Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

compatible hardrive

This is a discussion on compatible hardrive within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm just getting started, I want to add more hard drive to my computer but how do I know whats


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-05-2007, 04:12 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
OS:



I'm just getting started, I want to add more hard drive to my computer but how do I know whats compatible with my computer? don't want to mess it up. some help please https://kaanza.com/Shopping/ProductDe...oductid=350927 this is pretty much my computer. Thank you
rottweiler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-05-2007, 04:26 PM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 75
OS:



Any IDE hard drive will be compatible with your computer.

SATA might not be but if you can find what type of motherboard you have in there. I could easily tell you.
Dirty_Al is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 04:28 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirty_Al View Post
Any IDE hard drive will be compatible with your computer.

SATA might not be but if you can find what type of motherboard you have in there. I could easily tell you.
Motherboard Name Asus A8N-LA (Nagami2)
rottweiler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-05-2007, 05:31 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 75
OS:



Here is a link for you motherboard information
https://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...roduct=1843642

It does hae 4 sata plug-ins so my guess is it will support SATA 1 drives but not SATA2

SATA1 transfers at 1.5
SATA2 transfers at 3.0

---
sorry for the long wait on a reply. I am currently at work (AOL tech support) and I try to answer between calls.
Dirty_Al is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 05:56 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



Just wanted to add that if it supports the 1.5 transfer rate for Sata, that most Sata II (3.0 transfer rate) drives (not all) have a jumper that you can set the so the drive is compatible with the 1.5 standard. There is one I know of that has a software fix to make it work in the slower standard. Hope that helps and I did not look up the board, so just adding to what information you have been given.
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 06:56 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 75
OS:



thanks for adding to that tumbleweed. This also reminds me. If you buy Western Digital SATA2 they are capable of being changed to SATA1 with jumpers.
Dirty_Al is offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 07:09 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



The drive that uses software (which is a pain BTW) is Hitachi. I would not recommend getting one of those and trying to change it to 1.5, because it is quite a process and not worth doing. The WD drives do use the jumper as mentioned and are an excellent Sata drive. I would recommend that brand name Sata for you.
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardrive repair, Can it be done???
Hi all I have a failed hardrive from my laptop which has quite a lot of data that i would like to retrieve. I bought a USB external enclosure to try and retrieve the data but it comes up with the message hardrive unreadable. Anyway, I took the hardrive apart and it is not spinning up at all. I...
thecuist Laptop Support 1 05-24-2007 05:40 AM
Having issue with a 2nd hardrive I added to my box
My box is set up like this: IDE1: main hardrive with the OS WIN2K (notpro) IDE set to cable select this is the only device on this IDE IDE2: Primary is CD burner and 2nd is the 2nd hardrive set to cable select. I click on mycomputer and it does not have a drive letter. I open computer management...
rentonhighlands Windows Servers 11 04-24-2007 12:58 PM
Hardrive not recognize by my computer
Hello, I am new to this forum. I have a 60 GB excelstor hardrive that I used as an external one with the help of a USD 2.0 to IDE adapter. My operating system is Windows XP and my computer is a laptop IBM Thinkpad. The hardrive was working well until I plugged back the removable CD drive....
c156787 Hard Drive Support 2 04-14-2007 05:51 AM
Xbox 360 Backwards Compatible
This was not written by me, the views expressed are solely those of the writer. In short the Xbox 360 will be (for the most part) backwards compatible. but one thing I don't get is how these morons can't figure out that the new Xbox 360 is going to cost... dun dun dun dun... $360. They keep...
40sondacurb Console Gaming Support 12 10-01-2005 12:43 AM
Xbox 360 Backwards Compatible
This was not written by me, the views expressed are solely those of the writer. In short the Xbox 360 will be (for the most part) backwards compatible. but one thing I don't get is how these morons can't figure out that the new Xbox 360 is going to cost... dun dun dun dun... $360. They keep...
40sondacurb Gaming Discussion 0 06-08-2005 01:19 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts