Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

HELP....hard drive problems

This is a discussion on HELP....hard drive problems within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I built a PC from scratch using a used hard drive. I put the hard drive in, loaded MS dos


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-03-2004, 08:55 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 15
OS:



I built a PC from scratch using a used hard drive. I put the hard drive in, loaded MS dos but when I try to boot I keep getting this message...
DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER. I would appreciate guidance

help
trytryagain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-04-2004, 08:04 AM   #2
ID10T Circuit replacement
 
idtent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 1,038
OS: Windows 7, Vista, XP Home, Pro, Win2k, 98 SE


You could try booting with your DOS disk 1 and pressing f5 up and down while it boots (this skips the config.sys and autoexec.bat files) When you get the command prompt type:
sys a: c:

This will transfer the system to the drive, but you should already have done this if you ran the DOS setup.
__________________
PICNIC (Problem In Chair Not In Computer)
"Looks like you've been missing a lot of work lately. "
"Well, I wouldn't exactly say I've been *missing* it, Bob. "
Office Space
idtent is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 07:04 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 15
OS:



Haven't had a chance to try it yet (crazy busy week) but will this weekend.
thank you for the response
trytryagain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-08-2004, 06:53 AM   #4
ID10T Circuit replacement
 
idtent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 1,038
OS: Windows 7, Vista, XP Home, Pro, Win2k, 98 SE


What size is the hard drive?

MS Dos only has fat16 and will only recognize the first 2 gigs of the drive. So if it is over 2 gigs you will have to run FDISK and partition the drive. If you don't want this limitation, you could use win95 b version or win 98 or higher to use the fat32 system.

NT 4 will work, but will only recognize up to an 8 gig drive at setup, and will only let you setup the OS on a 4 gig partition. After you setup NT 4, then you apply service pack 6a, it will be able to setup the rest of the harddrive for a second partition.
__________________
PICNIC (Problem In Chair Not In Computer)
"Looks like you've been missing a lot of work lately. "
"Well, I wouldn't exactly say I've been *missing* it, Bob. "
Office Space
idtent is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts