Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Hard Drive Support

User Tag List

1 tb seagate cannot be repaired

This is a discussion on 1 tb seagate cannot be repaired within the Hard Drive Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I was unzipping a 800mb or so rar file from my laptop to my external harddrive until it froze. Since


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-03-2018, 12:40 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 132
OS: xp sp2



I was unzipping a 800mb or so rar file from my laptop to my external harddrive until it froze. Since it was taking a long time to safely remove the device I had remove the device without waiting for the safe prompt. when I plugged the external hdd, it prompts that it is defective, contain errors or something and needs to be repaired. when I tried to repair it, it says that it cannot be repaired. I can still access the files, or the device can be opened but Im not sure if I could copy the files within it but I sure cant save files into it. And when I tried chkdsk in the cmd, it says that the device is RAW. When I try to remove it , it says that the device is currently in use when it isn not. So I have to shut down the laptop to remove it safely,

What should I do? can I still repair this? Can I still recover the files?
mytonpadi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-03-2018, 12:47 AM   #2
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,979
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Do not write ANY further data to the Hard drive
First up, backup all the files to which you have access to on to your PC. any work that we do on the Ext HDD needs to be done after Data is safely backed up, so grab all the files and put them in a place on your computer.

Next power down the laptop and disconnect the external hard drive, power on the laptop and once it's up, connect the hard drive to a different USB port and give it a few seconds to settle down, what happens ?

No luck, download and run an application called Test Disk, which will help repair the partition table if it's corrupt ( Google should help you with instructions) this should help resolve the issue.
tristar is offline  
Old 01-03-2018, 02:41 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 132
OS: xp sp2



Is it really possible to back up data? since when I tried to click any where of the window of the data (windows explorer), it would not respond. Or would it respond eventually, I just have to wait?
mytonpadi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-03-2018, 02:48 AM   #4
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,979
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



"I can still access the files, or the device can be opened but Im not sure if I could copy the files within it but I sure cant save files into it"

You had provided this in your post, so you're not able to access any files within the disk ? (I was surprised as to how you were able to view the files when the disk was RAW)

There is an application called Clonezilla (no Windows version) or EaseUS Backup free, others might be able to provide suggestions on similar applications, you can use this and Backup the entire Disk as an Image file on your laptop, provided you have enough free space on your laptop.

Then you can run TestDisk and rebuild the partition table. Once you do this, IMMEDIATELY backup all files to your PC or another restore location.
tristar is offline  
Old 01-03-2018, 03:08 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 132
OS: xp sp2



I was able to view the files but I cannot select and do any actions (so far since I didnt have the patience) without having the windows explorer not responding.

Okay. Ill try the EaseUS but I doubt I have enought space to back it all up. Hopefully there is an option to select which files Id prefer to backup.
mytonpadi is offline  
Old 01-03-2018, 03:16 AM   #6
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,979
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



I'm not sure if you'll be able to do a selective Backup and that would not be a recommended approach, it's always good to back it up as a full Disk Image file so we can manipulate that in the future.

If you can, borrow a friend's external HDD or if you have a Desktop computer, back it up over the network to that Desktop (Could be slow, but for lack of a better option)
tristar is offline  
Old 01-03-2018, 05:41 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 132
OS: xp sp2



How about if I just reformat my 1tb? I can access it if I just skip scan and repair and proceed without scanning. I already backed up my needed files. Will reformatting repair the damage?

Im afraid of running test disk as it seems complicated on the later part.
mytonpadi is offline  
Old 01-03-2018, 05:51 AM   #8
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,979
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



There appears to be no Physical damage, If you have all files backed up, yep you can format the drive and start using it. I'd recommend doing a full format and NOT the Quick one.

Once it's done, it's wise to run your manufacturer's drive test tool (SeaTools or WD Tools etc, you can download this off the Manufacturer's website) and run all tests to make sure they're clean and pass through.

If all's well, you're good to go.
tristar is offline  
Old 01-03-2018, 12:06 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,645
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Since this is a Seagate drive you would want to run Seatools for Windows on it. Run the Short and Long Diagnostic tests. If it fails either one, then the drive needs to be replaced. However, The USB Controller inside the enclosure may have failed, and the drive may still be good.
How long have you had the External Seagate drive? If you have had it for less then a year, you can send it back to Seagate for a free replacement. If over a year, you may try disassembling the enclosure and remove the HDD within. Then attach the drive to a USB Adapter, Dock or Enclosure with a Power Adapter.
If the drive is recognized in Disk Management, but the file system is RAW or Unallocated Space, and you want to recover the files off of the drive, you can make an Image of the drive using HDD RAW copy tool. Save the image to another drive, and then Use data recovery programs like the free TestDisk to scan the Image, not the drive to try and recover the files and save them to another drive of the same size or larger. I have had the best luck with GetDataBack.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-03-2018, 01:09 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 132
OS: xp sp2



Oh my God! I was doing a full format and my laptop just suddenly restarted. Now my external hdd appears only as a drive that is not accessible because it is not a recognized.
mytonpadi is offline  
Old 01-03-2018, 01:51 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,645
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
I was doing a full format
A full format (erase) of what? your external HDD? If so, go to Disk Management, what does it say about your Drive?
Please update your profile. It states you are running Windows XP SP2? Please fill in your current computer specs say we can help you further.
Quote:
If the drive is recognized in Disk Management, but the file system is RAW or Unallocated Space, and you want to recover the files off of the drive, you can make an Image of the drive using HDD RAW copy tool. Save the image to another drive, and then Use data recovery programs like the free TestDisk to scan the Image, not the drive to try and recover the files and save them to another drive of the same size or larger. I have had the best luck with GetDataBack.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-03-2018, 03:56 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 832
OS: Win98SE



Can you show us a SMART report?

https://crystalmark.info/software/Cr...o/index-e.html

BTW, Seagate now has a useful tool called SeaChest:

https://forum.hddguru.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=36158
fzabkar is offline  
Old 01-04-2018, 12:15 AM   #13
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,979
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



You can still restart the laptop, connect the device to another USB port and use any of the Manufacturer's utility and you should be able to format it.

or as spunk suggested, use the Disk Mgmt to do the same.
tristar is offline  
Old 01-04-2018, 02:43 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 132
OS: xp sp2



I was able to do a quick format on the right click menu on the external hdd. I used chkdsk and seatools short generic test to check for errors and none so far. I didnt do the Long one because it takes an awfully long time. So far, my hdd is working. I am able to write in it. Is there a need to worry myself still?
mytonpadi is offline  
Old 01-04-2018, 10:40 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,645
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


It depends on type of Check Disk you did. If you did chkdsk /F or /P it would check the file system, much like the Seagate Short Diagnostic test.
If you did chkdsk /R, much like the Seagate Long test, this takes considerably longer because it checks for Bad Sectors and marks those sectors Bad so Windows won't write data to them.
To be absolutely certain that your HDD is in good functioning order, you should take the time to do the Seagate Long test.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-05-2018, 03:53 AM   #16
Elite Commander
 
VividProfessional's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Merseyside Uk
Posts: 1,406
OS: Windows 10

My System

Send a message via MSN to VividProfessional

sadly if this is one of the STx000BM000X range, and you have used it for more than 2,400 hours then its probably dead. I have have around 100-140 ST3000BM001's fail (I only bought four I think) so much so I now just use the platters as coasters - much more reliable.
I would when you replace the disk personally steer clear of the Seagate brand.
VividProfessional is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seagate Barracuda 1tb Not Showing in My Computer
Just installed new 1tb Seagate Barracuda hard drive. It's showing up in bios, and in device manager. Not showing in my computer . I have two SSD's installed.One contains my OS Windows 7 64 bit . Other is for storage just as the Seagate will be used for storage. In my computer it lists my drives...
Out2Frag Hard Drive Support 18 11-13-2014 12:21 AM
Harddrive messed up will not format
Hi ive got a samsing SP1213N IDE HDD that i want to do a full format on. Im using a software called low level format tool 4.25 the free version you will probebally be aware of it. The problem i have is every software i use to format the drive errors either at the begining or half way through. ...
Morgiee101 Hard Drive Support 10 03-17-2012 03:07 PM
Seagate USB 2.0 Cable hard drive initializing problem
Hello , I am facing a problem since past two days with my seagate USB 2.0 External hard drive 500GB USB connects the drive properly but it was not at all listed in the drive list, when i checked from disk management then i found the problem was with initialization, but when i attempted to...
Rahul Srivastav Hard Drive Support 2 11-08-2011 12:21 AM
Seagate to buy Samsung's hard disk drive business
Seagate to buy Samsung's hard disk drive business - Yahoo! News
Old Rich Tweakers 3 04-19-2011 01:06 PM
Self-encrypting drive sales on the up, claims Seagate
Disk maker Seagate claims it is finally making some headway in its attempts to get businesses to start buying its self-encrypting drive (SED) products, with a tripling in sales in the last two quarters. The company is now quoting total sales figures of “more than 1 million,” which is not...
Glaswegian Computer Security News 0 02-14-2011 02:35 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts