Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Xp Pro Freeze After Install

This is a discussion on Xp Pro Freeze After Install within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, this is my first post to this type of forum. here's my problem: I bought a new retail version


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-21-2005, 02:54 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
OS:



Hello, this is my first post to this type of forum. here's my problem: I bought a new retail version of XP Pro for a favorite nephew to replace an apparent bootleg version of the same. I agreed to do this after his malware infected computer stopped functioning efficiently. After reformatting his HDD, the XP install began successfully and went all the way up to the first (black) XP screen and froze. I tried it several times with the same results. I even went as far as reformatting, booting to a WIN98SE floppy, the 98 install began and it FROZE IN THE EXACT SAME PLACE?????!!! Two clean installs from two legal
install disks for two different OS and it freezes in the same spot. Can anyone help????
GPOP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-21-2005, 03:10 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
quizme1220's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 1,353
OS: Windows 7 Home 32-bit

My System

Send a message via AIM to quizme1220 Send a message via Yahoo to quizme1220

Give us your complete computer specs and also try this

https://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=310064.
quizme1220 is offline  
Old 01-21-2005, 09:30 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
OS:



Here are the basics: P4 / 2.8 800FSB / ASUS P4P800E-DELUXE / 120 GB SATA WESTERN DIGITAL HDD / XP PRO SP2.
GPOP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-22-2005, 08:36 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 587
OS:


Care to list Power supply and video card too...

MD
MD_Willington is offline  
Old 01-22-2005, 10:02 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
OS:



It's a generic 450w and the video card is a low-end ATI radeon 64MB. Take into account that the PC ran fine (except for all the malware issues) before the reinstall attempt.
GPOP is offline  
Old 01-26-2005, 10:55 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
OS:



I ran into a similar problem while installing XP Pro SP2. check the mobo's website to see if there are any known issues with the BIOS. Good Luck
Cathode "Ray" is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts