Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Hard Drive Search

This is a discussion on Hard Drive Search within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am a video editor and I am trying to find a good hard drive array system that fits my

Closed Thread

Old 02-24-2019, 01:21 PM   #1
Registered Member

I am a video editor and I am trying to find a good hard drive array system that fits my needs however it is difficult with my limited understanding of how these systems work.

I would like to have an enclosed hard drive array station similar to:
•Promise Tech Pegasus 3 R4
•G-Tech GSpeed Shuttle 4 Bay array
•LaCie 6Big

(As I'm sure you know) All of these arrays are RAID arrays and feature removable hard drives of various size options. I would like to be able to use each hard drive for a different video project and Hot-Swap drives as needed, however, after my research on RAID systems, I am unsure if I am able to use a system intended for RAID use as individual hard drives.

Just some key information of OS system being used.
>2017 MacBook Pro 2.9 GHz i7
>16GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3 Memory
>Radeon Pro 630 Graphics card.

All of the ports on this computer are Thunderbolt 3/USB-C so having an array system that uses TB3/USB-C would be great.

Thanks
-Matt
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-24-2019, 06:57 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus

My System

RAID is defined as 2 or more HDD's built into an Array. So, they create one larger HDD.
If you want an enclosure that has 3 or more HDD's that are independent of each other and can be hot swapped out, then you don't want to create a RAID. You would have each HDD be independent of the others for your various projects, so they are hot swapable.