Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Cloning HD

This is a discussion on Cloning HD within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am running Win7 64 bits. The drives are SATA drives. There are two bays in my laptop. I made


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-19-2011, 11:41 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Win7


Post

I am running Win7 64 bits. The drives are SATA drives. There are two bays in my laptop.
I made an image of my C partition (where the OS is installed) with Magix PC Check and tuning.
I then placed the new drive in bay 2.
I created a partition on the new drive, which is the same size as the C drive partition on the old drive. I had to give the partition on the new drive a letter: D.
I restored the image using Magix PC Check and tuning. All went well. It did all this under Windows.

I created two other partitions on the new drive (with Win7 Disk manager) and copied the files in the old partitions (only personal data) to the new partitions on the new drive.

I switched the two drives in the bays, but the new drive won't boot.

What did I do wrong?

I tried looking at the built in cloning stuff in Win7 Backup and Restore, but am not sure that will work any better copying the old partition C to the new drive or its partition.

What next?

David
DBoydNL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2011, 03:24 AM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England, UK
Posts: 4,527
OS: Windows 7 x86 SP1



"I restored the image using Magix PC Check and tuning. All went well"


Are you saying the new drive booted into Windows okay before you swapped the drives over? If it did, swap them back again.
pip22 is offline  
Old 09-20-2011, 07:43 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Win7



No, I am saying all went well with the process of restoring the image to the new hard drive. Since Magix works in the Windows environment (at least for this procedure) I partitioned and renamed the additional space on the new drive. THEN I shut down and switched the drives. I guess it actually booted at that point, but when I got back to Windows, I realized I really had no way of knowing which of the two drives it had booted from. When I shut down and removed the old drive, the system would not boot.

David
DBoydNL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2011, 01:08 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
OS: Win7



So, I gave up. Took out the old HD and inserted the Win7 CD/DVD. Tried to fix in several different ways, all to no avail.
Finally decided to just format the C partition (on the new drive), and install Windows 7.
When it was done, I rebooted, which worked fine. So at this point the new drive booted up just fine.
I shut down and put the Old HD in the 1st bay, the new HD in the 2nd bay.
Then I restarted Windows and restored the image to the C partition (by now renamed to D) of the new HD using the software by Magix. Restoration went without a hitch.
Since this was all done under Windows, there was no need to reboot the system; it was working.
I shut down the computer, took out the old HD, and put the new HD in the 1st bay (leaving the old HD out completely).
Upon turning on the computer, the system would not boot. It doesn't tell me there is no bootable drive, it just sits there and blinks at me (underscore character in upper left hand corner).
I have now swapped the HD's and am running Windows from the old HD and the nice, fast, expensive new HD is just sitting there in bay 2, taking up space and generating heat.

What am I doing wrong?
What could the problem be?
What is the solution?

David
DBoydNL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet cafe setup / HD cloning software
Hey guy, I have the task of setting up an Internet cafe business, just wanted to share my plan and ask for some advice. 10 PCs including the server will be connected to the switch the Internet router will be also connected to the switch (16 ports) All assigned the same work group of...
Techbott Networking Support 1 08-27-2011 12:42 PM
Norton Ghost cloning fails
I was cloning a hard drive by having both drives installed on same PC. We had a brownout and computer was turned off. When I turned it back on I get to a screen for choices fot go to Windows or continue with Norton. The one for Windows is not available. The one for Norton takes a long time and...
jll Hard Drive Support 1 07-30-2011 05:02 PM
Upgrading Hard Drive, Cloning Help Please!
Hello, I am upgrading our hard drive to a larger capacity and want to know the easiest way to clone the old drive to the new drive? 1) I utilize a Maxtor One Touch 4 backup drive(external) already but I don't know how to use it for cloning. 2) What would be a good program to use for...
Ralph III Hard Drive Support 1 04-12-2011 05:49 AM
XXCLONE the easy world of boot drive cloning
Welcome to the kindergarten easy world of boot drive cloning. :wave: This project will demonstrate how to make an exact bootable clone (copy) of your existing hard drive. After the cloning process is complete, you may select which ever drive you want to boot from in the future. You shall...
linderman Hard Drive Support 0 12-26-2006 04:59 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts