risky?

I know you are no expert, hence the reason why you need to heed advice from more experienced people. May I suggest exclusively following the advice offered here and not from multiple other sources (via Google) because we have no idea what else you're trying from other sources, plus you may end up getting incorrect information and damaging the installation beyond recovery. If we somehow fail to resolve your problem satisfactorily, then you will be free to seek help from wherever you like.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 08-06-2018, 06:53 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 13
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
The Windows media you are using, the one you "found" is not compatible with the version of Windows 7 that you're trying to repair. The utilities I'm referring to are the programs that are contained in the media you're using (the one you found), such as BCDBOOT, FIXBOOT, FIXMBR, DiskPart and so on. I have no idea where that media came from, but it's illogical to assume that it is the same version of Windows as the one on the SSD just because it's the only one you've found, especially since you do not know how Windows was installed in the first place.

By "same utilities i have in mind", I mean't the programs that automatic startup repair will try to use to repair your non-booting installation. Startup repair uses a bunch of utilities and processes to try and fix the booting problem.

By insisting that the media is (compatible) of the same Windows version as the installation on the SSD, and trying to use it even though the recovery environment itself says it isn't compatible, that would be trying to force compatibility, and things can go from bad to worse if you decide against wise judgement to run incompatible utilities. Does that sound risky?

I know you are no expert, hence the reason why you need to heed advice from more experienced people. May I suggest exclusively following the advice offered here and not from multiple other sources (via Google) because we have no idea what else you're trying from other sources, plus you may end up getting incorrect information and damaging the installation beyond recovery. If we somehow fail to resolve your problem satisfactorily, then you will be free to seek help from wherever you like.
I search for information and seek help from many sources and there is nothing wrong with that. I will follow what I think I should do according to my situation like the win 7 media is the same as installed and its a matter of fact.

If you can't understand my situation, well there isn't any help left here.

Thanks anyway
omeride is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Booting from an SSD
So my OS is currently on my internal drive. I was told by keeping the OS on an SSD it would totally boot up quicker. My question is how would I move my OS from my internal drive to an SSD???
Baldie559 Hard Drive Support 6 08-17-2015 03:59 PM
[SOLVED] Booting from SSD cloned from boot disk
I have a Win 7 x64 SP1 Acer Aspire G3600 system w/1.5 TB boot hard drive. It has the boot drive (C:), the System reserved partition, and the restore partition on it. I copied the C:\ partition and the System Reserved partition to a 64 GB SSD using EASEUS partition Master 4.1.1 Professional. ...
davideo83 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 7 06-08-2011 06:44 PM
[SOLVED] CHKDSK /R on Kingston SSD Causes BSOD
I just installed a Kingston 128GB VNow SSD in my brand new Thinkpad Edge 15 running Win7Pro 64-bit. Install went without a hitch. After installing the O/S I used Disk Manager in Windows to partition it into C: and D: drives. Here's the issue: I found that I cannot do an image backup of my C:...
consultant1027 Hard Drive Support 8 01-22-2011 06:10 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts