Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Automotive Center > Talk Car

User Tag List

Using 100 amps battery tester

This is a discussion on Using 100 amps battery tester within the Talk Car forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am interested in buying a 100 amps car battery tester . Are they worth buying and accurate enough to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-29-2017, 08:33 AM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,521
OS: Windows XP Pro & Win. 10 Home



I am interested in buying a 100 amps car battery tester .
Are they worth buying and accurate enough to test health of the car battery ?

Using 100 amps battery tester loader to test health of a car battery.
Does one need to fully charge your car battery before, in order to do this test in order to get an accurate reading ? And you do the test when the car is not running right ?

Thanks


Zhong
zhong is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2017, 08:53 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
Done_Fishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brit living in Greece
Posts: 12,283
OS: WinME, WinXP Pro SP3, Win7(x64), Linux distros incl. Ubuntu 9.10 & Netbook Remix & CD2USB, Slax6.1

My System


if your battery isn't properly charged it may not give out enough amps to be able to check it!
__________________
.


.
I'm not old!!
I'm age impaired

..
D_F


I DON'T PLAY GAMES


HDD DIAG UTILS

TSF's Photographer's Corner



How to Use Ubuntu to Recover Windows files
Done_Fishin is offline  
Old 07-30-2017, 09:08 AM   #3
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,609
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01






https://www.amazon.com/Schumacher-BT.../dp/B000AMBOI0
SpywareDr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-30-2017, 09:20 AM   #4
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,049
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Most dealers load test a battery as part of an oil change. IMO, replace a battery before you get stranded. After 5 years you're on borrowed time. If you must buy the device, be very careful when using it.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 07-30-2017, 09:28 AM   #5
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,013
OS: Win7



Those old toaster style testers are not as accurate on newer 500 + amp batteries, same goes for the alternator test it will overload older units while underloading newer high amp alternators. You can get better results using a digital voltmeter and the starter motor to load the circuit.

Electronic testers used in most auto shops today are more accurate and give a better indication of battery state for marginal batteries but out the price range for most home users.
Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet works but internet browsers won't open...
My internet browsers and internet browsing related software (such as updaters and uninstallers and installers) just won't open... I only have two internet browsers Firefox(Mostly used) and Google Chrome. Everytime I try to open it, the cursor will turn into the "Working in desktop" cursor...
ZenNaari Networking Support 10 12-28-2012 02:39 AM
Laptop won't boot windows part 2
Hello, I had another thread, Laptop won't boot windows . It worked great for awhile but the laptop kept slowing down, so bad that once a week I would have to run disk check. Then about two weeks ago windows wouldn't load my profile instead it would load a "temporary profile". I couldn't save...
bleer Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 20 12-26-2012 04:38 PM
TR/Trash.Gen Trojan
Hi Folks, After a few days of slow responses on the pc, and suspicious things like ATF Cleaner saying there were no temp files to delete when I figured there should be, I decided to run some scans. Both MBAM and Avira notified me of a trojan on my pc. Both said they had quarantined it but...
RobinHamilton Resolved HJT Threads 6 02-15-2012 01:12 PM
Lag in Dragon Age: Origins
I have Dragon Age: Origins Ultimate Edition for the PC. My PC surpasses the minimum requirements for the game and it runs really well for about an hour until it begins to get really sluggish. Around this point the loading times will increase and the frame rate will drop. What would cause that? ...
AndyJP PC Gaming Support 9 01-30-2011 06:47 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts