Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Hard drive lock out

This is a discussion on Hard drive lock out within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi and hello to all the tech support and members alike. I hope that anyone out there can help me


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-10-2006, 06:06 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 56
OS: XP/ Windows 7


Idea

Hi and hello to all the tech support and members alike.
I hope that anyone out there can help me with a serious problem.
I have a compaq deskpro EP/SB series, that is over 8 years old and these
are the specs:
Pentium 2 35oMz
Rom Date: 7/4/1998
SystemBoard Revision 01
Chassis serial#6834BVD2K064
Memory:256
Rom Family:686T2
Processor stepping:651
O/S: none
system has been working great with no problems, until the time that I had to
disassemble it to clean. after I put everthing back together and checking all
connection, devices, IDE, etc, etc.... are setup correctly I decided to upgrad from window 2000 to XP home. during the upgrade everything was going great
until the system restarted. after bootup and in the next step it was asking to
press any key to boot from the CD, did not press any key but waited for XP to
start setup installation. After waiting for over 30 minutes nothing happens so
I reset the machine and it was still the same results. I download compaq diagnostic setup and try to create a new partition. the diagnostic could not
access the hard drive, always receiving error message 'error occured while trying to access hard drive. hard dirve not properly configured your hard drive lock is enable or there is a problem with your hard drive'.
I change the hdd to a good working hdd and still get the same message. I check with hp IT resource, no help there. download bios flash, won't boot to
A: prompt. system bios has nothing to help, it detected the hdd but nothing to config the hdd. I belive the second IDE connector is lock. I hope that someone out there knows any thing about this mainboard and to how to unlock it. thanks
bnrr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-10-2006, 06:24 AM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 172
OS:


if the xp cd is bootable, why not delete the old partition and repartition and reformat and do a clean install! If you dont have any important files you want to save, clean install would be the way to go!
Duckster1 is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 06:38 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman
IMO you dont have capable hardware to run Win XP ?????


I have seen many struggles trying to get a P3 >>> 500mhz with only 256mg of ram to accomplish an XP set-up

attempting with a P2 is going to be a real challenge especailly with only 256meg ram goodluck
linderman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-10-2006, 07:44 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 172
OS:


linderman is probaly correct, if you did get it installed, it would probaly run so slow it would make your teeth hurt!
This is what Microsoft says about system requirements!

Windows XP Home/Pro System Requirements
Published: August 24, 2001


Here's What You Need to Use Windows XP Home/Pro Edition
PC with 300 megahertz (MHz) or higher processor clock speed recommended; 233-MHz minimum required;* Intel Pentium/Celeron family, AMD K6/Athlon/Duron family, or compatible processor recommended

128 megabytes (MB) of RAM or higher recommended (64 MB minimum supported; may limit performance and some features)

1.5 gigabyte (GB) of available hard disk space.*

Super VGA (800 600) or higher resolution video adapter and monitor

CD-ROM or DVD drive

Keyboard and Microsoft Mouse or compatible pointing device
Duckster1 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 05:20 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 56
OS: XP/ Windows 7


Hi Tech Support team
Thanks for the reply. I belive you guys are right about the system requirements for XP, but qestion here gentlemen. when installing the
XP into the system and XP starts to check for system requirement
for the installation, why is it then that after XP has check it did not
reprt that the system does not meet the requirements to installed.
It just went ahead and starts to installed and throught out the
installation it did not report any errors, the only errors it reported
is error in loading the OS system. I guess this the error that it does
not support the XP. but hey guys thanks alot!
bnrr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts