Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Hard drive RPM Question ??

This is a discussion on Hard drive RPM Question ?? within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. i have 2 hard drives i want to attach as master and slave ...one is 5200RPM which i want to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-13-2007, 04:04 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 585
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit



i have 2 hard drives i want to attach as master and slave ...one is 5200RPM which i want to attach as slave ...7200 RPM i want to attach as slave ..could somebody please explain me if it matters ?? if yes then what 's the best possible way to do that ...
thanks in advance
bindudhindsa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-13-2007, 05:18 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



Hi,

Attach them as long as you stay with a standard hookup and there will be no problem with them.

For example, if you have a slave drive on the ribbon cable, you MUST also have a Master drive on that cable. You just can't have a slave without a master. However, you can have a master without a slave.

The problem I see is that in one sentence you said you wanted one as master and one as slave. Then, you said you wanted both to be slaves.

Therefore, I suggest you set up the 7200 RPM as the master and the slower one as slave on the same ribbon cable. Be sure you are using an 80 connector cable.

If you have questions, please ask.
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 03-13-2007, 08:18 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 585
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit



i was trying to replace my old SATA hard drive with a new SATA hard drive ...this one is bit complicated bcoz it has capacity of 200 GB ....i got from internet some hard drives have some trouble when it has capacity more then 137 GB ....shd i take some precaution before installing it ..
another things is my computer stuck at verifying DMI pool data at startup ...it was running okay before and i reset everything to default setting for my CMOS and BIOS setup...but its still not working ..could anybody please tell me how can i get out of this problem
thanks in advance
bindudhindsa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-14-2007, 04:15 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



Hi,

That is kind of a different problem than I thought you were describing earlier. First of all, be sure you format it NTFS and not Fat32. Be sure you have SP2 with your OS. Then, I suggust that you remove/unplug the IDE hard drives before you start. Then, be sure you have Sata drivers to load at the F6 prompt when it asks if yoiu have any drivers as it starts to load.

Then, load the OS, then the chipset drivers, then other motherboard disk drivers/programs, and away you should go.

If you still get the DMI error, here is some info:

DMI or DesktopManagement Interface is a layer of abstraction between system components and the software that manages them. The System Management BIOS (SMBIOS) is an extension of the Basic Input Output System (BIOS) that formulates and delivers this information to the operating system.

The pool data is the information. In short, when the BIOS is "Verifying DMI pool data" it is verifying the table of data it sends to the
operating system (Windows, etc.). If it isn't sucessful, it should return an error.

Wait a reasonable period of time for it to finish. It may make take some time or it may be stuck.

Possible fixes:

1. If you changed the hardware just before this problem occurred
(e.g., installed a new hard disk drive), unchange it.

2. If you installed a new hard disk drive, set the motherboard CMOS Setup to Auto for the
drive type. You may have to disconnect the drive first.

3. Enable "Reset Configuration Data" (may be "Force Update ESCD" in some CMOS Setuups) in the motherboard CMOS Setup PNP/PCI configuration. (Rebooting will automatically disabled
it after it has done its thing.)

4. The CMOS may be corrupted. Clear it.
__________________
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rebuilding a RAID 1 array on the P4P800 Deluxe
About a month ago I posted here on tech support forums regarding some problems I was having with setting up a RAID 1 array on the P4P800. The thread can be found at https://www.techsupportforum.com/showthread.php?t=13226. Everything was working out fine until last week. The master hard drive in...
Bitsys Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 4 11-04-2008 01:24 AM
Transferring from "old" hard drive to "new" hard drive
Let me preface this question by stating that I'm a "technologically challenged" individual in dire need of assistance. I recently purchased a new PC (Emachines T6216--supposed to be great because it is very upgradeable). One of the reasons I purchased the PC was based upon its compatibility with...
Biggerdaddynj Hard Drive Support 3 03-04-2006 01:49 PM
P4C800E-Dlx SATA?RAID?IDE?Intel?Promise?Efficient partition organization;Basic stuff?
Hi, I've arrived at this forum, & it seems like shangri-la, about a week after exhausting the MS knowledgebase & Asus website, becoming increasingly confused trying to figure out the best way to arrange my drives; going on the level of the correspondence I've witnessed on this site I'd have to...
Aconitine Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 0 05-06-2005 09:48 PM
Hard drive or windows error ?
Hi All, I got a bit of a problem that i need to resolve, a couple of weeks ago i took my computor to a computor shop to upgrade from Win Me to Xp, the computor was working ok, before this, i just wanted to have the newer XP running insted of WIn ME. About 2 hours after i dropped my computor off...
Tuby Hard Drive Support 2 04-25-2005 09:59 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts