Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Zalman CPU Fan + Motherboard [RESOLVED]

This is a discussion on Zalman CPU Fan + Motherboard [RESOLVED] within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hey, i currently have a Zalman CNPS9700NT CPU fan on a GIGABYTE GA-M61P-S3 motherboard and everytime i go to boot


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-05-2007, 04:39 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
OS:



hey, i currently have a Zalman CNPS9700NT CPU fan on a GIGABYTE GA-M61P-S3 motherboard and everytime i go to boot up about 5 seconds after the logo is shown the fan slowly starts to stop then stops. (the led also gets dimmer)

i tried the stock fan and it works perfect so im not sure if its got to do with auto fan speed, voltages etc..

any help is GREATLY appreciated as this fan cost me $95
thanks heaps,
michael
stealthtemplate is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-05-2007, 08:43 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Terrister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: West Georgia, USA
Posts: 7,285
OS: Windows 7 & 8, Mac OS-x



Please tell us about your power supply and the rest of the system.
Terrister is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 03:25 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

remove the fanmate fan speed controller which is inline at the cpu cooler fan wiring, connect the wire to the cpu_fan header without the fanmater controller
linderman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-05-2007, 07:18 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
OS:



hey,
ive got an AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+ AM2 along with a 550 watt PSU.
lol everyone keeps saying to remove the fan controller, but with the CNPS9700NT it doesnt come with one as it says its auto adjusts.
stealthtemplate is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 05:04 AM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
OS:



please anyone? :(
stealthtemplate is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 05:10 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

sorry I haven used the 9700 yet


I have been installing the 9500 which has the fanmate


anyway; have you tried entering the bios and check the temp settings for system protection in the bios. The Gigabyte DS3 has these, sure yours does to.

you may have a defective cooler!

I dont care for controlled fans myself, heat costs me money, I prefer to run my fans full tilt, if i dont like noise, i will turn on the music
linderman is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 05:12 AM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
OS:



hey,
i doubt its a defective cooler coz it worked fine the other day :(
in bios its got something about auto fan control, any idea what settings i should put it on? (if you have a gigabyte motherboard you may know what im talking about)
thanks in advance
stealthtemplate is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 05:16 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

yeah; its those cool & quiet type features


the quiet features will slow the fan down to keep the system on your perscribed settings


if you set your system temp to be 65C max then it will run the cpu fan slower rpms when the cpu is at 45C


my reccomendations is disable any fan controlling >>>> adjust the settings until you get the cpu fan to run 100% rpms the minute the system is fired up and keep it that way

it will save you $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ in the end
linderman is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 05:17 AM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
OS:



oh ok ill play around with some stuff,
thanks,
now theres the problem of removing this stupid stock fan lol those things are impossible to get off
stealthtemplate is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 05:34 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

heat the stock heat sink with a hair dryer on high for atleast 5 minutes, then gently but firmly make very samll back and forth twisting motion to break the thermal grease bond

very small back and forth movements just enought to say you are twisting

no pulling strait up!!
linderman is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 10:20 PM   #11
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
OS:



yeh, thanks for your help,
well i manager to remove stock fan after some hard work :P
then in bios changed all settings to say no auto fan speed, through that it works great :D
thanks
stealthtemplate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB Stopped Working
Hey there, About a week ago I was plugging in my speakers to the front jack on my computer when a Windows message (the one that comes from the clock area) saying one of my USB Ports had a power surge. I also noticed that my USB Optical Mouse's light was no longer on. Also, at this time, my...
pjleonhardt Other Hardware Support 11 02-17-2007 10:09 PM
Computer won't boot - incompatible CPU?
Hi, my computer isn't booting up at the moment and i'm in rather desperate need of assistance, if anyone can give me any advice i'd be immensely grateful. Ok so here's the deal... Up until a few days ago i was using my (custom-built) system which consisted of an ASUS P4S800 motherboard, P4...
citizencole Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 3 02-12-2007 03:20 PM
Windows Memory Diagnostic or MemTest86?
I have two groups of PC's that FAIL both "MemTest86+ v1.65" and "MemTest86 v3.2". These same PC's PASS when running all tests under "Windows Memory Diagnostic". Gateway sent me some replacement memory, but there is no change in the test results after swapping memory. All of the PC's will fail...
3rd5th7th8th RAM and Power Supply Support 9 12-18-2006 05:16 AM
Upgrading my cpu & motherboard
Hi I'm having to buy some new memory and was thinking why not upgrade the cpu. i have a pentuim III 450MHz on a asus P2B-VT motherboard right now. so i was thinking i'll just get i better pentuim III but they dont seem to sell them anymore, so now i have a problem my motherboard has a slot1 and...
KingTiger Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 8 07-27-2006 10:34 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts