Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Cant Boot From CD

This is a discussion on Cant Boot From CD within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Right, the pc keeps restarting all the time I went to setup, change to boot from cd_rom and put XP


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-08-2006, 03:19 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
punisher86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 219
OS: XP PRO SP3



Right, the pc keeps restarting all the time
I went to setup, change to boot from cd_rom and put XP cd in, but its not even booting from cd..
Is it hard drive?
punisher86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-08-2006, 03:40 PM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 59
OS:


Are you sure you saved changes before you exited bios?
booyah188 is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 04:52 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
punisher86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 219
OS: XP PRO SP3


Yes I'm sure....
Please, dont post stupid quaestions!!!
I'm looking for a solution, not for silly questions!!!
If u dont know what the problem is, dont reply to this post...

Right, the pc keeps restarting all the time
I went to setup, change to boot from cd_rom and put XP cd in, but its not even booting from cd..
Is it hard drive?
punisher86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-08-2006, 05:00 PM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,471
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System

Quote:
Originally Posted by punisher86 View Post
Yes I'm sure....
Please, dont post stupid quaestions!!!
I'm looking for a solution, not for silly questions!!!
If u dont know what the problem is, dont reply to this post...

Right, the pc keeps restarting all the time
I went to setup, change to boot from cd_rom and put XP cd in, but its not even booting from cd..
Is it hard drive?
Thats not a stupid question its the first thing I would have asked!

Post your temps and voltages here so we can review them

It may also help to turn on BSODs in your computer properties. That way you can have some idea as to what's causing Windows to die, if it isn't a hardware issue.

This can be done by right clicking "my computer"->properties->Advanced->Startup and Recovery Settings
Uncheck the "Automatically restart checkbox.

If you get the BSOD, post the error and DLL that is causing it.
Doby is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 05:23 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
punisher86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 219
OS: XP PRO SP3


I cant actualy get into computer, it keeps restarting!!!
I'm trying to boor the pc from cd, but its not doing it!!!
Can u tell me what might be the problem?
Should I get a new harddrive
I cant get temps and voltages,...
I cant turn on "BSODs in your computer properties"
Is there anyway of reinstaling Windows in my case?
punisher86 is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 05:38 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman
hello


patience is a virtue my good man! we cant see the machine like you can.



if you dont have to save the data thats on the drive now


then I suggest you wipe / erase the drive with boot & nuke free in my signature "My favorite Tools & Links" / Speciality Programs

after wiping and erasing the drive with boot & nuke try running your OS install CD then

post back
linderman is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 08:11 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
kev1952's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Townsville, Australia
Posts: 1,036
OS: Win Vista Home Premium


After gazing into my crystal ball I see a light.

Your hard drive may or may not be faulty but that wouldn't stop the machine from booting from the CD. In your BIOS setup set the CD as the first boot device and then set the second (and the rest) to "Unavailable" (or similar). That way it forces the system to only boot from the CD (assuming that your CD is bootable). It won't stop setup from "seeing" the hard disk (and using it) but it will prevent the system from attempting to boot from the hard disk.

BTW: You did save your BIOS settings when you exited setup, yes????
kev1952 is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 04:30 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
punisher86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 219
OS: XP PRO SP3


Yes, I did save the bios settings when I exited,..
I set CD as the first boot device and as 2nd device, and 3rd hard drive...
And its not booting from cd :(
But I didnt set (the rest) to "Unavailable" (or similar). I'm gona try it today...

My good man "linderman". I posted there I cant get into the pc,so how can I wipe / erase the drive with boot & nuke free in my signature???
punisher86 is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 05:05 AM   #9
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


you d/l it and put it on floppy then boot the computer from the floppy
try a cmos reset
then try setting it to boot from cd again
another way is to d/l the boot floppies from ms
boot from these and then switch over to cd when it asks for it
if you tap f8 when booting will it bring up the boot options menu



dai is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 08:36 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
punisher86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 219
OS: XP PRO SP3


Which one is faster the Kill Disk-Hard Drive Eraser or Boot & nuke?
punisher86 is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 10:32 AM   #11
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


i always use killdisk but i would think there would not be much difference in time between them



dai is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 01:42 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
punisher86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 219
OS: XP PRO SP3


Do you know what these 2 lines mean?
Serial_CH0 Master: Device not found
Serial_CH1 Master: Device not found
I get those messages!!!

And When I put XP cd in and booting from cd, it says" Disk Boot failure, Insert System Disk
punisher86 is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 02:21 PM   #13
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,268
OS:


Quote:
Originally Posted by punisher86 View Post
Do you know what these 2 lines mean?
Serial_CH0 Master: Device not found
Serial_CH1 Master: Device not found
It would appear that the computer is looking for sata drives to boot from. Were you able to reset bios using the jumper on the mother board as dai suggested? Sometimes bios will retain corrupt settings for hours if you do a reset by removing the cmos battery alone.

After you reset cmos, select load defaults in cmos and reboot. Then, under pnp/pci configuration, there should be a setting to "enable reset configuration data" (could also be in boot options). Doing so will re-enumerate hardware resources. It's good to enable that setting whenever you change cmos settings and have issues. The setting is automatically disabled after the reboot.

Try using the secondary ide controller with a new ide cable.

BTW, don't forget to save and exit your bios settings.
hwm54112 is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 03:04 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
punisher86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 219
OS: XP PRO SP3


No, I didnt reset reset bios using the jumper on the mother board...
Do I have to?
Well the computer was working for a long time wit default settings...
All I want to do is to reinstall XP...
And as I said above I get this:
Serial_CH0 Master: Device not found
Serial_CH1 Master: Device not found
And When I put XP cd in and booting from cd, it says" Disk Boot failure, Insert System Disk"
Well just post, what I need to do to fix this problem...
Post clear solution please...
punisher86 is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 03:58 PM   #15
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,268
OS:


Don’t know how much clearer I can be.

Quote:
No, I didnt reset reset bios using the jumper on the mother board...
Do I have to?
Bios (cmos) reset has been suggested twice. It’s pretty obvious- if you set bios to boot from cd and it’s still trying to boot from sata drives anyway, then either you’re not changing the settings properly, your cd rom drive is bad or your bootable cd isn’t (your xp cd is damaged); drive cable (power or data) could be bad

Quote:
Well the computer was working for a long time wit default settings...
Re-read the posts- it says to load the default settings after you clear (reset) bios

Quote:
All I want to do is to reinstall XP...
You can’t re-install windows if you can’t boot from the cd

Quote:
And as I said above I get this:
Serial_CH0 Master: Device not found
Serial_CH1 Master: Device not found
And as I said, it would appear that bios is looking for a sata drive to boot from. That would indicate what was said above about bios being corrupt and the suggestions to reset it

Quote:
And When I put XP cd in and booting from cd, it says" Disk Boot failure, Insert System Disk"
This too indicates one of the above- the computer can’t find a boot disk- it’s looking for sata drives and not the cd-rom drive, or the cd or cd rom drive is defective -the latter (cd or cd-rom problem) is most likely

Quote:
Well just post, what I need to do to fix this problem...
Just do what’s been suggested and see if you can see your hard drives or boot from the cd-rom. If you don’t do what’s suggested, we can’t figure out what’s wrong. You can buy a new hard drive if you want, but that’s not going to fix a corrupt bios, a bad cd-rom drive or a damaged xp disc.

Do you have a sata hard drive? If so, when you get the computer to boot to an XP cd, you will have to install drivers for it while installing XP.

In addition to the above- you may be having memory problems (sometimes you have to remove one stick while doing the install, hyperthreading issues (if your computer supports it you may have to disable it temporarily)(again a potential bios issue) others.
hwm54112 is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 10:02 PM   #16
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,246
OS:


I'm not sure if you could have made that any clearer. My first recommendation would have been to check if you saved the settings, then I probably would have asked you to reset the defaults in the BIOS and try pulling the jumper. Also, if you have Award BIOS, press esc while the system is starting up and you will be presented with a boot menu. Choose CD-Drive from there. Do you know if your CD Drive is fully functional? Do you have it set up in the case properly?

One thing about cases like this is you must always be as specific as possible when describing situations and you must always follow the instructions so our technicians can narrow down the problem and/or fix it. Please review hwm's post as well.

-Eddie
laboye is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 05:09 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
punisher86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 219
OS: XP PRO SP3


Ok, I'm gona try what hmw said today...
Pulling the jumper? what does it mean?
Yes I have the Award BIOS...
punisher86 is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 05:28 AM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
kev1952's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Townsville, Australia
Posts: 1,036
OS: Win Vista Home Premium


You need to open the case ( make sure the power cord to the computer is disconnected!) and look for the CMOS battery (a small coin type battery). Near that battery you will find a three pin jumper block (often marked as "JBAT"). Move the jumper cap and place it across the centre pin and the pin that is currently exposed (if it's currently shorting pins 2&3 then make it short pins1&2). Leave it like that for a few minutes and then return it to it's original position. Reconnect power and test.

You can also do it slightly differently (my preferred method) - when you open the case ( power DISCONNECTED) locate the battery and remove it. Leave it out for 30 mins and then reinsert it. Before you pull it out note the polarity and make sure you put it back in the same way. Again, apply power and test.

What you have achieved (by either method) is a factory reset of your BIOS settings. You will need to reset the date and time (at the very least), save and exit. Let us know if the problem is solved - if not, please post EXACTLY what happens from the time you hit the power switch.
kev1952 is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 11:55 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
punisher86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 219
OS: XP PRO SP3


Right, I tried all the above...
1.Reset the defaults
2.Pulling the jumper(removing batery)
3.CD Rom drive is working
4.My XP cd is working
Right what else u can suggest?
I think its motherboard, what do u think?
should I get new motherboard?
punisher86 is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 11:57 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
punisher86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 219
OS: XP PRO SP3


The CPU is AMD 64 3000+
Which motherboard should I get???
punisher86 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts