Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

compatible hardrive

This is a discussion on compatible hardrive within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm just getting started, I want to add more hard drive to my computer but how do I know whats

Closed Thread

Old 06-05-2007, 04:12 PM   #1

I'm just getting started, I want to add more hard drive to my computer but how do I know whats compatible with my computer? don't want to mess it up. some help please https://kaanza.com/Shopping/ProductDe...oductid=350927 this is pretty much my computer. Thank you
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-05-2007, 04:26 PM   #2

Any IDE hard drive will be compatible with your computer.

SATA might not be but if you can find what type of motherboard you have in there. I could easily tell you.
Old 06-05-2007, 04:28 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirty_Al View Post
Any IDE hard drive will be compatible with your computer.

SATA might not be but if you can find what type of motherboard you have in there. I could easily tell you.
Motherboard Name Asus A8N-LA (Nagami2)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-05-2007, 05:31 PM   #4

Here is a link for you motherboard information
https://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...roduct=1843642

It does hae 4 sata plug-ins so my guess is it will support SATA 1 drives but not SATA2

SATA1 transfers at 1.5
SATA2 transfers at 3.0

---
sorry for the long wait on a reply. I am currently at work (AOL tech support) and I try to answer between calls.
Old 06-05-2007, 05:56 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus