Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

HD copy- OS not found

This is a discussion on HD copy- OS not found within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Alright. I'm Sean, I'm a newbie, and I'm throwing a curveball :D I am running WinXP on a PIII with

Closed Thread

Old 07-09-2004, 08:55 AM   #1

Confused

Alright. I'm Sean, I'm a newbie, and I'm throwing a curveball :D
I am running WinXP on a PIII with 352M RAM. The only catch is, it's on a Mac. Virtual PC is indeed a wonderful thing.

My issue as such is that when I first set up the virtual machine, I put WinXP on a 2G virtual drive (think of it as a real physical hard drive which is, when specified, always properly connected, and is preinstalled with all appropriate drivers). Naturally, this has led to problems including <6% free disk space (no defrags, etc.) and <250M free disk space (Windoes not happy). I made and mounted a 10G drive and dropped most of my documents onto it, but the 2G drive has since filled up with other stuff I can't just move. I am currently trying to exactly copy everything from the 2G drive to a new clean 5 or 10G drive, but despite mounting both in OSX and doing a direct exact copy of the whole drive, when I try to boot from the freshly exactly copied drive, it can't find the OS. I'm trying to figure out why, since I've copied over everything including all system files. Is there any particular drive initialization that needs to be done on a drive before installed OSs can be recognized?

I can mount up to 3 hard drives and have them all work in WinXP, along with CD and any USB devices, but when I boot into DOS, only the primary drive is recognized, and CD support is questionable.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-09-2004, 11:23 AM   #2