Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Installing new hdd on a Dell

This is a discussion on Installing new hdd on a Dell within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Four years ago I bought a re-furbished OptiPlex 760 from Dell for my daughter. I upgraded it to Windows 10


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-30-2018, 11:56 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tampa Bay Area
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 10 V1709


Confused

Four years ago I bought a re-furbished OptiPlex 760 from Dell for my daughter. I upgraded it to Windows 10 last year and it worked quit well up until late March when the old hard drive (1Tb) died. I bought a new Seagate just like the one that died and haven't been able to get it working ever since. In researching the history of the machine, at time of manufacture it had Windows XP Pro 64Bit installed. But, before it left the warehouse, it was upgraded to Vista Business OEM. When it came back to Dell, it was upgraded to Windows 7 Pro 64bit. Windows 10 & 7 Pro 64bit cannot format the hard drive. I keep getting an I/O error. Windows XP Home 32bit can format the drive but tells me it can't install. I think the only way that I'm going to be able to get this machine back up is to get a Windows XP Pro 64bit ISO and a Vista 64bit Pro ISO and make bootable USB drives to re-create the original environment. So that said, where can I obtain the needed ISO files and are there special USB installation files needed.
By the way, I tried using WinPE ADK and got into Disk Part, but, Disk Part cannot Clean the HDD or partitions. And by the way, Dell longer supports the Operating System for the OptiPlex 760.
Any suggestions? HELP:
familygeek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-30-2018, 04:19 PM   #2
Game Team Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: warwickshire, UK
Posts: 932
OS: windows 10 Pro 64bit



normally to install windows 10 you would need to download the Iso. and burn using imgburn and boot from the cd/dvd drive.

after loading the ISO click on advanced options and clean install the next section you should be able to partition and format the hard drive.

If you have changed the partition other than ntfs it will not work you need to use diskpart to clean the disk and change the partition to nfts.

If not windows can't install on it.
__________________
steve32mids is offline  
Old 05-31-2018, 01:44 AM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,523
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
Disk Part, but, Disk Part cannot Clean the HDD or partitions...... Windows 10 & 7 Pro 64bit cannot format the hard drive. I keep getting an I/O error.
An I/O error means Input/Output error, meaning, the HDD has an issue.Or the SATA cable or SATA port hs an issue, try changing the cables or It probably has too many bad sectors.
You can remove the HDD from the computer and attach it via a USB Adapter, Dock or Enclosure. Find out what drive letter the HDD is now that it is external. Start an Elevated Command Prompt and type the drive letter of the HDD (ie) G: and press enter (ie) G:\> at this prompt type chkdsk /R and press enter. Then type a Y for Yes to Unmount the drive. Check Disk will go thru 5 stages and it will take a long while. If it freezes at one spot for hours or takes overnight or longer, then the HDD needs to be replaced
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-06-2018, 09:17 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tampa Bay Area
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 10 V1709



I took your advice and hooked the new hdd to my computer via usb and ran chkdsk as admin. It found no problems of any kind with the hdd. Also checked sata cables & ports and didn't find any problems. I've tried to format the hdd with win 10, Win 7, Win Vista, and even Win XP. No success. Win XP will run format all the way to the end and then tell me that it can't install. Any more ideas? Dell does not support the operating system for the OptiPlex 760 anymore, and the drivers (Dell) aren't recognized by the machine. It will only accept a signed driver.??
Anymore suggestions?
familygeek is offline  
Old 06-06-2018, 12:57 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,523
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Put the HDD back in the computer Boot off of the Windows installer, Windows 10 or 7.
Choose your Language. Choose Custom Install. In Drive Options or Where it says to install Windows, Delete ALL partitions, so the drive is all Unallocated Space, now go Next. Windows will automatically create partitions and format them during the install. You do not need to partition or format, let Windows do it.
If this fails, then possibly one of the RAM modules are bad. Remove all but one, swap them around, change the slot they are in etc.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 06-17-2018, 12:34 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tampa Bay Area
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 10 V1709



I appreciate all your suggestions, and I have tried them all, but I'm still batting 000. I've run all the onboard Dell diagnostics and everything seems to come up PASS. I even tried testing the SATA cables today and they test good. I have taken the new hard drive out and hooked it to a win 7 laptop via usb and I can access the drive, make a primary active partition (the whole 2Tb) and even format the drive to NTFS. Put it back into the Dell and try to install Win 7x64 Pro (Licensed) and it will run for a period of time and tell me that it can't install, or (format). I've been fixing computers for twenty three years, and this is the first one I have ever had a problem with. HELP???
familygeek is offline  
Old 06-17-2018, 12:51 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,523
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Did you follow the suggestions in post #6? (ie) Don't create a partition, Don't format it. In the troubled computer, boot off of the Windows installer Delete ALL partitions so the drive is totally Unallocated Space, and go Next Windows will automatically create partitions and Format them. If that fails, then you have an issue with the RAM.
Remove all but one module of RAM, download Memtest burn it to a CD with IMGBurn or a USB Flash drive. Boot off of media and run the test for at least 7 passes each on each module separately. If you get any errors, that module is bad and needs to be replaced.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 06-18-2018, 02:00 AM   #8
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,308
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Quote:
Originally Posted by familygeek View Post
I appreciate all your suggestions, and I have tried them all, but I'm still batting 000. I've run all the onboard Dell diagnostics and everything seems to come up PASS. I even tried testing the SATA cables today and they test good. I have taken the new hard drive out and hooked it to a win 7 laptop via usb and I can access the drive, make a primary active partition (the whole 2Tb) and even format the drive to NTFS. Put it back into the Dell and try to install Win 7x64 Pro (Licensed) and it will run for a period of time and tell me that it can't install, or (format). I've been fixing computers for twenty three years, and this is the first one I have ever had a problem with. HELP???
I think I found a clue.....In your first post you say it's a Dell desktop with a 1TB drive that died and replaced it with a Seagate of same size. Assuming you mean a 1TB HDD.

Then in this post you say a 2TB HDD......and the red light goes off. Your Dell may have a size limitation of up to a 1TB HDD.
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 06-18-2018, 02:02 AM   #9
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,308
OS: Windows 10 Pro



I would need the system specs to confirm this. You could go to Dell's website and input the service tag number to bring your exact model.
Drivers & Downloads | Dell US



Also, since this in an old Dell there may not be any driver support for windows 10.
https://www.dell.com/downloads/emea/...c_Sheet_en.pdf
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 06-18-2018, 06:17 AM   #10
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Depending on the actual pc age I think BassFisher is correct and you could prove it by partitioning the drive into 2 partitions on another pc and then try the install.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 06-18-2018, 05:06 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tampa Bay Area
Posts: 4
OS: Windows 10 V1709


Mistake

Oops, I guess I made a typo error. It is in fact a 1 Tb drive. What I took out was a 1 Tb Seagate Barracuda, and that's what I'm trying to put back in. Sorry I mislead you, but, I'll be the first one to say, I'M NOT PERFECT. I'm human and therefore prone to make a mistake once in a while.
familygeek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a second hdd
I want to install a second hdd on my pc but the problem is that I don t have a data cable for it , I checked the motherboard before buying the hdd and it seems that I can connect a power cable to it but has no data cable ... I used to have ATA devices and those had one cable (both data and power)...
mpq Hard Drive Support 2 01-22-2015 03:06 PM
Installing Windows 7 on Dell Poweredge 800 (Server)
I recently came into possession of an old Dell Poweredge 800 and I would like to turn it into a desktop by installing windows 7. The computer has a 64GB SATA SSD which I would like to install the OS on, this is not setup in RAID, and a 500GB hard drive for storage. The computer also has a fairly...
ChesterPapineau Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 1 02-06-2012 05:18 PM
[SOLVED] Installing XP Pro to a Dell laptop...
Hello, I am trying to install XP Pro to a Dell laptop. For some reason, it will not accept the product key off the back of the laptop. The XP Pro disc that I am using is NOT a Dell one, but should this matter? I am basically stripping all of the Dell software off of the laptop and...
al_dubley Windows XP Support 13 01-31-2012 07:21 AM
Dell 9400 GPU problem and HDD
Hello, I am trying to help a friend with an issue related to Dell 9400. The graphic card just stopped working and I cant do anything with the computer. His biggest worries is that he need his outlook files and I want to copy the files from his pc. Since I cant see anything on his computer,...
Pjfadeqq Laptop Support 1 07-18-2011 07:28 PM
Installing Windows 7 On a Fresh HDD
I ordered a brand new HDD because my old one was corrupt. So, I connect it while the power is off, turn it on and put in the W7 Ultimate disc. I recognizes my 1TB HDD and I click Custom (Advanced) and try to install a fresh copy of Windows 7. It feels like everything is going okay but it doesn't...
Bdzer103 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 22 02-23-2011 06:16 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts