Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Automotive Center > Talk Car

User Tag List

Engine Flushing - worth it?

This is a discussion on Engine Flushing - worth it? within the Talk Car forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey all! In October we replaced our Lancer with a Jeep Liberty. Since we bought a used vehicle I can't


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-31-2013, 01:27 PM   #1
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
ebackhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 18,118
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System

Send a message via ICQ to ebackhus Send a message via AIM to ebackhus Send a message via MSN to ebackhus Send a message via Yahoo to ebackhus Send a message via Skype™ to ebackhus

Hey all!

In October we replaced our Lancer with a Jeep Liberty. Since we bought a used vehicle I can't say much about how faithfully the previous owner(s) changed fluids and performed maintenance. Being a Jeep it already has pretty low MPG but I'd like to do what I can to restore it to what it was when new. I was just reading about engine flushing on another site and it seems many manufacturers actually advise against it now. Is this just to sell more cars down the road or due to a legitimate non-need? I'd like to do it just to have a clean engine.
ebackhus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-31-2013, 02:17 PM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,069
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


It's more the long lasting qualities of the Coolant available these days. I still believe in flushing. If you can still find the Prestone kit that you put on the heater hose (after splicing), it's the easiest way to flush. The coolant doesn't actually lose its ability to prevent freezing, but it does cause acid buildup and loses anti-rust protection which does a job on the radiator and heater core. The "mouse milk" that DuPont used to make isn't around any more. It did extend the anti rust properties of the coolant. Maybe someone knows of a substitute that's compatible with modern anti-freeze.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 12-31-2013, 02:18 PM   #3
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,019
OS: Win7



Coolant flush or Crankcase flush?

Just change the extended life coolant after 5-7 years.

If you use good engine oil and change it according to the maintenance schedule(usually 5,000-7,500 miles your good.
Wrench97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-31-2013, 02:23 PM   #4
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,069
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


In Post#2 I stuck to the cooling system. As far as mixing kerosene with oil to flush the engine, that went out when I left my step-father's shop (1955).
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 12-31-2013, 02:28 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
ebackhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 18,118
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System

Send a message via ICQ to ebackhus Send a message via AIM to ebackhus Send a message via MSN to ebackhus Send a message via Yahoo to ebackhus Send a message via Skype™ to ebackhus

Crankcase flush in this case. The AC and heating systems seem to be running perfectly.
ebackhus is offline  
Old 12-31-2013, 02:39 PM   #6
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,069
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Nah! I'd skip it. If you're really concerned, there are labs that will do a chemical analysis of your used oil.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 12-31-2013, 02:42 PM   #7
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,019
OS: Win7



Yep do not flush the engine, all motor oil that meets the current API ratings have plenty of detergents in the additive package.
If you are concerned just look at the bottom of the oil fill cap or top of the dipstick if you find black sludge then maybe the precious owner(s) didn't change the oil just use a good oil and change it 2500 miles a couple of times that should clean it up, or a chocolate milkshake looking substance you have a coolant leak into the crankcase.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 12-31-2013, 02:57 PM   #8
Gone | Not Forgotten
 
Basementgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 14,581
OS: XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 64 bit



I would not flush it with out a good reason. Change the anti freeze if you think it needs it.

BG
__________________

ASAP member since 2006

Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.

Basementgeek is offline  
Old 12-31-2013, 03:59 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
ebackhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 18,118
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System

Send a message via ICQ to ebackhus Send a message via AIM to ebackhus Send a message via MSN to ebackhus Send a message via Yahoo to ebackhus Send a message via Skype™ to ebackhus

The coolant looks great when checked at the recovery tank. I didn't change the oil myself since I get $5 changes for the term of my financing. I didn't get to see if a spoon was needed to get it out. When checking at the stick it seemed to darken at the expected rate.
ebackhus is offline  
Old 12-31-2013, 04:15 PM   #10
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,069
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


If you want to spend a few bucks get the tranny fluid replaced by the new device that sucks the old stuff out, thereby doing a complete changeover and refill rather than the ⅓ most dealers did in the past unless they were willing to take all day.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 12-31-2013, 04:32 PM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
ebackhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 18,118
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System

Send a message via ICQ to ebackhus Send a message via AIM to ebackhus Send a message via MSN to ebackhus Send a message via Yahoo to ebackhus Send a message via Skype™ to ebackhus

I'm used to driving a manual with a sealed tranny. Is the drain plug for the tranny just oddly placed or something?
ebackhus is offline  
Old 12-31-2013, 04:49 PM   #12
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,019
OS: Win7



No the trans holds 8+ quarts but most of it is in the torque converter, there is no drain plug on most of them you have to drop the oil pan to get the oil out and access the filter/screen. The torque converter has not had a plug to drain the oil since the mid 1960's so you only get 3-4 qts out by dropping the pan, the additive package in the new oil theoretically will replenish all whats needed when mixed with the old oil still in it.

Ford had a "debris" problem in the late 90's and developed the flush system to extended the trans life(or at least get it out of the warranty period) shops have been selling the service for all autos ever since...................
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 12-31-2013, 06:20 PM   #13
Gone | Not Forgotten
 
Basementgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 14,581
OS: XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 64 bit



I think my 85 Totoya had a drain plug :>)

Sucking the oil out does not let you change the filter.

BG
__________________

ASAP member since 2006

Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.

Basementgeek is offline  
Old 01-04-2014, 10:28 AM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Big Prairie Mi.
Posts: 1,560
OS: win7-64, BSD and no more 10

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Basementgeek View Post
I think my 85 Totoya had a drain plug :>)

Sucking the oil out does not let you change the filter.

BG
Exactly, this is why you don't see drain plugs on automatic transmissions. Manufacturers want you to change the filter when the fluid is changed.
kendallt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
~*~Mixed Bag of Problems~*~
Hi, everyone! I have had a lot of problems with my computer lately and I'm hoping someone would be able to help me out. The most pressing issue right now is that my e-mail is sending out Spam links when I'm not even on my computer. The first time it happened, I changed my password, but tonight the...
TabbyCat725 Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 156 07-09-2012 07:50 PM
Help Please
Dear Sirs My computer crashed on Sunday night 18.03.2012. I can now only open it in safe mode. On Sunday night I was removing what I thought to be dangerous files, using my Antivirus Program Microsoft Security Essentials when the computer crashed. There were 4 Files that I was attempting...
Jack Willday Resolved HJT Threads 83 05-01-2012 02:51 PM
Google searches being redirected
Occasionally when I Google something it will redirect me to another website. I already tried using Malwarebytes and SuperAntispyware, both did not work. There seems to be nothing wrong with my laptop other than the Google redirects. I ran the dds file from the stickied thread, this is what i...
bobojenkins Inactive Malware Help Topics 2 01-27-2012 03:49 AM
Virus: Network card, USB, Audio
Hello, It seems like I've run into quite the virus lately and was hoping that someone could help me out. While everything was working fine I tried to plug in a USB mouse and had no success. When I went to plug it in nothing popped up that it was recognized, so I decided to restart my laptop,...
Ajjr108 Inactive Malware Help Topics 0 11-04-2011 01:43 PM
XP Anti-Virus 2011
I have this Virus called XP Anti-Virus 2011, i restarted my computer and tryed safe mode, but the start menu wont load in any mode, i cant open Firefox to download any anti virus or anything it blocked it, all my icons/start menu is gone it just shows background. Ive tryed looking on google but...
Plus2112 Inactive Malware Help Topics 13 06-10-2011 08:34 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts