Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

2 separate drives or 1 split formatted SSD?

This is a discussion on 2 separate drives or 1 split formatted SSD? within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. A little background first... I'm looking into a solution for my company. We process a lot of graphics and are


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-05-2014, 01:41 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 8.1


Question

A little background first...
I'm looking into a solution for my company. We process a lot of graphics and are currently holding over 500gb of dropbox data on our computers. Which means my team of 4 syncs all of this info to their individual computers. a new process is coming, but in the meantime, this data is seriously degrading the performance of our PCs.

Question:
A single Solid State drive, but formatted into two (1 for OS, apps an 1 for data, as above). Work?

OR
A laptop with 2 hard drives - a small SSD drive for OS and important applications, then a regular Hard drive for our dropbox or other data - this will help performance, right?

Our debate is over a brand new Mac Book Pro or a high performance gaming laptop PC. We need performance - our machines take about 15 minutes to start up outlook in the mornings. A good 35 minutes before our dropbox is synced, etc and we're ready to work.

I'm happy to elaborate on more details if needed. What would you do?
serenosteve is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-05-2014, 02:03 PM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,257
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Before going with equipment have you tried: Dropbox>Preferences>Bandwidth>Don't Limit for Upload and similar for download?
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 11-05-2014, 02:07 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 8.1



Yes - and also have tried Selective Sync.
serenosteve is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-05-2014, 02:27 PM   #4
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,257
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


There's really no such thing as a high performance gaming laptop. The drawback to the fast SSD is a low limit on storage. The 2 HD laptop seems reasonable even with 1 SSD. You'll get other opinions here shortly I'm sure.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 11-06-2014, 03:45 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
BIGBEARJEDI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Big Bear, Calif., USA
Posts: 2,020
OS: XPsp3-Win8.1,Win10v1709FCU, Ubuntu16.04,Zorin,ISOLinux, Android4.3,CiscoIOS

My System


Since you are connecting to an Internet resource over a network connection, have you considered building a server for this application? Something like Microsoft Windows Server 2008 r2; or Windows Server 2012? Why not put in a RAID ARRAY into the Server with SFT RAID0 to RAID60 or purchase a low-cost NAS box and hang that on the network backbone at your office? If you want to eliminate latencies on loading in Outlook; the correct way to do this is to either run Exchange on a X64 or ia64 platform. We used to run E-mail for 5,000 Employees with a Exchange E-mail client-server setup with all employees running Outlook for client-side E-mail app. Shared folders and E-mail logins were typically under 3 min. from PC/laptop power-on to E-mail pulldown.

You might consider giving your local IBM office a call. They have a global network consulting office in most major US cities and like 120 countries or more worldwide. Your delay times are a function of using conumer-based products instead of corporate IT solutions.
p.s. Yes, I used to work for IBM and did consulting and design for them so I can vouch for the quality of the work they do. Even if you don't go with them, they can suggest a solution that may not have occurred to you, and you have the freedom to shop it over town and get the best price. And, no they're not paying me anything to tell you this!

<<<BIGBEARJEDI>>>
BIGBEARJEDI is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Split hard drives
I have a 500gb hard drive on my laptop, split into two 250gb drives. I was uploading my cd's to itunes when the first hard disk filled up and instead of using up space in the second drive, it seemed to automatically free up space in the first. It didn't prompt me to delete files or replace any. I...
marco1985 Hard Drive Support 2 02-05-2012 03:51 AM
Second-hand USB drives riddled with malware, Sophos finds
Two thirds of a random assortment of USB flash drives bought second-hand at an Australian rail company lost property auction turned out to be infected with malware, security company Sophos has reported. Despite being light-hearted and not particularly scientific, the survey offers an alarming...
Glaswegian Computer Security News 0 12-07-2011 12:02 PM
SSD booting challenge
Hello I recently purchased a new Gateway FX6860-UR20P RT and a 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, which I want to set up as the boot disk to improve overall system performance. After reading numerous forum threads on the topic of setting up an SSD as a boot disk I did the following: (i) Install the SDD...
gdcowan Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 0 11-01-2011 09:31 PM
Hardware/software issues w/ hard drive test/wipe system setup + REWARD!
Please note: NOT spam or an ad...just a really really long, detailed, and desperate post... Hello all competent techs! Let me preface this problem with my willingness to pay a reasonable fee for a solution, or for consultation resulting in a successful solution. If someone solves my problem...
axio Hard Drive Support 2 10-24-2011 03:58 PM
Reformat SSD, What about the sofware RAID on 2 other drives?
Hi, I currently have my OS (Win 7 Ultimate - 64bit) installed on my SSD. Using the Windows RAID tool, I set up a RAID 1 (Mirror) with 2 other 1TB drives. When I reformat my SSD and reload my OS again, what will happen to the array? Should I unplug the drives before I begin reformatting? Break...
jckburns7 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 0 05-15-2011 09:56 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts