Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Hard Drive Not Found

This is a discussion on Hard Drive Not Found within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all! Experiencing a problem with a Dell Inspiron 3847 desktop HDD. Dell Inspiron 3847 (desktop) Intel Core i5 (4


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-02-2020, 09:32 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kentucky, US
Posts: 101
OS: Ubuntu 14.04, Lubuntu 16.04, Mint 17.3 and CentOS 6.6



Hello all!

Experiencing a problem with a Dell Inspiron 3847 desktop HDD.

Dell Inspiron 3847 (desktop)
Intel Core i5 (4 core CPU)
8 GB DDR3 RAM
Seagate Barracuda 1 TB HDD (SATA)
OS (Windows 10)

Symptoms

As the computer starts, it will report that the hard drive cannot be found. However, I can hear the read/write heads moving and can feel the hard drive spin when the system powers up. Shortly after the system has power, the hard drive stops spinning. The hard disk does not produce any abnormal sounds during the time it is spinning up.

Actions

I tried using a different power connector from the PSU
I tried installing the Seagate HDD as a secondary drive in one of my functioning Dell computer
I removed the HDD control board and cleaned the electronic contacts
I purchased a set of three HDD control boards with the same serial numbers (they reported to be functional)

In all of these attempts, the result was the same. The hard drive spins at startup, the read/write heads seem to move back and forth a couple of times and the hard drive stops. The monitor reports that a hard drive can not be found.

Not sure where to go from here. Would like to recover pictures stored on the drive.
Thanks for your help!
scitex59 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-02-2020, 11:27 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,019
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Are you sure it's listed as a first choice in the bios?
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-02-2020, 11:59 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kentucky, US
Posts: 101
OS: Ubuntu 14.04, Lubuntu 16.04, Mint 17.3 and CentOS 6.6



Just looked at the BIOS and it reports the following information:
SATA 0 Empty
SATA 1 Empty
SATA 2 DVD/CD RW drive
SATA 3 Empty

After exiting the BIOS, the actual message on screen is "Hard-disk drive failure".
scitex59 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-02-2020, 12:23 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kentucky, US
Posts: 101
OS: Ubuntu 14.04, Lubuntu 16.04, Mint 17.3 and CentOS 6.6



Boot Mode is set to: UEFI Secure Boot; Secure Boot: ON
scitex59 is offline  
Old 01-02-2020, 01:34 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kentucky, US
Posts: 101
OS: Ubuntu 14.04, Lubuntu 16.04, Mint 17.3 and CentOS 6.6



Installed a bootable SATA drive in the computer and found the mobo sata port is working.
The system recorded SATA 0 Installed & SATA 2 Installed.

SATA 0 was a Windows Vista HDD
SATA 2 was the system CD/DVD RW drive
scitex59 is offline  
Old 01-02-2020, 02:04 PM   #6
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,019
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


I'm trying to "tell the players without a scorecard". You posted in the Windows 10 forum so which drive is Windows 10. I'm not understanding why Vista is prime. If you have Linux on this computer, will it boot? If so, can you test the 10 HD?
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-02-2020, 02:33 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kentucky, US
Posts: 101
OS: Ubuntu 14.04, Lubuntu 16.04, Mint 17.3 and CentOS 6.6



I happened to have a bootable Windows Vista HDD in a storage box and just thought I would take the Seagate Windows10 HDD out and see if the BIOS would recognize anything on the SATA port (which it did).

I had previously removed the Seagate HDD and tried to see if I could get at it's contents by plugging it into a SATA port on one of my Dell computers (this particular machine is running Ubuntu 14.04. My Ubuntu machine would not mount the Seagate hard drive.

The affected Seagate HDD is a Windows10 disk.
scitex59 is offline  
Old 01-02-2020, 03:12 PM   #8
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,019
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Still trying to sort things out. If you have an external enclosure, boot with Vista and try to read or run chkdsk/r
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-02-2020, 06:35 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,548
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
the actual message on screen is "Hard-disk drive failure".
There is nothing else to troubleshoot, the HDD needs to be replaced.
If the Bios doesn't recognize it, then no software is going to be able to recover the data.
If the data is critical, you can send it off to a Data Recovery Center with a Clean Room. Most people can't afford this option.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-03-2020, 07:36 AM   #10
Elite Commander
 
VividProfessional's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Merseyside Uk
Posts: 1,406
OS: Windows 10

My System

Send a message via MSN to VividProfessional

is it a ST1000BMxxxx ?
if so they are not worth keeping VERY unreliable. I have had the ST3000BM model replaced no less than 15 times, the warranted power-on hours is a mere 2,400. that's 100 days at 24/7.
see here - https://www.seagate.com/files/static...7-1-1111us.pdf
__________________
Boeing 787 Dreamliner Register
The worlds premier Dreamliner site
www.b787register.co.uk
VividProfessional is offline  
Old 01-04-2020, 09:18 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kentucky, US
Posts: 101
OS: Ubuntu 14.04, Lubuntu 16.04, Mint 17.3 and CentOS 6.6



The drive is a Seagate Barracudo 1000GB
Model: ST 1000DM003
Firmware: CC47
Country of Origin: China
scitex59 is offline  
Old 01-04-2020, 12:20 PM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,548
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Seagate was one of the top brands of HDD's a few years ago, right up there with Western Digital. But their quality has gone down considerably. https://www.pcworld.com/article/3028...ure-rates.html
None the less, it doesn't matter what brand of drive you have, as far as troubleshooting, the drive has failed an it needs to be replaced.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-06-2020, 12:03 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kentucky, US
Posts: 101
OS: Ubuntu 14.04, Lubuntu 16.04, Mint 17.3 and CentOS 6.6



Seems Seagate has had some problems with this model of HDD for some time.
I believe I'll go with your advice, once again, spunk.funk and recommend a new installation
with a Western-Digital replacement drive.
Thanks all for your advice and expertise!
scitex59 is offline  
Old 01-08-2020, 01:10 AM   #14
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,548
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


You are most welcome!
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-08-2020, 03:08 AM   #15
Elite Commander
 
VividProfessional's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Merseyside Uk
Posts: 1,406
OS: Windows 10

My System

Send a message via MSN to VividProfessional

seagate had a class action suit against them in regards to this drive range, might be worth a call to them? I got 6 x 8tb Iron wolf Pro drives out of it for free
__________________
Boeing 787 Dreamliner Register
The worlds premier Dreamliner site
www.b787register.co.uk
VividProfessional is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts