Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Install Win7 from Recovery USB Drive on VisionTek M.2 NVMe Drive on Dell Precision

This is a discussion on Install Win7 from Recovery USB Drive on VisionTek M.2 NVMe Drive on Dell Precision within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Scenario: Dell Precision 5510 Laptop that stopped booting to Win and ChkDsk unable to resolve corrupted system volume at Recovery

Closed Thread

Old 01-09-2018, 10:54 AM   #1
Registered Member

EEK!

Scenario:

Dell Precision 5510 Laptop that stopped booting to Win and ChkDsk unable to resolve corrupted system volume at Recovery Command Prompt. Purchased new M.2 NVMe Visiontek drive from Dell and also a recovery usb drive for the original Win7 Pro OS.

I have NO experience or knowledge of M.2 drives and especially the nature of the NVMe drives. Thus, I've spent hours upon hours attempting to learn how to install Win7 to this new drive.

VisionTek doesn't offer any drivers on its website and doesn't even list any M.2 NVMe drives as current products and they don't appear in the support or FAQ area either.

I have attempted to follow BiOS setting procedures from Dell's website support article

"RAID On" enabled in BIOS.
"UEFI Boot with Legacy Option ROM enabled" in BIOS.

Still no luck. I can provide pics of BIOS options if this helps.

Can anyone point me in the right direction with installing Win7 onto a NEW M.2 NVMe drive using a recovery usb drive? Would there be any difference in making this happen if I purchased a Win10 Pro installation?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-09-2018, 12:48 PM   #2
Registered Member

Update: Visiontek confirmed no drivers are necessary / available. Must be a BIOS settings issue.
Old 01-09-2018, 01:01 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus

My System

That's right, no drivers are required. What Windows 7 installer do you have? DVD or USB Flash Drive?