User Tag List

USB problems

This is a discussion on USB problems within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. First of all, I hope I am posting this in the right sections, and that there isn't already a thread


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-24-2008, 05:36 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 24
OS:



First of all, I hope I am posting this in the right sections, and that there isn't already a thread that explains this issue (I tried searching for it, but the search function doesn't seem to be working for me).

I just reformatted my computer to fix another problem, but now whenever I try to use a usb device in any of the ports, I get this message:

one of the usb devices attached to this computer has malfunctioned, and windows does not recognize it. For assistance in solving this problem, click this message.

When I click the message, it give me a window listing several unused usb ports, with one showing "Unknown Device". I'm not sure what that's supposed to mean...

I installed all of the drivers that came with the motherboard (although nothing about the USB was listed in the driver description), and I've updated Windows XP... I've even googled the problem (as I do with all of my problems before I post something about it), and I can't seem to fix it. If anyone has any experience with this problems and could help me out, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you!

Motherboard: GigaByte GA-M57SLI-S4 nForce 570-SLI Chipset
CPU: AMD Athlon™64 X2 5200+ Dual-Core CPU w/ HyperTransport Technology
GPU: XFX PVT88SFDD4 GeForce 8800GS XXX 384MB Superclocked Alpha Dog Edition
HDD: 250GB SATA-II 3.0Gb/s 8MB Cache 7200RPM HDD
RAM: 2GB PC6400 DDR2/800 Dual Channel Memory
PSU: OCZ 700W SLI-Certified.
DGold01 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-24-2008, 08:00 AM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
OS:



You have two options imo : either your USB ports are damaged or if you're lucky your power supply doesn't provide the peripheral (the one that you plugged into the port) with enough power.
good luck
BiBang is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 08:04 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
OS:



Hi.

Was your USB ports working before you reformatted ? Maybe your problem came from your reinstallation of windows.

Cya.
RushBAvecDeagle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-24-2008, 10:06 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



in the device manager click on view at the top and in the dropdown
show hidden devices
then uninstall all listed usb items
turn the computer off
unplug usb plugs
reboot twice
replug in the usb plugs



dai is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 02:09 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 24
OS:



Ah, I forgot to mention that yes, the USB ports did indeed work fine before I reformatted.

I doubt that the USB ports are damaged, and it seems very unlikely that a 700W PSU wouldn't provide enough power for the peripherals, but I suppose those are possibilities nonetheless.

I will try the remedy you recommended, dai, and post back with my results. I'm sure it's something relatively simple, I'm just overlooking something.

Thanks all for your replies.
DGold01 is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 08:02 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 24
OS:



I tried the steps you mentioned, dai, and the problem persists. I've tried a few different USB devices, and none seem to work :(
DGold01 is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 08:11 PM   #7
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



check pnp and highspeed usb usb2 are enabled in the bios



dai is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 09:52 PM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 24
OS:



Well, I searched in the BIOS, and these two are enabled as far as I can tell. USB 1.1+2 is enabled, and pnp is enabled.

I are confused.
DGold01 is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 11:45 PM   #9
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



nothing to be confused about just checking possible causes
did you run the m/board setup disk after reformatting



dai is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 05:12 AM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 24
OS:



Yep, I ran the setup, but it didn't mention anything about USB - It was for the nvidia chipset, ethernet, display and audio.
DGold01 is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 05:22 AM   #11
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



plug one of them in and try and add as new hardware



dai is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 04:20 PM   #12
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 24
OS:



Yeah, I tried that, and no dice!
DGold01 is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 07:50 PM   #13
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 24
OS:



Well, here's something interesting, yet frustrating: I took a USB mouse from my old computer that I know was working, and tried it on the system I'm having problems with. The same message came up, no big surprise there... but then I hooked the mouse back up to the other system, and now it doesnt work. Could my PSU be frying my usb devices?

I certainly hope not... that's going to make things very difficult...
DGold01 is offline  
Old 11-25-2008, 08:26 PM   #14
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



the psu unlikely to a damaged port may
try a usb2 pci card in it one of your friends may be able to loan you one to try



dai is offline  
Old 11-26-2008, 07:59 PM   #15
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 24
OS:



Well unfortunately I do not know anyone who has a PCI USB controller... maybe I could get one from Besty Buy and then return it if it doesn't work.

Either way, the USB ports seem to be goofing up any device that I plug into them - so far a flash drive, a game controller, and a mouse. Drat.
DGold01 is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 06:31 AM   #16
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,300
OS: Vista SP1, Ultimate

My System


Have you installed your motherboard drivers? Go to www.nvidia.com and download the latest drivers for your nforce motherboard.
lazareth1 is offline  
Old 11-28-2008, 07:01 PM   #17
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 24
OS:



I downloaded and installed the latest drivers, but that didn't fix the problem. I'm really scratching my head on this one, and I really don't think anything has changed but my power supply.
DGold01 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts