Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Help with ddrescue

This is a discussion on Help with ddrescue within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I am pretty much a noob when it comes to linux, but i can use my brain, so I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-08-2018, 01:49 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
OS:



Hello,

I am pretty much a noob when it comes to linux, but i can use my brain, so I try.

So, I had (still have) a bad HDD and I used ddrescue on /dev/sdb, which has only one partition, /dev/sdb1 (first noscrape, then -r3, then -r3 -R) to recover 99,99% of my data to an image (.img).

Now I don't really know how to continue, I tried writing this image on a new same size (1TB) disk and it shows unallocated data. Figured the partition table is missing, used sfdisk to copy partition table from old disk to file then from file to new disk. Still doesen't work. Tried mounting the image says it can't find image in /etc/fstab.

Now I am kind of lost and ask guidance from tech overlords. Thanks for any information regarding this matter.
Synrox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2018, 02:17 AM   #2
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



To mount it in Linux, you need to know the block size and calculate the correct offset using the start-block since this is a full disk image..

So did you recover a partition or the disk ? Windows should be able to mount either.. From your post it looks like you've recovered only the partition...

If you have Windows 10, you can use the native feature, just right click the IMG file and see if you're able to mount it as a disk (Right-Click--Mount).. If the IMG file type is mapped to another application, right-click the IMG file, Use Open-With and choose Explorer..
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 03-08-2018, 12:25 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
OS:



Thanks for such a fast response.

If I try and mount it in windows 10 I get an error message "The dics image file is corrupted."

This is the command I used:
# Command line: ddrescue -f -r3 -vvvv /dev/sdc /media/root/BackupImages/Backup/recovery_verbosenoscrape.img /root/recovery_verbosenoscrape.log
Synrox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2018, 04:00 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,548
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


I believe you have to scan and recover data in Linux, DDRescue won't work in Windows.
If you still have a problem, you can try HDD Raw Copy tool. This is a Windows app that you can make an Image file of the drive and open any Windows Data Recovery program like TestDisk or I have had the best luck with GetDataBack, and scan the Image file and restore your files to another drive of the same size or larger.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-08-2018, 11:29 PM   #5
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Just a tip, others might disagree, do not try to retry reads on bad sectors if you're HDD is failing quickly, this will probably cause more strain on the Disk, better to read of the readable sectors get a healthy img first and come back for the Bad sector ones.

I haven't used DDR a lot, but the Syntax looks correct, probably someone else can make suggestions...

And looks like you're backing up the entire drive and not just the partition. If you want a GUI mode to grab a full disk image, try CloneZilla.
Clonezilla - About

Get a full disk image file and then go after the bad sectors..
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 03-09-2018, 01:12 AM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,548
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


If a drives file system is listed as RAW, Clonezilla and other imaging programs won't be able to make an image of the drive, but programs like DDRescue and the Windows program HDD Raw Copy will allow you to make an image and then you can scan as much as you like with whatever data recovery tools on the Image file and not on the failing HDD.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-09-2018, 01:56 AM   #7
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Thanks Spunk, haven't used HDD Raw, looks good though.. Clonezilla does come with the rescue flag which does this, I think...But it's been a while since I used it, so my knowledge could be rusty..
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 03-09-2018, 12:54 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 831
OS: Win98SE



@tristar, was your drive originally in a USB enclosure? If so, then it may be encrypted. Could we see the contents of sector 0 in a hex editor or disc editor (eg HxD or DMDE)?
fzabkar is offline  
Old 03-13-2018, 02:23 AM   #9
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Hey @fzabkar, I'm not the OP.. @Synrox can you respond to this post ?
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 03-17-2018, 01:40 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 3
OS:



So, the drive was not encrypted, I don't know how to get the contents of sector 0.

If I try and mount it in windows 10 I still get an error message "The disc image file is corrupted."

I tried to mount it in Linux, offset by 2048 * 512, half successfully. The image mounts, but i get an "input /output error"

I have managed to rescue most of my pictures, but for some files I get an error "Couldn't copy on disk, input/output error."

Maybe the error is because I mounted a 1TB image (on an external drive) on a 120GB SSD? I am not familiar with the inner workings of mounting images.
Synrox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Spanned - 1 failed drive
One of my clients has a Windows 7 machine with 4 drives internal, all SATA. She has one drive setup as a boot drive, while the other three are spanned using Disk Manager to create a 5.5tb drive. Everything was working fine for a long time until yesterday when she booted the machine and it said...
BryanMohr Hard Drive Support 6 07-29-2015 05:44 PM
ddrescue and failed DD Seagate 500 Go
Hello, Sorry if I miss the right section (Hard Drive Support vs Diagnostics, Utilities and Other Software). Let say firts I'am absolutely a newbie with Linux and data recovery ... After a fall down from destop to floor, my laptot internal DD did not want to boot anymore (Seagate 2.5", 500 GB,...
NMet Hard Drive Support 2 04-25-2015 05:17 PM
GNU ddrescue Help
So, I just used gnu ddrescue to image my dying hard drive onto a new drive, and...I have no idea what to do now. I used the command sudo ddrescue -r3 /dev/sdb /dev/sdc rescue.log --force and it finally finished copying over all 2 TB, but...well, the disk it copied onto isn't recognized by Windows...
Dragon Wizard Hard Drive Support 7 11-17-2013 02:30 PM
can't access maxtor hd
I've had this problem for about halve a year now. My external hard drive (Maxtor) decided to stop working one day. I still recall that it might have happened because I flipped it on and off a few times in fast succession because I thought the power wasn't working, only to discover it simply took...
bibliotheek357 Hard Drive Support 5 07-22-2013 05:59 PM
Copying and saving RAW windows hard drive with ddrescue
Hi, my 500GB internal NTFS hard drive suddenly turned RAW, and I burned Parted Magic to try and clone the drive to a brand new, NTFS formatted 1TB drive so I can attempt to use Data Recovery Software and TestDisk on a stable drive. As I was told copying the damaged drive and recovering from the...
Robert Timecock Hard Drive Support 1 02-14-2013 06:24 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts