Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

help changing failing hd on a discontinued PC

This is a discussion on help changing failing hd on a discontinued PC within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hi, running Windows 10 home on a lenovo ideacentre y720 cube, 256gb ssd for C and 2tb Seagate ST2000DM001 for


Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By spunk.funk
  • 1 Post By Stancestans
  • 1 Post By tristar
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-12-2019, 08:33 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 330
OS: windows 10 Pro



hi, running Windows 10 home on a lenovo ideacentre y720 cube, 256gb ssd for C and 2tb Seagate ST2000DM001 for D drive per Device Manager. Have been hearing increasing clicking whirring and now trouble with startup. Iím guessing D is failing. The D drive currently in there has horrible reviews.

Question- if I buy a different similar internal hard drive, eg WD RE4 WD2003FYYS , how could I get drivers? And if I want to upgrade to something really different like an SSD how would I get drivers? Lenovo has discontinued this and I couldnít find links for drivers on Lenovo.

Thank you!
newbee_4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-12-2019, 09:56 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,553
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


There are no drivers required for HDD's and since you already have an SSD, there are no drivers required to add another SSD. They are provided by the Windows OS.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-12-2019, 10:07 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 330
OS: windows 10 Pro



Thank you! Any thoughts on an SSD that would pop easily into a 3.5 inch SATA enclosure? I am not skilled at all. Probably going to be getting someone to help but they may not be very knowledgable either.
newbee_4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-12-2019, 04:07 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,553
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Are we talking about an External USB 3.5" Enclosure or are we talking about the 3.5" enclosure inside a Desktop computer?
For an internal desktop, there are 3.5" to 2.5" mounting brackets https://www.amazon.com/s?k=3.5+brack...b_sb_ss_i_1_12
If you want to put it into an existing 3.5" USB Enclosure, you are better off getting a new USB 3.0 2.5" Enclosure instead.
newbee_4 likes this.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 02:22 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 330
OS: windows 10 Pro



D drive is an internal hdd. making lots of clicks etc so i was thinking to replace with a different internal drive. the current form factor is 3.5 inches in some kind of bracket, i guess probably thatís typical? but since i have to replace it, was wondering if a ssd is an option (i havenít looked at prices yet for a 2tb drive though my impression is ssd drives have come way down in price).

if ssd isnít an option, either wonít fit or too expensive, will be looking for a 2tb internal hdd to fit.... would love suggestions. the drive in there is a seagate that has mediocre to poor ratings and has been discontinued. seagate st2000dm001. the current version of similar drive not totally clear to me.
newbee_4 is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 08:16 AM   #6
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,149
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by newbee_4 View Post
D drive is an internal hdd. making lots of clicks etc so i was thinking to replace with a different internal drive. the current form factor is 3.5 inches in some kind of bracket, i guess probably thatís typical? but since i have to replace it, was wondering if a ssd is an option (i havenít looked at prices yet for a 2tb drive though my impression is ssd drives have come way down in price).

if ssd isnít an option, either wonít fit or too expensive, will be looking for a 2tb internal hdd to fit.... would love suggestions. the drive in there is a seagate that has mediocre to poor ratings and has been discontinued. seagate st2000dm001. the current version of similar drive not totally clear to me.
That bracket is removable, I believe, and is necessary so as to easily fit the drive into its bay. If you opt for an SSD as a replacement, you would need to fit it into a 2.5" to 3.5" mounting bracket such as the ones on Amazon that spunk.funk linked to and then attach that 2.5-3.5" bracket to the stock bracket that's currently attached to the failing HDD.
newbee_4 likes this.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 08:26 AM   #7
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



And just FYI.. a 2 TB SSD would probably cost approximately half the actual cost of your computer.. So the price might not be as low as you might think..
Stancestans likes this.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 09:07 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 330
OS: windows 10 Pro



just was looking, 2tb ssd with ok ratings can be under $300

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...b_2_5_ssd.html

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...d_2tb_ssd.html


but way more than hdd.
for hdd, what do you think of

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...drive_for.html

vs
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ..._internal.html

? Thanks for the advice!
newbee_4 is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 10:06 AM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,553
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Seagate used to be a premium drive brand, lately they have large failure rates. We do not suggest getting a Seagate drive. The WD Black is a great drive and well worth the price.
An SSD is a great option, it works best as the drive that Windows is on but not necessary if using it for a Data drive. A mechanical data drive is fine unless you have the money for an SSD.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 12:53 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 330
OS: windows 10 Pro



perfect. i think i should be all set for this thread to be closed, thank you all very much!
newbee_4 is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 06:06 PM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,553
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


You can mark this thread Solved in the Thread Tools at the top.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-14-2019, 03:47 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 330
OS: windows 10 Pro



done! and thanks again, all
newbee_4 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
failing PSU
My PC shuts down randomly, while im playing games, watching videos, or just browing internet. It's happening since i bought GTX 560 videocard. I think that my PSU i failing, because when i removed my CD-ROM, it's shutting down less frequent. Windows log:...
JanisFredis RAM and Power Supply Support 10 02-09-2012 01:57 PM
Cooling Fan Failing?
Hallo All, Like most people who post here, I have a problem with my Computer. In this case it's my Netbook that has an issue. I think the problem is a Failing Cooling Fan. I think the Motor is burning out. The Fan has been rather loud and shall we say, rattling for the past few weeks. I did...
SuperRockLee Laptop Support 2 11-10-2011 02:58 AM
PC failing to boot - Intermittent Problem
Hi all, recently been experiencing some problems with my rig and having exhausted everything I can think of to find the root of the problem I'm looking for anyone that thinks they can shed light on the problem/where to find help. It was built in January this year and has worked perfectly up to this...
Sarrie Motherboards, Bios & CPU 12 08-25-2011 06:57 AM
Can't import old, failing HD
My hard drive was failing, so I removed it. Granted, this was 6 months ago. Now I have a new HD, all set up, I installed the old drive as a slave. It was a slave, before; it will have the same drive letter, D; both are NTFS and XP Pro. The failing HD is a 60 GB IBM. Anyways, the BIOS...
OVERSTIMULATION Hard Drive Support 1 08-12-2004 06:48 PM
WD SATA failing... and failing
Hey all, I bought a new computer on august 29th 2003... since then the hard drive has had to be replaced 3 times (and I am fearing that it will have to be replaced again) its a WD Raptor 36.7 gb SATA drive... but it will work for a while, then it will just gradually fail until it doesn't work at...
taosd Hard Drive Support 3 11-20-2003 10:50 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts