Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Will I need to get a new motherboard to upgrade my CPU?

This is a discussion on Will I need to get a new motherboard to upgrade my CPU? within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I began upgrading my PC for gaming and the stock "Intel Core 2 Duo E6300" is just not going to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-27-2012, 10:23 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: California
Posts: 79
OS: Windows XP 32-bit sp3; Windows 7 64-bit



I began upgrading my PC for gaming and the stock "Intel Core 2 Duo E6300" is just not going to cut it.
I'm planning on buying an i3 2100 from intel because I'm on a budget.
The stock motherboard is an "Asus P5BW-LA".
Will the CPU be compatible or will I have to buy a completely new one?
Any info will be much appreciated.
jasaguayo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2012, 10:43 AM   #2
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



HP shows the following CPU's compatible with your Mobo.

Motherboard supports the following processor upgrades:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6x00 with Dual Core technology (Conroe)
Pentium D 9x0 series Dual Core (Presler)
Pentium D 8xx series (Smithfield)
Pentium 4 6x1 series (Cedar Mill)
Pentium 4 6xx (Prescott)
Pentium 4 5xx (Prescott)
Pentium 4 LGA-775 HT (Prescott)



Tyree is offline  
Old 10-27-2012, 10:44 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: California
Posts: 79
OS: Windows XP 32-bit sp3; Windows 7 64-bit



hp pavilion a1642x
jasaguayo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2012, 10:46 AM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



The 6300 you have is about the best you can do.



Tyree is offline  
Old 10-27-2012, 11:34 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: California
Posts: 79
OS: Windows XP 32-bit sp3; Windows 7 64-bit



Alright, are there any motherboards that you recommend? With the budget in mind.
The only requirement I have is a pci-express slot for my gpu and a pci slot for my soundcard.
jasaguayo is offline  
Old 10-27-2012, 11:45 AM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Nevada
Posts: 585
OS: XP, Vista, Win 7



Asus and gigabyte boards are good and all modern boards have pci express x16 slots. Something to know, you will need a new copy of windows as your oem copy won't work with a new board because the oem version of windows is tied to the oem motherboard.
dannpp2012 is offline  
Old 10-27-2012, 03:50 PM   #7
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Replacing an OEM Mobo with a retail Mobo can lead to a lot of problems.
You have to be certain the Mobo will fit into your case and that the standoffs will match up. The I/O plate is commonly not replaceable in OEM cases.
You will need to reinstall the OS using a retail version of Windows.
Mobo-RAM-GPU-PSU-OS probably a case, pretty much ad up to a new PC.
https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...-a-668661.html



Tyree is offline  
Old 10-27-2012, 03:59 PM   #8
MPR
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,232
OS: Win 8.1



As Tyree said, the pain of trying to stuff new components into a proprietary machine is not usually worth it. While I've upgraded several OEMs in the past, it really only extends their useful lifespan a year at the most, then you have a computer that you can get less out of than you put in as people are just going to see an older "Dell" no matter what you tell them. You can pull the HDD and ODD to put into a new build but these are only going to run you $100 for both and if you leave them in your old system you will get more than this from it. If you strip your old system then it would essentially be worthless. A new build is best, especially for gaming.
MPR is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD at about 31 celsius during gaming
OS - Vista/ Windows 7 ? Windows 7 x86 (32-bit) or x64 ? 64 bits What was original installed OS on system? None - Clean harddrisk bought. Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)?
StefanP BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 23 02-04-2012 04:05 PM
AM2+ CPU on a AM2 motherboard
Hello, I have a Gigabyte GA-M55S-S3 motherboard and a AMD Athlon X2 4200+ processor. I have recently upgraded other components (HDD, video card, memory) and i would like to upgrade the processor also, but without changing my motherboard, because i want to keep the money invested in this as low...
geesus Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 5 06-12-2011 05:27 AM
Want to Build a New Intel or AMD System / Revised 2012 and updated regularly
https://i.imgur.com/puBh9u1.png https://i.imgur.com/TTntwDe.pngPlease note that this post is out of date! Please review our newest and always up-to-date thread here: https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f255/tsf-hardware-teams-recommended-builds-2013-a-668661.html
linderman Building 1 01-11-2010 05:08 AM
How to Bench Test / Troubleshoot Your System
:stop: This guide has been updated! Please see here: https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f255/how-to-bench-test-build-and-troubleshoot-your-computer-918754.html The purpose of this thread is to demonstrate an easy way to test your system prior to complete assembly. If you take the time to...
linderman Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 1 08-01-2007 04:15 PM
How to Bench Test / Troubleshoot Your System
The purpose of this thread is to demonstrate an easy way to test your system prior to complete assembly. If you take the time to bench test your build prior to full assembly you will save yourself hordes of time in troubleshooting a faulty component. The most efficient way to minimize lost...
linderman Tweakers 1 08-01-2007 04:15 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts