Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Considering Upgrade to SSD

This is a discussion on Considering Upgrade to SSD within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a dell OptiPlex 3050 Tower and I am considering changing to an SSD. I ran Crucial scan and


Like Tree10Likes
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-26-2019, 06:47 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



I have a dell OptiPlex 3050 Tower and I am considering changing to an SSD.

I ran Crucial scan and got the following:-
Configuration ID - CT13566304
Form Factor: M.2 Type 2280
Warranty: Limited 5-year
Specs: 1TB M.2 SSD • PCIe NVMe Gen 3 • 2,000 MB/s Read, 1,700 MB/s Write
Series: P1
Product Line: Client SSD
Interface: NVMe/PCIe Gen3 x4
Density SSD: 1TB
Device Type: Internal Solid State Drive
Unit Height: 22mm x 80mm
Package Content: M.2 SSD PCIe NVMe Gen 3, Acronis® True Image™ for Crucial cloning software and installation instructions
Form Factor SSD: M.2

My question is - are there any other factors I need to consider before making the decision to buy.

I would need detailed step-by-step instructions on how to move my Windows 10 Pro to the new drive and have that as boot drive. I also keep all my libraries on same drive.


Tommy
tomohawk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-26-2019, 07:24 AM   #2
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



(Not sure if you ran this on the existing tower) I'd first check if your Motherboard is compatible with the M2 card, if the Motherboard does not support the specific type in this case M2 2280, then this would not be suitable.

My suggestion would be install windows from scratch and then bring in data over using file sync.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 03-26-2019, 07:55 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Hi tristar

Yes - I ran the Crucial scan on my existing tower.

Tommy
tomohawk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-26-2019, 11:11 AM   #4
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Tommy the easiest way to do this is with an Ssd and not an M2 though M2 is alleged to be faster. Using an M2 requires leaving an Ssd port open and that depends on the board as to what port needs to be unused. It is easier using and recognizing an Ssd drive and the bump in speed is so noticeable I doubt you would see the difference though between an M2 and Ssd drive.

Clone drive is the easiest way to move what is on the hard drive and attaching new drive to power and sata port boot to Usb or Dvd with Macrium Rescue or EaseUs Disk Copy will easily move everything though personally I much prefer Acronis for cloning but its not free.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 03-26-2019, 12:10 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks for the comprehensive reply Rich-M.

Please see the attached specs and am I right to assume a speed difference in the region of 3-4 times?

I notice that they are both delivered with Acronis True Image

Tommy
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Tommy_Crucial_SSD_Specs.pdf (64.9 KB, 6 views)
tomohawk is offline  
Old 03-26-2019, 02:46 PM   #6
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Definitely Tommy with either the speed bump is quite noticeable. I know the claims of speed difference but I have M2 drives in both my desktops and don't see any difference in performance from the way they were before I added those as I have had Ssd drives
in every unit I have for many years.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 03-26-2019, 02:56 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks Rich-M

Is there any way to determine whether I need to also purchase a "cradle" for the SSD or if it fits into existing slots?


……………..or is the answer in the description = "Crucial MX500 1TB SATA 2.5" 7mm (with 9.5mm adapter) Internal SSD"
Tommy
tomohawk is offline  
Old 03-26-2019, 03:35 PM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,553
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Can you provide the link you are seeing this on?

A 2.5" SSD will require 3.5" to 2.5" mounting bracket to screw it into the case
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-26-2019, 03:56 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



https://www.crucial.com/ProductDispl...atalogId=10151
tomohawk is offline  
Old 03-26-2019, 04:31 PM   #10
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


I would buy one of these though there have been times when I have had to velcro them to bottom of case when little else worked.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 03-26-2019, 11:49 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Rich-M, Spunk Funk, tristar - I am grateful for your continued support.

I have ordered parts, including this (I hope it is all I will need) https://eu.crucial.com/webapp/wcs/st...oductId=345002

I will keep you updated as to progress. It comes with Acronis, so I will be using that.

I have a question. When I clone my existing hard drive to SSD, I assume the SSD drive will not be designated as drive C:\ . Is it possible afterwards to make the SSD as drive C:\ (the old hard drive will not be connected)

Also, do I need to make any changes in BIOS after cloning

Tommy
tomohawk is offline  
Old 03-27-2019, 12:44 AM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,553
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
7mm (with 9.5mm adapter)
7mm defines the thickness or Height of the drive (ie) from the bottom of the drive to the top. The 9.5mm Adapter or as called in the installation instructions, a Spacer increases the Height to 9.5mm for laptops that use a 9.5mm height 2.5" drive rather then the newer thinner 7mmn height.
You will still need a mounting bracket to install to a Desktop computer.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-27-2019, 12:50 AM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks spunk.funk

The Crucial SSD Desktop Install Kit I purchased includes the following, so hopefully, I'm covered:-

Acronis® True Image HD data transfer software
SATA data transfer cable
USB-to-SATA data transfer cable
3.5-inch adapter bracket
Mounting screws

Tommy
tomohawk is offline  
Old 03-27-2019, 12:54 AM   #14
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,553
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
3.5-inch adapter bracket
Mounting screws
yep, seems to have it all covered.
tomohawk likes this.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-27-2019, 04:29 AM   #15
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Acronis will clone you the drive as it is "c" drive Tommy. You can set it to shut down after the clone so you can then switch the cables from the original drive to the cloned drive then restart and it will be "c" drive. Then put the cables used for the Ssd drive to the original hard drive so you can format it in Windows for other uses.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 04-01-2019, 10:35 AM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks everybody for the help.

I've now got the SSD installed and everything is working fine (and faster)

The only problem I came across was that I was not able to secure the SSD drive to the drive bay. I got the SSD conversion kit from Crucial and connected the plate to the drive, but was not possible to screw the plate in anywhere. I checked Dell website but couldn't find anything for Dell OptiPlex 3050 Tower.

See photos.

Is it ok for the SSD drive to be loose inside the case?

Tommy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190401_174604.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	140.5 KB
ID:	323290   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190401_174613.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	131.7 KB
ID:	323292   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190401_174750.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	130.1 KB
ID:	323294  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20190401_174837.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	154.3 KB
ID:	323296  
tomohawk is offline  
Old 04-01-2019, 11:53 AM   #17
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


As long as you aren't moving the case I don't suppose there is any risk. A simple fix I have been known to do is velcro the Ssd to the base of the case using industrial strength velcro.
tomohawk and vanukuru.vinod like this.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 04-01-2019, 03:24 PM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Hi guys. Just one last thought. I assume I can use the USB to Sata cable to connect my old HDD to the PC.

I want to do a secure wipe. Any recommendations?

Tommy
tomohawk is offline  
Old 04-01-2019, 04:05 PM   #19
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


I have been a big fan of : EaseUs Partition Manager

for many years!
tomohawk and LouMjr like this.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 04-02-2019, 12:13 AM   #20
TSF Enthusiast
 
tomohawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,273
OS: Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)



Thanks Rich-M
tomohawk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upgrade to larger SSD
Hi all, I have a small 128 SSD C drive which is getting full and i need to upgrade to 256 can ppl please tell me how to go about it...it has my windows files.. thank you Bommie
bommie Hard Drive Support 5 03-12-2017 01:36 PM
SSD upgrade advice for a desktop system
Hi everyone, I have a desktop computer that is about seven years old (yes, it's still running fine as of now) and it has these following specifications: - ASUS M2A-VM motherboard - AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Dual Core CPU (codename "Windsor") at 2.2GHz - 6GB DDR2 PC2-5300 memory - Integrated...
simon726 Hard Drive Support 3 03-07-2014 02:11 PM
[SOLVED] SSD Upgrade
Newegg.ca - SanDisk Ultra SDSSDH-120G-G25 2.5" 120GB SATA II Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) Its on sale right now, $70 off, is this a good deal? Im looking to get and SSD and this one right now looks like the one I wanna get. I'll be buying on within the next couple days, but dont wanna...
7up3345 Hard Drive Support 1 10-25-2011 12:15 PM
SSD upgrade
help anyone! I am planning on changing my C: drive from a 640GB HDD to an Intel 120GB SSD. my first choice was an "Intel X25-M 120 GB Solid State Drive Internal SATA 1.5-3.0GB" but recently it was taken out of sale and went back to original price which I cant afford anymore. looking around for...
zack.d.kwik Hard Drive Support 1 07-06-2011 09:20 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts