Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

How to convert External Simpletech to Internal HDD (Desktop W7)?

This is a discussion on How to convert External Simpletech to Internal HDD (Desktop W7)? within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Rig: z68 1155 socket motherboard (yet to order) lian li pc-9f i5-2500k intel 320 SSD W7x64 Corsair TX750 8GB G.Skill


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-30-2011, 01:04 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
OS: W7x64SP1



Rig:
z68 1155 socket motherboard (yet to order)
lian li pc-9f
i5-2500k
intel 320 SSD
W7x64
Corsair TX750
8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3


I'm building my first custom RIG.. extremely bad timing with HDD $ increase so I'm not buying one until spring.

I have an Intel 320 120 GB SSD to use for OS/Programs.. but I'm SOL for my data drive..

Turns out I have a Simpletech Pininfarina 120GB that I use for backup and just found out I could use it as my internal data drive until the HDD prices come back down to $50.

I found a thread in here that answered one part of the question - that I can do it, but this is my first custom RIG so I just have a couple questions..

1) Is there a method to the madness of cracking open a Simpletech Pininfarina.

2) Will it be designed for a laptop or desktop? If so, will I need to convert it to Sata right? And how would I do that?

3) Will I need to buy a mounting bracket?

4) How fast and what technology is my Simpletech Pininfarina compared to the 7200 RPM HDD Seagates I was looking at?

Any tips are really appreciated. Nice looking forum btw

Quote:
Originally Posted by raptor_pa View Post
The simpletechs I've seen have Seagates as an internal drive. Open it up pop it in and it will probably be more stable, you'll eliminate the whole USB translation. Using USB for drive access is onften the root of the problem, particularly if you ar3 using it for on-line storage rather than archiving and backup
-This is from 2009 in this forum
jamor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-30-2011, 05:22 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,959
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



Looks like a 2.5" drive which is a laptop sized drive. Getting these cases open is usually a matter of using a thin screwdriver to pry the plastic case open. If there are screws hold it together that would make it easier to open. You'll need a special bracket unless your case has a spot for a 2.5" drive which it may.

It's probably a 5400 RPM drive but you can check the label when you open the case. Chances are it's SATA so you should be able to plug it right into the motherboard with a data and power cable.
JMPC is offline  
Old 12-01-2011, 01:44 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
OS: W7x64SP1



It worked thanks!

I opened it up and it's a Western Digital Scorpio Blue WD1200BEVS 120GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s Internal Notebook Hard Drive -Bare Drive.

This should hold me over as my primary HDD until prices come down. The only thing disconcerting is the 1.5 GB/s but I truthfully don't know how much worse it is than 3.0 GB/s??

Newegg.com - Western Digital Scorpio Blue WD1200BEVS 120GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s Internal Notebook Hard Drive -Bare Drive

This bracket should do the trick right? 4.99 free shipping.

Newegg.com - BYTECC Bracket-35225 2.5 Inch HDD/SSD Mounting Kit For 3.5" Drive Bay or Enclosure
jamor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-01-2011, 06:26 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,959
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



Yes, that should work to allow you to mount the drive in a 3.5" HD bay.

How do the drives mount in your case? Do they use rails? You might want to make sure those will work with that adapter.
JMPC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cant access info on external hdd
Hi, i have an external hdd which i use for my xbox 360 and is in FAT32. it is 1tb and the brand is iomega. so yesterday, i plugged it into my 360 and it didnt recognize the hdd. after several attempts i plugged my hdd into my pc to see if it was ok. the pop up- didnt appear so i looked in my...
khornedaemon Hard Drive Support 5 02-17-2011 10:08 AM
Lag in Dragon Age: Origins
I have Dragon Age: Origins Ultimate Edition for the PC. My PC surpasses the minimum requirements for the game and it runs really well for about an hour until it begins to get really sluggish. Around this point the loading times will increase and the frame rate will drop. What would cause that? ...
AndyJP PC Gaming Support 9 01-30-2011 06:47 AM
RAM memory in BIOS
Hello When im trying to clock my RAM memory in BIOS its all gray. Any suggestions? "BIOS-Version and -date. American Megatrends Inc. 3.24, 2005-08-11" And installed RAM is only 512
Abfe Overclocking 6 01-27-2011 12:33 PM
Hdd dead or yet ?
PLEASE take some time to read the following. It took me alot of time to write it so I can describe everything that happened in detail so u would not need to know anything more and hopefully will be able to help me :( What happened: Couple of years ago I was carrying my laptop when I...
Metalloid Hard Drive Support 10 01-23-2011 08:28 AM
No Sound Problem !!!
I have problem with no sound on my PC. It began after restarting. When I go to Device manager > Sound , video and game controllers I see yellow warning sign and when click on it ___Windows cannot load the device driver for this hardware. The driver may be corrupted or missing. (Code 39)___...
damjanes Driver Support 8 01-21-2011 04:32 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts