Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

User Tag List

what is more important, RAM or processor?

This is a discussion on what is more important, RAM or processor? within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I will buy a new computer What is more important as far as performance? RAM? The generation of processor? being


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-07-2019, 01:46 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 17
OS: windows vista



I will buy a new computer
What is more important as far as performance?
RAM?
The generation of processor?
being i5 or i7?

Can you list these three in order of importance?

for example

one computer is: core i5, 7300 HQ 16 gb RAM

other says: core i5, 8250U, 8 gb RAM

which one would perform better?

Can someone explain the relations and list them from most important to least clearly? (i7 or i5, processor number and RAM)

I just gave these two as example, I can buy other computer too...
ketanco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-07-2019, 03:35 PM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


The relative importance of individual computer components is entirely dependent on the anticipated usage.

Overall performance would be quite similar for your example mobile CPU's, though it's not easy to compare across generations (i5-7300HQ, i5-8250U), the suffixes give a general idea of the intended usage, B being the most powerful, then H/HQ, U is lower power, Y is very low powered.
__________________
satrow is offline  
Old 05-07-2019, 04:51 PM   #3
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,991
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


A lot of people don't understand. They think an i7 processor is an i7 processor. See this list and know the same results would show For any other particular processor: https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us...rocessors.html
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-07-2019, 04:52 PM   #4
Game Team Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: warwickshire, UK
Posts: 932
OS: windows 10 Pro 64bit



https://cpu.userbenchmark.com/

cpu bench marks you can compare on here get all the information you need.
__________________
steve32mids is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista reboots before login
Hello everyone, A client brought to me a PC with Windows Vista SP2 installed. Just before the login, the systems restarts without a BSOD. I have already check HDD and RAM and there is nothing wrong. I also tried system restore, the system booted, but after a restart, the same happened. Also...
John_F_L Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 9 01-01-2015 12:23 PM
windows 7 freezing like crazy
Hello I'm having trouble getting my comouter to stop freezing up. While doing one task for a long period of time. The software will freeze up to the put of not responding and windows 7 task bar and software icons become unclickable..... but I can still move the mouse but no luck opening anything...
Dev in need Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 29 07-02-2012 04:18 PM
Windows 7 hangs just after startup each time
Just after startup, I can see the desktop, all icons, the system tray, etc., but if I click anything, it immediately hangs. I am eventually given an error from the bottom left corner of the screen stating that "Microsoft Windows" is not responding. I can wait and the application may respond or I...
slhaas BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 08-03-2011 04:49 AM
XP Logo Sticks on Boot
Safe Mode is OK though I tried a Repair Reinstall which went OK until it had to restart as part of the process - still stuck there When I try Safe Mode now, It says Safe Mode cannot run because the (new) setup is still in progress, "Setup will now continue" which it doesn't cuz it sticks on...
leachim Windows XP Support 7 03-05-2009 07:18 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts