Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Would This Build Work

This is a discussion on Would This Build Work within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Would this build work I currently own an Emachines EL1358G-51W computer and want to upgrade the graphics card, to do


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-13-2014, 04:06 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



Would this build work I currently own an Emachines EL1358G-51W computer and want to upgrade the graphics card, to do that my PSU needs to be upgraded and to do that the case needs to be updated I want to get:

Graphics Card:
EVGA GeForce GTX 660 SUPERCLOCKED 2048MB GDDR5 DVI HDMI DP Graphics Card 02G-P4-2662-KR

Power Supply:

COOLER MASTER Elite V2 RS550-PCARN1-US 550W ATX 12V V2.3 Power Supply


Case:
NZXT Phantom 530 CA-PH530-B1 Black Steel / Plastic ATX Full Tower Computer Case

I want to keep everything else that is on the current pc like the motherboard, hard drive, dvd drive, RAM, and Processor.
Would that build work or would I need to get a different case?
TheSpudWhacker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2014, 04:14 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,495
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Hi and Welcome to TSF!

Make and model number of your motherboard and CPU?

Change the PSU to a XFX or Seasonic branded and make it a 550W or higher. These units will offer a much higher quality.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 06-13-2014, 04:18 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



I no longer have my booklet how would I check the make and model number of the motherboard and CPU?
TheSpudWhacker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-13-2014, 04:21 PM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



520W would be plenty for a GTX660: SeaSonic S12II 520 Bronze 520W ATX12V V2.3 / EPS 12V V2.91 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Newegg.com
About $10 dollars more: SeaSonic S12II 620 Bronze 620W ATX12V V2.3 / EPS 12V V2.91 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Newegg.com



Tyree is offline  
Old 06-13-2014, 04:26 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Nevada
Posts: 585
OS: XP, Vista, Win 7



You can find the motherboard info by entering setup or bios along with the cpu information.
dannpp2012 is offline  
Old 06-13-2014, 04:37 PM   #6
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,495
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Austin13588 View Post
I no longer have my booklet how would I check the make and model number of the motherboard and CPU?

Let's take a look at your system hardware specifications. Please follow this guide on how to get those specifications:

How to find your system specifications | Tech Support Forum
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 06-13-2014, 04:41 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,779
OS: W7 Home Premium 64 Bit

My System


Acer Motherboard.
AMD Athlon II X2 Dual-Core 220 processor
2.8GHz, 1MB Cache

3GB DDR3 SDRAM system memory (expandable to 4GB)

1TB SATA hard drive

Integrated NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE Graphics

1 x PCI Express (x1) slot, 1 x PCI Express (x16) slot
Panther063 is offline  
Old 06-13-2014, 04:51 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,779
OS: W7 Home Premium 64 Bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Austin13588 View Post

I want to keep everything else that is on the current pc like the motherboard, hard drive, dvd drive, RAM, and Processor.
Would that build work or would I need to get a different case?
That build will work with the case you selected.
Panther063 is offline  
Old 06-13-2014, 04:53 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



eMachines EL1358G (CPU 1)
Chipset Vendor NVIDIA
Chipset Model MCP61
Chipset Revision A3
Southbridge Vendor NVIDIA
Southbridge Model MCP61
Southbridge Revision A2
Found using Speccy: Information given under motherboard
TheSpudWhacker is offline  
Old 06-13-2014, 05:01 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



Quote:
Originally Posted by Panther063 View Post
That build will work with the case you selected.
I hope so, I plan to eventually upgrade to:
Case: NZXT Phantom 530
Motherboard: Rampage IV Black Edition
CPU: Intel i7 4930k 3.4 GHz 6-core
RAM: 8GB Ballistix Sport 1333Mhz
GPU: GeForce GTX 660
Cooler: Corsair h100i Liquid Cooler
PSU: Corsair hx750
TheSpudWhacker is offline  
Old 06-13-2014, 05:09 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,779
OS: W7 Home Premium 64 Bit

My System


The biggest drawback is retaining an older socket architecture that limits upgrade paths.
You can see what I mean when comparing processors here: https://www.cpu-world.com/benchmarks/...II_X2_220.html

Good luck with the build
Panther063 is offline  
Old 06-13-2014, 05:11 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



Quote:
Originally Posted by Panther063 View Post
The biggest drawback is retaining an older socket architecture that limits upgrade paths.
You can see what I mean when comparing processors here: https://www.cpu-world.com/benchmarks/...II_X2_220.html
Since this is my first upgrade and I plan to switch over eventually, this will not be too bad of an issue
TheSpudWhacker is offline  
Old 06-13-2014, 08:09 PM   #13
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,495
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Austin13588 View Post
eMachines EL1358G (CPU 1)
Chipset Vendor NVIDIA
Chipset Model MCP61
Chipset Revision A3
Southbridge Vendor NVIDIA
Southbridge Model MCP61
Southbridge Revision A2
Found using Speccy: Information given under motherboard
No, it will not. Follow the steps in my last post.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Austin13588 View Post
I hope so, I plan to eventually upgrade to:
Case: NZXT Phantom 530
Motherboard: Rampage IV Black Edition
CPU: Intel i7 4930k 3.4 GHz 6-core
RAM: 8GB Ballistix Sport 1333Mhz
GPU: GeForce GTX 660
Cooler: Corsair h100i Liquid Cooler
PSU: Corsair hx750
This build could use some work, but it sounds like your far off working on this one.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 06-13-2014, 09:30 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,779
OS: W7 Home Premium 64 Bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
No, it will not. Follow the steps in my last post.
If you are so adamant it wont, explain.
Panther063 is offline  
Old 06-13-2014, 09:42 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



Not sure if people understand but I don't have thousands of dollars I can just throw into a computer, the build I posted is a good build for a budget unless someone can tell me of a better one for about the same amount of money (under $1800) please post it. Also I want to know if the build the thread is about will work or not, I'm about to start ordering parts for it, please respond before I make a mistake in ordering parts that will not work.
TheSpudWhacker is offline  
Old 06-13-2014, 09:49 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,779
OS: W7 Home Premium 64 Bit

My System


If all you are doing is installing the old internals, plus a new graphics card and power supply, into a new case, it will work.
Panther063 is offline  
Old 06-13-2014, 09:56 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



that's what I'm doing, for now, I have the money for the case supply and graphics card but I have to save up for the rest of the other components in that new build and is the reason I' trying to stick to components that are in that build = )
TheSpudWhacker is offline  
Old 06-14-2014, 06:21 AM   #18
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



What you propose in your first post will work.
Post #3 could use some adjustments for better quality.
Way overkill on the Mobo.
G.Skill or Corsair for RAM.
Liquid cooling is a basic waste of money and there is always a concern with leakage,
SeaSonic-XFX-Antec HCG PSU's for insured quality/reliability.RAM:
GPU: GeForce GTX 660
Cooler: Corsair h100i Liquid Cooler
PSU: Corsair hx750



Tyree is offline  
Old 06-14-2014, 06:53 AM   #19
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,495
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Panther063 View Post
If you are so adamant it wont, explain.
I need to tell if the motherboard and CPU will support the new GPU. By following this guide, like I stated in the post, will help me tell if it will work.

How to find your system specifications | Tech Support Forum

Quote:
Originally Posted by Austin13588 View Post
Not sure if people understand but I don't have thousands of dollars I can just throw into a computer, the build I posted is a good build for a budget unless someone can tell me of a better one for about the same amount of money (under $1800) please post it. Also I want to know if the build the thread is about will work or not, I'm about to start ordering parts for it, please respond before I make a mistake in ordering parts that will not work.
Here are many different builds at many different price points, and all high quality.

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...-a-668661.html
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 06-22-2014, 09:53 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 36
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate



Sorry for the late reply, I am having computer issues, go-figure. I looked at the computers on the list and would you prefer the $1600 intel or the $1800 workstation for gaming, small amounts of video editing, and a small bit of CAD?
TheSpudWhacker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does this build work?
So this will be my first gaming pc I make. I want to keep the budget at $1k, or less. I play games like WoW, Guild wars 2, League of Legends, CoD, Battlefield, Mass Effect series, Minecraft, etc. I'd like to be able to run those games high settings. Build came out around $1k, just...
jeepxj Building 36 06-18-2013 05:54 AM
[SOLVED] My First Build
This topic may come off as nonsensical to most of you considering the nature of this forum's user-base. Nonetheless, hear me out. Through the course of several years and through the viewing of how-to videos, numerous tech forums (such as TSF) as well as knowledge base articles, I've been slowly...
Solidify Building 14 02-08-2013 10:33 AM
Is it possible to build a computer from scratch and get it to work without windows?
The one thing that i always forget about when building a computer is the cost of the operating system.. windows 7 professional costs over 100 dollars and that is a lot of money to add to a custom built computer which almost makes it not worth building one from scratch in the first place because...
kalibcrone Other Operating systems 3 07-07-2011 04:28 AM
Hardware conflict or damage...???
:wave:Hii...Nice to meet u guys I need u guys help to describe about this matter.I not understand at all but what i notice,its said one of hardware(mayb more) is *wrong symbol*.... Using Windbg: Microsoft (R) Windows Debugger Version 6.8.0004.0 X86 Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation....
WasherMachine Laptop Support 0 06-21-2011 09:14 AM
I need Engineer to build my New pc
I have bought all hardware i need now except for the motherboard i will buy soon. I had to buy hardware from different online stores since in my town it was not possible to get what i wanted and it was very expensive here (sometimes price was double). Because of work i dont have time or...
Gilgamesh9 Building 7 03-24-2011 03:44 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts