Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Best way to save computer Games to my salve Drive

This is a discussion on Best way to save computer Games to my salve Drive within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Just installed a Seagate 250G hard drive and when I save a game to my slave hard drive it install


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-24-2006, 03:24 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Baltimore MD
Posts: 34
OS: xp



Just installed a Seagate 250G hard drive and when I save a game
to my slave hard drive it install the files, but not in a folder. I then
create a folder and when I browse it is placed in that folder. Is their
an easier way? Also installed one game which was the main game on
my f drive and go to install the expansion pack, even it is installed on
my slave drive, I am being told the I have to have the orginal game.
The expansion pack game does not see the main game on my Slave
drive. Can some help
Duvall
Takumba06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-24-2006, 04:37 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,081
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit


Welcome, Takumba.

When you are installing the game, you should be given the option to select which drive and which folder to install to. What I suggest you do is make a new folder on your slave drive each time you want to install a game, name the folder as the name of the game, and then select that folder as the install location when installing the game.

When you install an expansion pack, you will most likely need to make sure it goes into the same folder as the original game.
Indoril Nerevar is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 05:08 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Baltimore MD
Posts: 34
OS: xp



Thanks Indoril for your reply
I was installing Command & Conquer Generals Zero Hour and
the install never got to the part to allow me to select a drive
or folder. The expansion pack looked for the main game and
regetted the install. Maybe I should install on my primary drive,
then install the expansion on the slave. Then uninstall the main
game off my computer. That might work.
Thanks
Takumba06 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-24-2006, 05:24 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,081
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit


When you installed the original game, did you install it in a folder of its own, and not move it? If you move game files after installation, problems are bound to come up.

I recommend uninstalling both the original and the expansion pack, and then reinstall both, following the steps in my previous post. Usually, you aren't able to select where the expansion pack goes - it should just go automatically into the same folder as the original game.
Indoril Nerevar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts