Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

format problem "setup cannot access disk"

This is a discussion on format problem "setup cannot access disk" within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So I'm trying to format my WD raptor HD. I put in the windows disk restarted, got to setup, deleted


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-27-2008, 10:51 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
OS:



So I'm trying to format my WD raptor HD. I put in the windows disk restarted, got to setup, deleted original C: partition and tried to install windows on unpartitioned space, but I get the same message:

"Setup cannot access disk. Windows cannot install....."

I just want to clear my hard drive and get a fresh start. I'm out of ideas and any help would be appreciated. I'm good at this stuff so I'm desperate here.
stars2099 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2008, 11:07 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



When you got that far, did you remember to create the new partition before you started to load the OS? The disk must have a partition on it and formatted before you can put data on it and install anything, including the OS.
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 11:08 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
OS:



I tried installing on both unpartitioned space and the new partition, both times I got the same message.
stars2099 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2008, 11:09 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



Did you format it after you set the new partition?
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 11:17 AM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
OS:



i was using another guide to do this, but it said that once i tried installing on unpartitioned space, i would get prompt to format the hard drive. That's what I want to do, is to format. I guess what I was doing was wrong. How do I format after setting the new partition?
stars2099 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 02:10 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



Here is a great guide with a step-by-step instructions that will help you. Scroll down to the middle of the page for Instructions to Partition, Format, and load the OS on a drive from a CD:

Format-Hard-Drive
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 03:31 PM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
OS:



thanks! much appreciated. I'll try this out tonight to see how it works out.
stars2099 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 03:52 PM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



Do let us know if you have problems with this.
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 07:46 PM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
OS:



I followed what it said, created a new partition with the windows cd and pressed enter, but I still got the same message.
stars2099 is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 06:52 AM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
OS:



well update, now windows wont load of hd at all and when i start up the windows cd, it detects no hard drive. I press enter and then I get a stop message. I'm starting to think my hard drive has crapped out on me all of a sudden.
stars2099 is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 08:01 AM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,258
OS: XP, Win 7



You can download and run diagnostics to rule out drive failure

https://www.techsupportforum.com/f234...es-302602.html
Old Rich is offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 08:26 AM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



simpswr has made a great suggestion that would be worth following. Try that and report back what you find out.
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 03:00 PM   #13
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
OS:



so I ran the WD diagnostic and my hard drive passed. Yet I'm still getting the same problem with the hard drive.
stars2099 is offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 03:07 PM   #14
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,258
OS: XP, Win 7



I'd throw that drive as far as I could and replace it
Old Rich is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts