Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Is my new SSD dead on arrival?

This is a discussion on Is my new SSD dead on arrival? within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So my new SSD arrived today. I hooked it up to an external enclosure via USB ready to clone the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-04-2018, 08:32 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 16
OS: Win 7



So my new SSD arrived today.

I hooked it up to an external enclosure via USB ready to clone the old SSD over. The problem is the drive isn't showing up...

Not under my computer, or device manager.

I've tried a couple of USB ports, and even another HDD in the enclosure to see if it works so that doesn't seem to be the problem.

Any other suggestions what this could be?
Thanks!
kingbhoy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-04-2018, 09:24 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 16
OS: Win 7



Edit: the new SSD does show up under CMD diskpart as being online
kingbhoy is offline  
Old 05-04-2018, 11:05 AM   #3
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,019
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Waiting for your command: https://ss64.com/nt/diskpart.html
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-05-2018, 11:09 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,548
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


You must Initialize the drive. You can do this in Diskpart or you can go to Search type diskmgmt.msc and press enter. In the Disk Management window If you have a new SSD, it should automatically start the New Disk Wizard and ask to Initialize, Probably MBR. It depends on what the old drive is Initialized as, GPT or MB
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard & SSD incompatible / Motherboard failing?
Hi :) Firstly, apologies if this is in the wrong forum, my symptoms are Windows 7 related, but I wanted to see if my hunch was right and whether I've been an idiot and bought something that's not compatible, or perhaps showing symptoms that my motherboard is on the fritz. I decided to get an...
Drained Motherboards, Bios & CPU 13 06-22-2015 03:56 PM
SSD very Slow after Sleep Mode
Hi, I just installed a brand new Samsung 256GB EVO Pro SSD into a system and installed on the drive is Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit. (8GB of RAM - Desktop PC) The system is running smoothly, however, when the PC enters sleep mode things change. It enters sleep mode just fine, but when resuming...
Masterchiefxx17 Windows 8, 8.1 Support 13 03-24-2015 01:01 AM
Dead SSD - tvs diode fix help
I used the wrong modular cables and I friedd my seagate 2 tb hardrive and my corsair ls force 120gb ssd. Anyways using the tvs fix I was able to revive my Seagate and am now working on my ssd. here is an image...
Zontor84 Hard Drive Support 1 03-11-2015 01:44 AM
Solid State Drive (SSD) Not Detected After Failed Windows 7 Install
Hello Brain Trust, I recently purchased a Mushkin Chronos Deluxe SSD, 240GB. Upon installing the drive - making sure that my SATA ports were set to AHCI in the BIOS - both the BIOS and the Windows 7 Ultimate setup disk (via bootable USB) recognized the drive. However, just after the...
Thirdeye462 Hard Drive Support 11 01-28-2013 02:25 PM
Windows 7 error on boot after install to SSD
I have been trying to install Windows 7 Ultimate on an SSD I have and am having difficulties after the install. The SSD is a 100 GB Samsung 'mccoe1hg5mxp-0vbd3' or also named 'SS805'. This SSD was introduced in 2009. I believe that it was first installed in a server but now I have it in a desktop...
mr_noshot Hard Drive Support 1 11-16-2011 09:46 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts