Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

Access sata boot drive in another cpu?

This is a discussion on Access sata boot drive in another cpu? within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I've a Vista 64bit laptop who's motherboard just died. While under repair can I take the SATA boot drive,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-20-2011, 06:07 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
OS: vista sp2 64bit



Hi,

I've a Vista 64bit laptop who's motherboard just died. While under repair can I take the SATA boot drive, mount into a usb/firewire desktop enclosure and access my files on another windows system, without damaging the normal boot functions of the drive? Ie I'd like to access some files while my laptop is away for 10 days being repaired. When my system comes back I'd want to just reinstall the disk drive. But I don't want to risk not being able to boot back up if windows will modify the drive some way.

thanks et
eat_technical is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-20-2011, 06:12 AM   #2
Administrator
Manager, Microsoft Support
Acting Manager, Security
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
Microsoft Windows Insider MVP
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 34,338
OS: Windows 10, 8.1 + Windbg :)



Try the USB/ SATA adapter.

I don't foresee any issues, but there are no absolute guarantees in life, either.

With new mobo, you really should reinstall the OS, then validate it -

Genuine Microsoft Software

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

`
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 02-20-2011, 07:34 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
OS: vista sp2 64bit



Thanks for the quick reply.

Follow up question, Can you boot a laptop SATA disk bya desktop enclosure?
eat_technical is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-20-2011, 10:31 AM   #4
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,468
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by eat_technical View Post
Thanks for the quick reply.

Follow up question, Can you boot a laptop SATA disk bya desktop enclosure?
That almost never works....
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SATA drive details not shown in Bios
Hi A little help if you can. I have just rebuilt my computer after a motherboard fail and am having a little issue with one of the drives and wonderd if you can help. The spec is as follows: MB - Gigabyte GA-h55m-ud2h CPU - i3
Powerlines2000 Hard Drive Support 11 03-31-2011 01:47 AM
Computer won't boot after installing SATA dvd drive
I'm completely stumped. I have a 160 gb sata hd that i keep my OS and program files on, and a 500 gb sata hd that I store media on. The 160 is in SATA1, 500 in SATA2. Not set up RAID. I was ripping music onto my computer and a CD blew up inside the dvd rom. Not sure on the terminology,...
symetre Hard Drive Support 1 02-18-2011 01:44 PM
[SOLVED] VCExpress Problem, Probably AppData\Permissions Problem?
I think it should be related to this forum because I think the problem is something with AppData \ Permissions which is related to Windows 7. I'm having a problem while running\installing Visual C++. The problem started 2 days ago, it did work before. When I'm trying to run I'm getting this...
benben12 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 8 02-09-2011 12:45 PM
Lag in Dragon Age: Origins
I have Dragon Age: Origins Ultimate Edition for the PC. My PC surpasses the minimum requirements for the game and it runs really well for about an hour until it begins to get really sluggish. Around this point the loading times will increase and the frame rate will drop. What would cause that? ...
AndyJP PC Gaming Support 9 01-30-2011 06:47 AM
Want to Build a New Intel or AMD System / Revised 2012 and updated regularly
https://i.imgur.com/puBh9u1.png https://i.imgur.com/TTntwDe.pngPlease note that this post is out of date! Please review our newest and always up-to-date thread here: https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f255/tsf-hardware-teams-recommended-builds-2013-a-668661.html
linderman Building 1 01-11-2010 05:08 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts