Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Backing up a drive, how?

This is a discussion on Backing up a drive, how? within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. so, i have 4 SATA 250gb drives. im pretty sure my main drive going out. its hard to get it


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-28-2005, 08:01 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 119
OS:



so, i have 4 SATA 250gb drives.

im pretty sure my main drive going out. its hard to get it to boot fully, and durning boot it make a horrid clicking sound.

my question is, is there a program that i could get a full back up of this drive, and put it all on to another drive? and pretty much have the new drive run like the last(i.e. same programs, reg edits, so on).

feel free to ask me questions if need be. i know enough to answer most of them, hopefully that is, haha.

thanks in advance,
Vern.
absentlySocial is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-28-2005, 08:39 PM   #2
Manager, The Conversation Pit/Analyst, Security Team
 
bry623's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NW Territory circa 1787
Posts: 14,513
OS: window7pro sp1 64bit


Send a message via MSN to bry623
Try this free trialware
bry623 is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 05:03 AM   #3
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,747
OS:


Most HD manufacturers will have HD utility programs to copy or "clone your exsiting hard drive to a new drive. i.e. Maxtor Maxblast, Seagate DiscWizard, Westerndigital DataLifeguard Tools.
crazijoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-01-2005, 02:28 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
usaf_ret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 332
OS: win7/Win ME/XP



Not sure if this is what you are referring to but I purchased a larger hard drive about a year ago and someone referred me to "XXCopy"" which worked to perfection in making an exact copy of my old hard drive onto the new one. It can be found at xxcopy.com AND IS FREE..
usaf_ret is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 03:08 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 119
OS:


usaf_ret, everything you transfered worked fine(i.e. games/programs and such)?
absentlySocial is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 04:28 PM   #6
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10


I'm almost certain that XXCOPY will not copy 2K/XP and yield a bootable image. I do believe it will copy W9x, and perhaps ME.
johnwill is offline  
Old 03-01-2005, 07:44 PM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 119
OS:


know of one that will?
absentlySocial is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 04:23 AM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 448
OS:


Smile

Ghost or Drive Image will. Ghost creates a bootable floppy that is used to make a image of your drive as I believe Drive Image does too. They aren't free though.

But if a image is all you are looking for in order to replace a drive, do as crazijoe suggested. Get the HD manufacturers utility.
Charlie
charliep1 is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 05:51 AM   #9
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,747
OS:


MaxBlast
https://www.maxtor.com/portal/site/Ma...&downloadID=58

Seagate DiscWizard
https://www.seagate.com/support/disc/...s/discwiz.html

WD DataLifeGuard Tools
https://wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc....bG9uZQ**&p_li=
crazijoe is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 07:49 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
usaf_ret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 332
OS: win7/Win ME/XP



Go to xxcopy.com and check it out......it says for xp..
usaf_ret is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 08:25 AM   #11
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 39
OS:


is your SATA on a Raid configuration? (silly me) what raid configuration you have?
music21 is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 10:31 AM   #12
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10


Quote:
Originally Posted by usaf_ret
Go to xxcopy.com and check it out......it says for xp..
I suggest that since you don't believe me, you try it for yourself. While they specify that it functions for XP, you didn't do your homework. I refer you specifically to XXCOPY TECHNICAL BULLETIN #10. Unless I failed reading comprehension, the meaning of this paragraph is clear:

As of this writing, we do not have a simple solution to reliably
produce a bootable system disk for an NT4/2000/XP system using
the XXCOPY utility.
johnwill is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 11:18 AM   #13
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 122
OS:


AbsentlySocial,

I've used the Western Digital tool to do this and it has worked flawlessly without a hitch. Everything boots up fine with no mess or problem at all, in my experience, even going from IDE to SATA. It's not the prettiest program in the world, but it does what it's supposed to. :)

I'm sure the other manufacturers' similar tools are fine as well.
TwistedBard is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 02:10 PM   #14
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 119
OS:


no raid.

and im not 100% sure what my hard drives brands are. though i do see "WD"s in the names, heh.
absentlySocial is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 02:48 PM   #15
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 122
OS:


Then it sounds like if you go to westerdndigital.com and download their tool, you should be fine.
TwistedBard is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 11:19 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
usaf_ret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 332
OS: win7/Win ME/XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwill
I suggest that since you don't believe me, you try it for yourself. While they specify that it functions for XP, you didn't do your homework. I refer you specifically to XXCOPY TECHNICAL BULLETIN #10. Unless I failed reading comprehension, the meaning of this paragraph is clear:

As of this writing, we do not have a simple solution to reliably
produce a bootable system disk for an NT4/2000/XP system using
the XXCOPY utility.
It appears as though I have offended you, johnwill, by my post regarding xxcopy and, if so, I sincerely apologize! My post was merely a suggestion, not a solution. I am placing this apology here because my offending post was here, I will also send johnwill an apology via email. I am farrrrr from being an expert on XP and would definitely not give anyone "fix-it" advice on XP.. I hope you see this post johnwill and accept my apology. To the originator of this forum: I hope you found your solution and hope my "suggestion" did not lead you astray.
usaf_ret is offline  
Old 03-04-2005, 10:43 AM   #17
Citizen of the world
 
johnwill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,041
OS: Win10


No apology necessary, just trying to make sure that someone doesn't go down the wrong path and waste lots of time trying something that can't work.

I would suggest that after someone makes a statement such as my first one, that it's prudent to do a bit more research before pushing on with the suggestion. It should raise some doubt in your mind when someone is so positive and apparently knows what they're talking about.
johnwill is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts