Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Can System Partition BackUp Image be Recoverd to a new HD

This is a discussion on Can System Partition BackUp Image be Recoverd to a new HD within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have been using EaseUS Todo BackUp to image the C:Partition of my laptop hard drive at verious stages of


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-24-2012, 01:20 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 46
OS: Win7 64



I have been using EaseUS Todo BackUp to image the C:Partition of my laptop hard drive at verious stages of Windows 7 setup, and sugsequent software installs and settings
.
This utility works very well for making backup images, and then restoring the system, after anything at all goes wrong. I also have these images all backed up on a 1TB external drive.
I have a bootable CD to do the recovery with so that if Windows gets so corupted that It will not boot, I can still restore the system (C) partition.
Now, I am wondering:
if my hard drive were to go completely bad, could I use these backup images to set up a new hard drive? In other words, could I clone the new hard drive using these partitions images from my backup drive?
herkulese is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-24-2012, 02:26 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,646
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Yes, if you are restoring an image to the same computer the image was taken from to a new HDD it would work flawlessly. As long as it is to the same computer and not a different one.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 10-24-2012, 03:25 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 46
OS: Win7 64



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Yes, if you are restoring an image to the same computer the image was taken from to a new HDD it would work flawlessly. As long as it is to the same computer and not a different one.
Yes, I would be restoring to a new HD in the same computer. Would I need to have the new, replacement, drive partitioned exactly as the old one was or would the image do that? This may sound like a silly question, but I am new to this drive imaging thing. I have only created backup images from a partitioned drive with software installed, and then recovered those same images to verify that they were good, and to get back to a clean system after experimenting with drivers, software, etc....
herkulese is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-24-2012, 06:23 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,646
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


You do not need to partition and format the new drive, the image will take care of everything for you when you restore it.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 10-25-2012, 07:46 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 46
OS: Win7 64



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
You do not need to partition and format the new drive, the image will take care of everything for you when you restore it.
Now bare in mind, the backup images are only for the C:Partition, which is 90gb of the entire HD. If I restore this image to an unformated, unpartitioned HD, will it simply recreate the C:Partition, make it active, and leave the remainder of the HD unalocated?

That is OK, as I believe that I could partition the unalocated portion after the fact, correct?
herkulese is offline  
Old 10-25-2012, 05:17 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,646
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Usually when we clone a drive or partition, we are cloning it to a much larger drive. So, cloning software recognizes this and extends the partition to the end of the drive on the new drive if there is no partition.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 10-26-2012, 02:53 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 46
OS: Win7 64



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Usually when we clone a drive or partition, we are cloning it to a much larger drive. So, cloning software recognizes this and extends the partition to the end of the drive on the new drive if there is no partition.
In my last post I was referencing recovering a C:Partition image to am unpartitioned drive, not cloning the drive, so would my last post be correct in that regard?
herkulese is offline  
Old 10-26-2012, 03:20 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,646
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


If by Recover C: partition image you mean to Restore a Clone of C:, the statement still stands. Unless you cloned a partition and not the whole drive. Restoring a clone of a Partition will give you a mirror copy of the partition, the same size. If you made an image of a whole Drive, the restore would fill in the rest of the partition if the new drive is larger then the image.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 10-26-2012, 04:25 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 46
OS: Win7 64



Sorry to be difficult, but no. I am not referring to cloning a partition. Rather I am talking about recovering the existing, much smaller, Backup Image of the 90gb C:partition to a new unpartitioned hard drive.

My hope is that this process would give me my old, clean, complete, active, bootable, system partition, with Win7, all installed drivers and software, settings, etc.... on the new drive, and then allow me to partition the rest of the drive to a D:partition, and simply copy over my backed up data.

Or, I could make a back up image of my d:partition as well, rather than simply copying the data, and recover that image to the unalocated space, then use a partition manager to extend the newly imaged d:partition to the end of the drive.
herkulese is offline  
Old 10-26-2012, 04:27 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,646
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


How did you make your backup image? An Image file is usually using a clone software Ghost, Acronis etc, you have the choice of doing a mirror image clone to another HDD, bit by bit exact mirror image. If the Source HDD fails after cloning, you can replace the Source drive with the Destination drive and be fully functional. The other option is to can make an Image file, which is basically the same thing, a clone, bit by bit mirror image of the partition but it is compressed and it is saved as an ISO file or other .img file to another HDD or DVD. To restore, you must access this file with a boot CD you created using the clone or backup software used to create it to restore to a new hdd.
If you have something different, please tell me.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 10-27-2012, 04:45 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 46
OS: Win7 64



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
How did you make your backup image?
Please go back and read my initial post for this thread, as I explained that all, very clearly, there.
herkulese is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video and Sound lag in full screen videos + 0x116 BSODs
Hello guys... So I have recently formatted my computer and whenever I play a video on fullscreen, the video will lag a lot and the sound will be buggy and cracky.... Also, for example, I am playing Assassin's Creed II at the moment and this also happens in the cut scenes... This has all happened...
rudy_eila BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 28 09-01-2011 02:49 AM
[SOLVED] BSOD 0x9f Vista Home Basic
I am working on my gfs computer trying to get rid of getting a BSOD on a near daily basis. I tried to attach the files requested as one zip but it was too large. OS: Vista x86 (32-bit) or x64 ? 32bit What was original installed OS on system? Vista Home Basic SP 1 Is the OS an OEM version?...
lius69 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 08-18-2011 12:25 PM
BSOD - Driver Power State Failure
Hello, I am new to this forum, which I found online while searching for a fix to a BSOD I'm repeatedly having. I am hoping someone could help me out because it is getting extremely frustrating. The PC is used as a dedicated media center. So having the system go down multiple times during a...
conecommander BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 4 08-17-2011 08:18 PM
For Ried
Hi there is a attachment ark.zip with 'dds' and 'ark'. . DDS (Ver_11-05-19.01) - NTFSx86 Internet Explorer: 8.0.6001.18702 BrowserJavaVersion: 1.6.0_13 Run by Owner at 22:01:08 on 2011-05-29 Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.1.2600.3.1252.1.1033.18.959.243 . AV: McAfee Anti-Virus and...
Nela09 Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 78 06-09-2011 07:32 PM
BSOD Driver power failure
OS- Windows 7 32 bit Os is original Os is pre-installed on system less than 6 months old OS has not been reinstalled Intel(R) core(TM) i5 CPU M 580 @2.67GHZ NVIDIA NVS 3100M
fatboy_2u BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 04-05-2011 02:47 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts