Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

HDD Not Viewable in Explorer Lost Drive Letter?

This is a discussion on HDD Not Viewable in Explorer Lost Drive Letter? within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am a very bad explainer so please bare with me on this. (I use pictures to explain most of


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-17-2006, 01:30 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
OS:



I am a very bad explainer so please bare with me on this.
(I use pictures to explain most of it)
I am unable to view a partition on my 2nd HDD which is a Seagate 300GB SATA.

There should be another "Drive/partition" that says "Media HDD" with the drive letter 'H:' however there is only Local Disk C:, and Kubuntu I:

However i have gone to Device Manager>Disk Drives>Seagate 300GB Drive.

In the volume tab it says there is a partition called Media HDD, and Kubuntu, but as you can see the Media HDD partition does not have a drive letter.

How can i restore this drive so i can see it and use it?

(P.S: I cannot format the HDD because Media HDD has data on it, however the Kubuntu partition does not have any data on it that is needed.)

Your help is very welcome.
Kyro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-17-2006, 01:35 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,081
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit


Go into Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Computer Management -> Disk Management. From there, right-click on your "Media HDD" partition, and select "Change Drive Letter and Paths".
Indoril Nerevar is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 01:53 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
OS:


It doesnt allow me to "Change Drive Letter and Paths", i can only select "Delete Partition" or "Help".
Kyro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-17-2006, 02:18 AM   #4
Team Manager
Articles Team
 
chauffeur2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Henley Beach, South Australia
Posts: 11,898
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 and Windows 10

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to chauffeur2
Greetings Kyro,

Could you please post a screen shot of the ' Disk Management (Local )' page, by doing this...

Start > All Programs > Administrative Tools > Computer Management > in the Right Hand pane > double click > Storage > Disk Management (Local).

We need to see how the partitions on your drive are setup.

By the way, have you only got one HDD with two partitions or, two HDD's?

Post back.
__________________
Dave T.



If it works, Don't fix it!
Especially if Microsoft made it!
chauffeur2 is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 02:36 AM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
OS:


I believe you will see how my HDD's are arranged/set up by the ScreenShot. But i will try to explain.
I have a 120GB HDD which has 2 partitions, These are fine.
I also have a 300GB HDD which has 2 partitions, but at the moment i can only access One of these partitions (The Kubuntu partition) in explorer as the other one (Media HDD) has no drive letter and i believe this is the problem??



Thankyou in advanced.
Kyro is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 02:50 AM   #6
Team Manager
Articles Team
 
chauffeur2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Henley Beach, South Australia
Posts: 11,898
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 and Windows 10

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to chauffeur2
Ok Kyro,

Thanks for the info...

By looking at the way you have your drives set up, I think that you need to swap them around in the computer.

That is the C: drive needs to be on Disk 0 and the other one as Disk 1.

To do this you'll have to turn off the computer and physically change the HDD's over on the IDE Ribbon....make sure that the C: drive is a 'Master' and on the end connector of the Ribbon, and the other Drive is a 'Slave' and connected on the middle connector of the IDE.

Do this, and then go back into Disk Management (local) and see if it will let you add a drive letter to your 'Media HDD' partition, if Windows® doesn't do it for you first.

Let us know what happens, as there is another way if this won't work.
__________________
Dave T.



If it works, Don't fix it!
Especially if Microsoft made it!
chauffeur2 is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 02:51 AM   #7
Team Manager
Articles Team
 
chauffeur2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Henley Beach, South Australia
Posts: 11,898
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 and Windows 10

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to chauffeur2
P.S: To make a Drive a 'Master', it will have NO bridging Pin, and a 'Slave' WILL have a Bridging Pin.
__________________
Dave T.



If it works, Don't fix it!
Especially if Microsoft made it!
chauffeur2 is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 03:05 AM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
OS:


I was unable to make the drives master / slave because these are SATA drives which dont connect with Ribbon cables but SATA data connect cables. They both use to work fine. But now my drive has no letter and i dont know how to get it back so i can view it?...
I did however swap over the plugs they go into and it did nothing but swap the possitioning of the drives on the image i posted before.
Kyro is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 03:12 AM   #9
Team Manager
Articles Team
 
chauffeur2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Henley Beach, South Australia
Posts: 11,898
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 and Windows 10

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to chauffeur2
Sorry I forgot that they are SATA Drives.

Now that the positioning has changed, are you able to add/change a Drive letter or not in Disk Management (local)?
__________________
Dave T.



If it works, Don't fix it!
Especially if Microsoft made it!
chauffeur2 is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 03:17 AM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
OS:


No i am still unable to select the option "Change drive letter" :(

Futher reading has suggested that somehow maybe my partition was changed to hidden? as i have read that XP will see hidden partitions but not assign a drive letter or be able to access it. Which is what is happening to me?

Yet i have not found a way to solve this frustrating problem ;/
Kyro is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 03:24 AM   #11
Team Manager
Articles Team
 
chauffeur2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Henley Beach, South Australia
Posts: 11,898
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 and Windows 10

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to chauffeur2
Don't worry Kyro,

Try this...

Open 'My Computer' and right click on the 'Media HDD' drive and go Properties...in here you should be able to untick the box 'Hidden' [if its available to you]. You will need to be signed in as an Administrator to do this though.

Otherwise try this....

https://partitionlogic.org.uk/

It's a free partitioning program similar to Partition Magic™, and it should help you change the Drive.

Let us know how you get on.
__________________
Dave T.



If it works, Don't fix it!
Especially if Microsoft made it!
chauffeur2 is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 03:41 AM   #12
Team Manager
Articles Team
 
chauffeur2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Henley Beach, South Australia
Posts: 11,898
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 and Windows 10

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to chauffeur2
Kyro,

Follow these steps...

1. Double-click My Computer, and then double-click the drive letter of the volume that you want to check. In your case 'Media HDD'

2. Click Folder Options on the Tools menu, and then click the View tab.

3. Click the Show Hidden Files and Folders check box, and then click to clear the Hide protected operating system files check box.

4. After you receive the warning message, click Apply.

This should make the Drive available not 'hidden'.
__________________
Dave T.



If it works, Don't fix it!
Especially if Microsoft made it!
chauffeur2 is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 03:54 AM   #13
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
OS:


chauffeur2 the problem is i cant even see the "media HDD" partition in Windows Explorer so i am unable to click or even right click on the drive because it doesnt show up. However the only way i can 'see' it is if i go to

this screen and then i can see that the partition is there its just that Windows isnt able to assign a drive letter to it, or allow me to assign one for myself.

Also partionlogic doesnt help as when i load it, it says "No drive detected" when clearly there is because all i did was restart with the CD in. Turned off the computer and then restarted without the CD and it booted to windows so there clearly is a Drive. :/
Kyro is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 04:10 AM   #14
Team Manager
Articles Team
 
chauffeur2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Henley Beach, South Australia
Posts: 11,898
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 and Windows 10

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to chauffeur2
Kyro,

This next workaround needs to be very carefully followed...

https://support.microsoft.com/kb/812581/en-us#top
__________________
Dave T.



If it works, Don't fix it!
Especially if Microsoft made it!
chauffeur2 is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 05:38 AM   #15
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
OS:


Ok i would like to thank the people that have tried to help me with my problem.
It has been fixed, though it wasnt from what one of you directly said, the pages you told me about did link to the tool that fixed this nightmare for me.

The following programme is now MY GOD! it has just saved my HDD.
DiskPatch 2.1.100 Although it is only a demo, and the demo doesnt do anything.. people can guess what happened.
But i will be purchasing this piece of software now that i know it works.
It is so easy to use aswell. A+++++

Thankyou to all you who helped by posting and eventually leading me to the Tool to fix it. Perma-Bookmarked website forums :D
Kyro is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 05:21 PM   #16
Team Manager
Articles Team
 
chauffeur2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Henley Beach, South Australia
Posts: 11,898
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 and Windows 10

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to chauffeur2
Glad to assist Kyro.
__________________
Dave T.



If it works, Don't fix it!
Especially if Microsoft made it!
chauffeur2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts