Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Hard Drive no longer showing

This is a discussion on Hard Drive no longer showing within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. The second (data) drive that had all my work folders, spins up with a Ker-lick sound, 11 times and winds


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-22-2018, 10:55 AM   #21
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,631
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
The second (data) drive that had all my work folders, spins up with a Ker-lick sound, 11 times and winds down. It does about three times then stops
The Second drive, is failing with a hardware problem, possibly the PCB board or another fault.
If the drive was not clicking and continued to spin up, you could use data recovery software to access the data. But since it is a hardware fault, that is not an option.
Here is a guide to swapping the PCB board, https://www.hddzone.com/seagate_pcb_...ent_guide.html The problem is that you have to match the exact model # of the board and you have to transfer the Firmware from the old board. There are places that do that for you.
Other then that, you would need to send it off to a very, very expensive Data Recovery Specialist, most people can't afford this option.
spunk.funk is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-22-2018, 01:46 PM   #22
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 831
OS: Win98SE



"11 clicks and spin down" is a symptom of head or media failure.
fzabkar is offline  
Old 03-23-2018, 04:04 AM   #23
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 14
OS:



Hi spunk.funk,

Leaving the broken drive on one side for now.

Though I am able to use the PC with one drive installed for now, I am pretty sure it too will fail soon (it makes a few clicks when starting) but in the mean time I would like to understand why at boot up, it still shows '1 Drive not found at SATA1' and I have to use F1 to continue to boot up.

It suggests that there seems to be a system fault rather than hardware. Is there any way to find what is causing this?
edwind is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-23-2018, 10:42 AM   #24
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,631
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


The Bios looks to each of the SATA Controllers that are enabled. If SATA1 Port is enabled and does not have a drive attached, the Bios will come back with an error of Drive not Found, because there is no drive attached to that port. To stop this error, you must boot into the Bios and Disable SATA1 until you attach a working drive to it, then Enable it again.
If your C: drive is making any kind of sound, backup your User data to an external drive ASAP. If you have the empty drive, you can swap the data cable with the failed drive which is plugged into SATA1. Boot into Windows and get to Disk Management. In the lower pane, if the empty drive is Unallocated Space, right click it and create a new Simple Volume. Format it NTFS. Now copy all of your user files from the C: drive to the empty drive. Or Place the Empty drive in the same location as the current C: drive and do a clean install of Windows. Once completed, attach the previous C: drive in SATA1 and copy your User files from that drive to the new C: drive that was previously empty.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 03-24-2018, 07:53 AM   #25
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 14
OS:



Hi spunk.funk,

SATA0 is ON and Drive ID = HL-DT-ST DVD+/-RW GH30N
SATA1 is ON and Drive ID = Unknown (This is the C: drive that I am booting into with difficulty.)
SATA2 is OFF and has nothing in its bay.

So at boot up, it is still not finding the drive at SATA1 with the OS and all other programs on it.

Thanks for the instructions on how to install the new drive. However, before I give this a try there are one or two points I would like to clarify.
1. Should I format the Drive first (currently un-formatted)?
2. Will I be able to transfer all the working programs over as well?
3. By User data - do you mean the folder called Windows or the folder called Users or both?
edwind is offline  
Old 03-24-2018, 11:09 AM   #26
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,631
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


SATA0 is your DVD drive, you actually should have the C: drive plugged into this port, but it will work the way you have it now.
SATA1 is your C: drive and it is failing, as the Bios currently recognizes it as Unknown.
If the Third drive is not Formatted, When you attach it to a working computer, in Disk Management what does it say about that drive? If it is a drive that has never been used, the New Disk Wizard will automatically start and ask you to Initialize the drive, then Partition it and Format it. If it was previously Initialized, then it will show as Unallocated Space, and you would right click it and choose to make a new Simple Volume.
If you have access to another computer, follow the instructions in Post #10 and #11 and remove the drive from the troubled computer and attach the drives to the working computer to work with the drives to recover data, and to Format the empty drive etc.
To backup your data from the failing C: drive, browse to C:\Users\[UserName] copy those files (ie) Pictures, Music, Documents etc to a working drive. You should have done this already as your backup. You cannot backup programs as they need access to the Windows Registry on the C: drive to work. Programs and Games need to be reinstalled.
If you can't access the C: drive but it is still being recognized, you can make an mirror Image of the drive and then scan the Image to recover your files instead of the failing drive.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 03-30-2018, 08:03 AM   #27
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 14
OS:



Hi spunk.funk,

Following your last post, here is a run down of what I have done following your instructions and a little extra;

1. I cloned the C: drive to an external 1TB drive as a precaution, to retain my programs.
2. Since the OS was failing to 'see' the drives at all, I decided to strip down the PC and re-mount everything. I was surprised to discover that I do not have an SAS Controller 'CARD'. The controller must be a chip-set on the MoBo.

Interestingly, on the MoBo, the DVD data cable was plugged into the slot marked SATA0 and both SATA1 and SATA2 were empty. The other two drives were plugged into slots marked HDD0 and HDD1 with spare slots HDD2 and HDD3.
I decided to change this arrangement and plugged the data cable of Drive C: into SATA0, the new empty Drive into SATA1 and the DVD Drive into SATA2.

The result - the PC now boots without problem, works perfectly and sounds good too.

Let's leave the problem of the broken drive on one side - I'm afraid that's a lost cause.

The only other problem I now have is that the spare (never used) drive in SATA1 will not format nor invoke the Initialize Wizard (when powered up and connected to a another PC) and while in this PC is just not visible in Disk Management even though it shows up in the BIOS and is set to ON.

Please see screen-grabs below for information, including the Boot sequence.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	T7400NEW.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	141.3 KB
ID:	319406  
edwind is offline  
Old 03-30-2018, 11:20 AM   #28
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,631
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Excellent job!
HDD0 and HDD1 etc are for SAS drives (ie) Serial Attached SCSI drives. They are similar to SATA drives but are used for Servers and Workstations, not for home computers.
If using standard SATA HDD's they should be plugged into SATA port 0, 1 etc. With the C: drive plugged into SATA Port 0.
You have two 1TB Seagate drives with the same model number that start with ST which means they are Seagate, SATA0, and SATA1. If the drive in SATA1 cannot be initialized, then it has also failed and needs to be replaced. Seagate drives are under warranty for about 3 years, so check if it is still under warranty https://www.seagate.com/support/warr...placements/and you can send it back and get a refurbished one in return. Unfortunately, Refurbished drives fail at a much higher rate then new ones.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 04-01-2018, 07:57 AM   #29
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 14
OS:



Hi spunk.fink,

I think we can now consider this thread closed (or solved) and I would like to thank you for bearing with my amateur questions and for helping me to get to a satisfactory conclusion.
edwind is offline  
Old 04-01-2018, 10:44 AM   #30
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,631
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Glad I can help. Please mark this thread Solved in the Thread Tools at the top.
Attached Images
 
spunk.funk is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
any utilities that tells me if my hard drive is failing?
Hey guys, I was wondering if there are any utilities out there that will allow me to determine if my hard drive is failing? The reason that I'm asking is that I recently did a major reinstall to my Windows 7 SP1 system to solve a problem that one of the programs that run the operating system -...
simon726 Hard Drive Support 3 06-17-2015 05:39 AM
External HD with irreplaceable urgent data shows files/folders but all are now empty
First of all, I have a desktop PC running Windows 7 Professional SP1 64-bit. Second of all, I apologize for the length of this post but I wanted to include all relevant information and history of the drive in case some piece of that info happened to be key in solving this issue. Now for...
Urgent Recovery Hard Drive Support 6 08-07-2014 12:54 PM
[SOLVED] disconnected and reconnected hard drive, now its now working
Ok so my friend wanted to put his hard drive into my pc so I disconnected my one and put in his one and it wasn't working so I changed back to my hard drive but when I try to start up my pc the screen goes black. The screen goes black after I click "Start Windows Normally". I tried running it...
Demon117 Hard Drive Support 20 07-13-2014 09:53 AM
Hardware/software issues w/ hard drive test/wipe system setup + REWARD!
Please note: NOT spam or an ad...just a really really long, detailed, and desperate post... Hello all competent techs! Let me preface this problem with my willingness to pay a reasonable fee for a solution, or for consultation resulting in a successful solution. If someone solves my problem...
axio Hard Drive Support 2 10-24-2011 03:58 PM
How to copy your operating system from one drive to another.
Please do not post in this thread. I am rewriting an article. thanks. How to copy your operating system from one hard drive to another Published by JohnthePilot 11-28-2006 How to copy your operating system from one hard drive to another ________________________________________ How to...
JohnthePilot Dead-Sea Scrolls 2 03-05-2007 11:47 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts