Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

HDD Cloning Failure

This is a discussion on HDD Cloning Failure within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just recently ordered and received a new WD Black 3 TB HDD (1) and I wish to clone my


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-21-2014, 04:22 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
OS: win7



I just recently ordered and received a new WD Black 3 TB HDD (1) and I wish to clone my old HDD (2) over to my new HDD. About a day or so after receiving my new HDD I cloned the drive and everything went smoothly (everything booted up and worked just as normal). I quickly realized I forgot to expand the partition and, with my minimal computer knowledge, I thought that I needed to use the cloning program (Macrium Reflect) to expand the partition. I then re-cloned the HDD, overwriting the files, and then expanding the partition with the cloning software. I booted my computer with the new HDD and instead of booting Windows 7, it booted to a black terminal screen with one blinking bar. I re-cloned the HDD once more with yet the same failure. I was later realized that not all of the memory was transferred over to the new HDD (about 6 GB worth). After that I reformatted the two partitions (the reserved partition and the large partition) and cloned the HDD once more. After reformatting not all of the data was removed from both partitions. Once cloned again I noticed once more that the cloned HDD was missing about 6 GB worth of data again. I booted the new HDD up for the last time and a message popped up saying "Reboot and Select proper Boot device or Insert Boot Media in selected boot device and press a key." I did what I rebooted it and selected the HDD but not much changed. I am puzzled on what I should do next. Overwriting the data doesn't seem to work. I could have avoided all of this if I could have just expanded the partition from Windows. Thank you for everyone's support.

P.S. : The ideas of reformatting the HDD and a few other things were done with the support of one of my friends (in a good way, I was the one who messed everything up, he just suggested ways to help me, but he is busy, now).

(1) https://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/AS...nnorswebguidec

(2) Western Digital WD Blue WD10EALX 1TB 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive - Newegg.com
PsychoPotato is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-22-2014, 01:44 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,637
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Any HDD that is over 2.2TB's must be initialized GPT, and not MBR like your old 1TB HDD. If you clone a 1TB HDD to a 3TB HDD, it will initialize the 3TB HDD as an MBR drive, and you will not be able to expand it past 2TB. 1 TB will not be usable. You can create Two 1.5TB MBR partitions on your 3TB drive and clone your old HDD to one of these partitions and have a 1.5TB drive for storage.
If you Initialize the 3TB drive to GPT, you will have the 3TB storage back but you cannot use it for a Windows Boot drive unless you are running Windows 8 64 bit and have a UEFI bios.
My suggestion is to use a boot disc and Delete all of the partitions on the 3TB HDD, clone your old HDD over to the new one. You do not need to partition or format first, as the Clone job will do that for you. Then boot into Windows. Go to Disk Management and you can Extend the partition up to 2TB. You should have Unallocated Space to the right of the new partition and you can create a 1TB partition for storage.
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help. hard drive
hello techsupport. im here because my computer is hanging this past few days. sometimes its going blue screen. usually it will hang when im playing games. i dont know whats wrong on my computer. so i wonder my hard drive is failing . so i run a scandisk. here is the result Log Name: ...
chucks21 Hard Drive Support 2 04-01-2013 03:58 PM
Cloning Windows 8 From HDD to SSD
A lot of people have been wrestling with this issue online. I have had mixed results so far with Easeus Todo Backup. (windows boots but could not reset) Now trying to use Acronis True Image 2013 Not sure if it makes a difference whether 'secure boot' is enabled in bios or not. Yes,...
hamishgillan Hard Drive Support 4 03-06-2013 03:00 PM
AMI BIOS 1-2-1 beeps
I have an unusual issue and am not sure that I have a problem. System: Win XP SP3 - with all updates Intel Core 2 Duo 6600 MSI P965 Platinum MB AMI BIOS ID String - 64-0100-000001-00101111-010507-Broadwater I don't have any consistent problem. However, occasionally on shutdown, I'll get a...
dss_cottage Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 9 12-03-2012 02:01 PM
HDD ...virus infected or failure?
Hi...I have a PC which quite suddenly will not boot up. I managed one bootup in safe mode and that was it. I have removed both drives. I would like to put the drive into an external case and connect to the USB port on another working PC . Then I want to scan it using Symantic and Adware and...
raringer Hard Drive Support 1 06-06-2011 04:34 AM
HDD cloning issue...
Hi there, hope this is the right section. Basically i have a 60gb hdd which is partitioned into 4 partitions as follows: C: - D: - E: - F: I have another 60gb HDD and i want to clone the above onto this, ive downloaded xxCLONE but the option it gives me to clone is this: SOURCE VOLUME:...
j4g3d Hard Drive Support 2 01-26-2011 06:15 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts