Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

External hard drive

This is a discussion on External hard drive within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a Simpltech external hard drive which I connected to my Dish DVR which at the time was asked


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-29-2011, 09:22 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7



I have a Simpltech external hard drive which I connected to my Dish DVR which at the time was asked to format it and I did. Now I no longer want it on my DVR and want to connect again to my computer but it will not recognize it. How can I reformat it, which I am not given that option, si my pc would recognize it again. HEEEEElP!!!
angelespr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-29-2011, 09:29 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,258
OS: XP, Win 7



Does the drive sho in Disk Management?
Old Rich is offline  
Old 09-29-2011, 09:32 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7



It shows in Devices N Printers
angelespr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-29-2011, 09:35 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,258
OS: XP, Win 7



Does it show in Disk management?
Old Rich is offline  
Old 09-29-2011, 09:36 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7



No, nothing.
angelespr is offline  
Old 09-29-2011, 09:39 AM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,258
OS: XP, Win 7



Does it show in BIOS? . . you might can use KillDisc . .

Erase hard drive by [email protected] KillDisk. Low Level Format.
Old Rich is offline  
Old 09-29-2011, 09:40 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7



Where can I go to see BIOS...newbie on these things.
angelespr is offline  
Old 09-29-2011, 09:41 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7



and what is this site u gave me?
angelespr is offline  
Old 09-29-2011, 11:26 AM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,258
OS: XP, Win 7



Watch the screen when you first turn it on . . you should see a prompt to "Press XXX to enter setup" . . do that and you will be in BIOS.

The link is to a program that will wipe the disc and restore it to a clean condition so that you can use it
Old Rich is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System crashes when external hard drive plugged in
I have a Toshiba Laptop Satellite M45-S331 and when I plug in my 2TB Western Digital Hard Drive lately the system crashes and keeps rebooting until I unplug the external Hard Drive. This just happened all of a sudden. The external hard drive has it's own power supply and I don't understand why this...
Wiktor222 Removable Media Drives 2 12-27-2011 04:02 AM
Testdisk doesn't recognize external hard drive
So I have a 300GB Seagate external hard drive and it used to work fine but once I got to college it won't detect it. When I plug it into my computer and turn it on I hear the little sound that the computer makes when something is plugged into the USB, but it doesn't show up under My Computer...
Substance59 Hard Drive Support 4 09-07-2011 08:08 PM
Whirring External Hard Drive
Last night my WD external hard drive got disconnected while watching video... twice. (my friend kept tripping over the cord) After the second time we put the MacBook and hard drive on the floor while the video kept playing in the background. We go do other things and the laptop goes into sleep...
hewtab Hard Drive Support 1 07-02-2011 12:11 PM
External hard drive help needed
I have a WD Elements external hard drive model# WD4000CO35-000. About two weeks ago it stopped working like it normally does for me. Normally when I plug it in a box comes up and asks if I want to view the folders. Or I can just go into "My Computer" and click on the Elements (G) drive...
6fthook Hard Drive Support 2 02-25-2011 08:40 PM
How to copy your operating system from one drive to another.
Please do not post in this thread. I am rewriting an article. thanks. How to copy your operating system from one hard drive to another Published by JohnthePilot 11-28-2006 How to copy your operating system from one hard drive to another ________________________________________ How to...
JohnthePilot Dead-Sea Scrolls 2 03-05-2007 11:47 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts