Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Help with internal hard drive!

This is a discussion on Help with internal hard drive! within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello everyone, I just bought a 2TB Western Digital Caviar Black hard drive for my desktop. What I want to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-09-2011, 06:13 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit



Hello everyone, I just bought a 2TB Western Digital Caviar Black hard drive for my desktop. What I want to do is run it alongside my current hard drive, so I can dramatically increase my storage space. I need to make sure I know what to do before I attempt this though which is why I'm here! :)

My current drive is a Seagate 250GB SATA 7200RPM 16MB HDD. My motherboard has quite a few different ports for multiple hard drives, and I have four slots with the black side clips for hard drives in my case. I only own one SATA data cable, so I had to order another one off of Amazon, so I am currently waiting on that. I also have a very long cable coming out of my power supply with multiple SATA power connectors along it. Once I get my data cord, if I just plug one of the power connectors into my new drive and the data cable from my drive into my motherboard, am I all set, or is there something I need to be aware of to get this hard drive to work? Thank you very much!

-Eric
MoonDawg92 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-09-2011, 06:31 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 5,959
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



Just plug in the data cable and the power connector and turn on the machine. Windows should detect the drive automatically when you log in. Then you need to go to Disk Management and initialize, partition and format the drive.
JMPC is offline  
Old 06-09-2011, 08:13 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit



Seems simple enough. Can I reach Disk Management through Device Manager?
MoonDawg92 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-09-2011, 08:25 PM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



no in the control panel click on admin tools

click on computer management

then look on the left



dai is offline  
Old 06-10-2011, 03:37 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 832
OS: Win98SE



Some older motherboards (eg those with VIA chipsets) are limited to SATA-1. If you have one of these, then you may need to jumper your drive for 1.5Gbps.
fzabkar is offline  
Old 06-10-2011, 06:14 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by fzabkar View Post
Some older motherboards (eg those with VIA chipsets) are limited to SATA-1. If you have one of these, then you may need to jumper your drive for 1.5Gbps.
My motherboard is an ASUS X58 Motherboard P6T Deluxe. I got it a few years ago, so I think it should be okay.
MoonDawg92 is offline  
Old 06-28-2012, 11:05 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
OS: window vista



this question may sound dumb to some people but I need to know how to initialize,partion the new internal hard drive?
speedy2 is offline  
Old 06-29-2012, 02:25 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,644
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
I need to know how to initialize,partion the new internal hard drive?
Quote:
no in the control panel click on admin tools
click on computer management
then look on the left
As dai said, go to Start/Search and type diskmgmt.msc Right click the diskmgmt icon in the search results and Run As Administrator.
In Disk Management a new disk will automatically trigger the New Hardware Wizard and just follow the steps. If not, then on the left panel you will see the disk # (Disk 1, Disk 2 etc) right click that and choose Initialize the drive. Once it is initialized, you can right click the Unallocated Space to the right and choose to create a New Simple Volume and Format it NTFS.
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
internal hard drive failing
I have a Dell Dimensions that was given to me and it has a 20GB Maxtor Hard Drive in it and is running Windows XP Home Edition. To make a very long story shorter I believe that the hard drive is failing on it since I was having real problems with it and was unable to access Windows at all. I was...
lmhjcr Hard Drive Support 8 06-04-2011 12:18 PM
Hard drive problem
I have a Sata - Western Digital 280GB Hard drive. Had the tower from stock for about 4 years. Had problems with the hard drive for about 4 months now. Just on boot, I power up the machine and the pc fails to pick up the Hard drive. It will work eventually after numerous reboots it will...
IT-Barry Hard Drive Support 4 05-07-2011 05:37 PM
New SATA hard drive makes computer crash on boot
hi everyone i apologize for having to bother everyone again, but i am yet again stuck in fixing one of my friends computers. so there is this desktop computer and apparently this is the third time this kind of issue happened. The computer would work completly fine but then all of a sudden one...
jasonlee91 Hard Drive Support 5 04-21-2011 10:23 AM
Want to Build a New Intel or AMD System / Revised 2012 and updated regularly
https://i.imgur.com/puBh9u1.png https://i.imgur.com/TTntwDe.pngPlease note that this post is out of date! Please review our newest and always up-to-date thread here: https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f255/tsf-hardware-teams-recommended-builds-2013-a-668661.html
linderman Building 1 01-11-2010 05:08 AM
How to copy your operating system from one drive to another.
Please do not post in this thread. I am rewriting an article. thanks. How to copy your operating system from one hard drive to another Published by JohnthePilot 11-28-2006 How to copy your operating system from one hard drive to another ________________________________________ How to...
JohnthePilot Dead-Sea Scrolls 2 03-05-2007 11:47 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts